We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff, tired hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parmelia Hilton Perth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Parmelia Hilton Perth
Ranked #18 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, tired hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

The staff in the hotel were very friendly and helpful in this rather tired looking hotel that really needs an upgrade.Be prepared to carry your own bags to your room though! Good pool and neat little gym The hotel is in a good position in Perth as it is an easy walk to the main attractions of the city. Dont have breakfast in the hotel but explore the surrounds for the many excellent cafes where you can get a really good breakfast for half the price of the hotel. Probably won't stay there again as there are better hotels, for the money, in Perth.

Room Tip: WE did upgrade to a suite and were pleased we did as there was lots of space and we had easy access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcwheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmperthhilton, General Manager at Parmelia Hilton Perth, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear mcwheel

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Parmelia Hilton on TripAdvisor – it is very much appreciated!

It is great to learn our team looked after you so well – thank you - though I am very sorry it was necessary to carry your own bags. Whilst we were very busy at the time, it is still no excuse and I do apologise.

I’m delighted you enjoyed our newly refurbished fitness centre and pool. It’s also nice to know that our convenient location to the CBD and shopping district made your stay in Perth a little easier.

Thank you again and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Parmelia Hilton very soon .

Kind regards
David Constantine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,059 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    711
    777
    387
    132
    52
See reviews for
191
765
174
737
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed over a weekend. Checking in was easy, room comfortable. Bathroom very 80's, clean enough but very small. Nice bed. Oldish, scratchy towels. Can wait ages for the lifts, which seem a bit asthmatic. Furniture in halls and corridors looks like stuff in a Salvo's shop.
Good staff, well trained. Like all hotels in Perth, pricey. Not bad, though.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmperthhilton, General Manager at Parmelia Hilton Perth, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear AndrewDarwin

Thank you very much for staying with us at the Parmelia Hilton Perth and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor – we really appreciate your feedback!

I’m naturally delighted you found the room comfortable and the team Members well trained. I will be
sure to pass on your comments.

You mentioned the furniture in the corridors. Well, as a result of your comments we have actually removed all the items. Thanks for the feedback.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Parmelia Hilton very soon.

Kind regards
David Constantine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

I checked into room 615 of the Perth Hilton. Engineering had to visit the room because the shower backed up so badly the tub filled to the top. When the engineer left, he left the bathroom in disorder, including water on the floor and the bathmat bunched up on the tub. Second, the room was extremely dirty. Dust was all over the phone, pictures on the wall, the lamp, the desk, the nightstand. Mold on tiles in the bathtub. It appeared the room had not been cleaned in some time.

I stopped at the front desk to ask whether or not the engineer had fixed the issue in my tub. One of the staff who was a "journey manager" stated that it had been fixed and her colleague said it was "fixed to the best of their ability and a plumber had to be called in tomorrow". When I stated I am checking out tomorrow, I was asked (by the Journey Manager) if I wanted to speak to a manager. I said that it was not necessary and looked at them in astonishment because they had not asked if I wanted my room changed as a result of the plumber being called to repair the issue the next day. I also was puzzled why the journey manager immediately jumped to me speaking to the manager as a solution when I had not escalated a thing. I simply wanted to know if the plumbing issue was resolved.

When I returned to my room, the manager called me (again, not requested) and I informed him of all the issues. I told him that the Hilton does not appear to be ready for prime time and does not stand up to its US brand. Additionally, I informed him of the dust, the mold, and the condition in which the engineer left the room. I also informed him that the bed appears as though someone napped in it!

These pictures show it all. I go out of my way to stay at the Hilton as is demonstrated by my Hilton Honors Diamond Status. In Australia that is an expensive thing to do and, in fact, often an inconvenient thing to do. I might avoid the Hilton in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SMEMBoston_Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmperthhilton, General Manager at Parmelia Hilton Perth, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear SMEMBoston_Ma

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor – we really appreciate your feedback.

Firstly, please accept my sincere apologies for the way in which we handled the problems
you encountered with the bathroom. It is certainly not the way we should address these
situations.

Additionally, the way Reception reacted to your question was not done in a way that we expect
our Team to perform.

The Departments involved are aware of your disappointment and we have now had the opportunity
to implement some additional trainng to make sure this does not happen again.

We appreciate your loyalty as one of our HHonors Diamond Members and value your
feedback.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to the Parmelia Hilton.

We will make sure that you have a trouble free experience.


Kind regards
David Constantine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Booked mystery deal and was impressed from checkin to checkout. We accepted the upgrade for an extra $50/ night and managed to score an enormous suite on the top floor complete with lounge/ dining room for $200/ night! The rooms were a little tired but given the price, the fabulous bed and the marble bathroom we couldnt complain.The service was amazing. Everyone said hello with a smile from the cleaners to the maintenance people. It made us feel really special! The food in the restaurant downstairs was great and I would definitely be recommending this place to family and friends.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank austraveldr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmperthhilton, General Manager at Parmelia Hilton Perth, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Austraveldr

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Parmelia Hilton – thank you very much for your positive comments on Trip Advisor!

It was really nice to hear that all the staff made you feel special ! We really try hard to make sure this happens and the Team will be very appreciative of your feedback.

I am also glad that you enjoyed the food in our restaurant.

Again, thanks very much for the positive feedback.

We look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Parmelia Hilton in the near future.

Kind regards
David Constantine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We spent the weekend here and from the check in at reception to our check out all staff we came in contact with were outstanding. We were upgraded and because we belong to the honours reward system with Hilton, we took the free breakfast that was offered to us. It was one of the best selection of buffet breakfasts we have had at a hotel. You can even make your own fresh juice using a juicer. The pool was lovely as it was hot, and was offered a free bottle of water by the pool staff member who came out to see how we were. Location is at top end of city and able to walk to all places. Nice quiet location. Will always stay here and always recommend this place. Well done to whoever trains and selects the staff. By the way the beds are heavenly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Palony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmperthhilton, General Manager at Parmelia Hilton Perth, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Palony

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Parmelia Hilton – thank you very much for your lovely comments on Trip Advisor!

It was really nice to hear that all the staff you came into contact with were outstanding. We will be sure to pass that on to the Team, they always enjoy receiving great feedback like that.

We were also happy to hear that you enjoyed our pool area and also the Hilton Breakfast.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Parmelia Hilton in the near future.

Kind regards
David Constantine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#14 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Hyatt Regency Perth
#19 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parmelia Hilton Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parmelia Hilton Perth

Property: Parmelia Hilton Perth
Address: 14 Mill Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Formerly Parmelia Hilton)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Perth
#11 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#16 Business Hotel in Perth
#17 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price range (per night): $102 - $319
Hotel Class:5 star — Parmelia Hilton Perth 5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parmelia Hilton Perth is the city's most centrally located luxury hotel, in the heart of the CBD, across the road from the Perth Convention Centre and close to excellent shopping, restaurants and bars. Just a short stroll to beautiful Kings Park and the stunning Swan River. From guest rooms to deluxe plus rooms and suites, all rooms at the Parmelia Hilton feature Hilton Serenity beds, high-speed internet (charges apply) and LCD TVs with complimentary cable and Foxtel channels. Relax by the outdoor swimming pool or work out in the fully equipped 24 hour gym. For a sizzling steak or a boutique beer on tap, enjoy the Adelphi Grill & Bar. The hotel's meetings and events floor with state of the art audio visual and lighting technology offers a choice of ten venues for 5-500, a 24 hour business centre and wireless internet access. The hotel's $55 per 24 hour valet parking service offers secure, under cover parking with the convenience of having your car brought to the hotel driveway as often as required. Valet parking is limited and space may not always be available, maximum height of vehicles is 1.9 m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Parmelia Hilton Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parmelia Hilton Hotel Perth
Hilton International Perth
Hilton Perth
Perth Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing