We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Day on the Water”

Starsand Yacht Charters
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Starsand is a 65 foot beautiful Sailing Yacht We do charters from Fremantle Fishing Boat Harbor and Also from Broome into the Kimberly (April to September).We offer day sailing and overnight options. We offer private or shared sailing experiences - twilight sails, days sails (half or full day). We offer charters to Rottnest island, Carnac and also coastal water sailing. Come experience sailing aboard Starsand, sit back and relax, or take part in pulling the sails and getting behind the helm.
Reviewed 5 March 2017

having read the reviews I approached the trip ( given as a gift by our son) with a bit of trepidation. The curt on not very informative emails did not help this feeling. The day arrived and prior to departing we had enquired as to parking to be told by the owners that there was plenty of free parking near by. I had some doubts on this as parking is Freo is a real bug bare. Yes, there was plenty of parking near by but it cost $15 and you certainly do not want to pay in Freo as you WILL end up with a fine. We were greeted by two pleasant and polite crew. And given a good briefing before setting sail. The skipper was highly professional and polite and he treated the passengers and vessel with great respect. The deck hand/bar maid/ cook was a lovely girl with a sunny disposition. Both individuals were a credit to StarSand. On a 38 degree day being on the water with the sails pushing us along was the best place to be. We had several hours on Rotto and we were picked up punctually at the jetty. Back on the boat we were given a light lunch. Okay, it was not a Michelin Star meal but neither was it inedible. The big question is, would we go again? Most certainly. This is a great day out if you have visitors, or just go as a couple. All in all what a great day with great hosts.

Thank Bigcaintoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex F, General Manager at Starsand Yacht Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

My name is Alex and I have recently taken over management of Starsand Yacht Charters.

Firstly, I apologise for the lack of communication you received regarding your tour. It is important to us that our customers have all the information they need in order to have a relaxed and enjoyable day.

We are glad your day out on the water was an enjoyable one and we appreciate your feedback on our crew. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

9 - 13 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2017

Just a terrible con, for what you get its a total ripoff. A little trip into Guage Roads, a diddle up the harbour and back again! A bit of cheddar cheese, carrot and celery, crackers and a miserable glass of cheap bubbles! The young girl was friendly and welcoming but the bloke at the helm was a rude obnoxious jerk

Thank GlendaJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex F, General Manager at Starsand Yacht Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Hi Glenda,

My name is Alex and I have recently taken over management of Starsand Yacht Charters.

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience on Starsand’s twilight cruise.

We appreciate your feedback on our skipper. We do not believe the skipper in question works for us since we have taken over management of the business.

We have made some changes recently to the food and beverages we serve on board. We also have a fully licensed bar in which we have made changes to the prices.

We appreciate your feedback and endeavour to work hard to make the appropriate changes where necessary. If you would like to further discuss your concerns, please give us a call on 0429 939 117.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017

We had the most amazing day sailing to Rottnest Island. Marilyn and Simon did everything so we could just sit back and relax. The lunch included was also really nice.

Thank raychi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex F, General Manager at Starsand Yacht Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

My name is Alex and I have recently taken over management of Starsand Yacht Charters.

Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience aboard Starsand. We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear you had a lovely day at Rottnest. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

My partner booked the cruise for a birthday present which i think he got on a deal website, we shared a bottle of champagne and throughout the sail were served snacks... the sail itself was really beautiful, watching the sunset sailing on a yacht on the open ocean.

Only thing is that drinks on board should be cheaper than what they were asking for and more snacks to go around..

Overall enjoyed the experience.

Thank World R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex F, General Manager at Starsand Yacht Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Hi Chelly,

My name is Alex and I have recently taken over management of Starsand Yacht Charters.

Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience aboard Starsand. We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear you had a lovely time on our twilight cruise.

In regards to your concerns on our food and beverages, we have made some changes there. We also have a fully licensed bar in which we have adapted the prices.

Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2016

We used Starsand Charters after seeing a scoopon deal for their sunset cruise.
$79 for a 2hr cruise including nibbles and seafood snacks. We went as a birthday group, all booking separately.

Firstly, the communication and organisation of the owner was terrible. After various attempts to contact him over the phone and email it was very unclear if the booking had gone through, there was no proper confirmation.
Due to the poor communication some people on our birthday group were unable to attend on the day as the owner said he "never received their emails." Some people had paid him and he still said he had no record of their booking.

The nibbles consisted of, crackers, cut up carrots & celery, chunks of cheese and a dip. The seafood was a smoked salmon baguette, a few prawns and some birds eye oven fish. The whole experience was definitely not worth $79.

The only good thing was the shared bottle of bubbles we received.

I would not recommend this charter, it is way over priced and is not worth the hassle.

2  Thank tashch2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Starsand Yacht Charters also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Starsand Yacht Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing