We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“only thing going for this place was the view” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New Esplanade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The New Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #75 of 79 Hotels in Perth
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“only thing going for this place was the view”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

1st time to Perth; reception staff not very helpful, not told about paid parking only at time of booking then having to walk through the car park to reception to be able to access room. Room size okay but very average, carpets worn, shower sprayed water everywhere but on you. But view was good.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    27
    67
    83
    160
See reviews for
41
97
44
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Geelong
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Visited last year and remember this as the worst hotel I have stayed in (and there are many). Except the view which is fabulous! Staff rude and disinterested. Rooms cheap and tired. Decor awful. Don't bother.

Room Tip: Up high overlooking the river, so if you have to you can at least get the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndrewwwGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Staff at reception was combative & rude. Hotel rate does not include parking (will cost an additional AUD30). I will never return.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank seafo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Where do I start with this supposed hotel? First arrived after travelling a LONG way to be told we would have to pay $30 to park our car. This is a total rip off as other 5 star hotels in Perth either don't charge or charge below 20 dollars. The lobby outside the hotel room smelt so bad, damp and musty and very dirty. Our room wasnt much better. The bathroom was filthy and the sheets had other peopls pubic hair all over them!! I mean, come on, there is just no excuse for that. The room it's self was tired and dirty and the TV had 3 channels. Our shower did not work and the water was scalding hot that came out the taps. The hotel is a great place to stay if all you want washed is YOUR FEET! Total disgrace, I want my money back!

Room Tip: Dont stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PBradley2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

straight up---avoid
worst hotel ever. dont want to waste my time on it.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edwinzcx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Criterion Hotel Perth
Criterion Hotel Perth
#70 of 79 in Perth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Kings Perth Hotel
#71 of 79 in Perth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Perth CBD
Comfort Inn Wentworth Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Seasons of Perth
#57 of 79 in Perth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Esplanade Hotel

Property: The New Esplanade Hotel
Address: 18 The Esplanade, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 79 Hotels in Perth
Price range (per night): $96 - $138
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The New Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Esplanade Hotel
New Esplanade Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing