We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We expected more.”
Review of The Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Melbourne
Ranked #56 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We expected more.”
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We had an overnight stay on a Saturday night. Not impressed that we had to carry our own luggage to our room on arrival. We also had a long wait at reception on booking in as she was on the phone forever. No-one else was about. I must say though that all other staff we encountered were very friendly. The room was very small but opened out onto a very large verandah. To me this was the highlight! The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Again we had to carry our own bags down on checking out and a long wait too, but we were the only people at reception. We would probably not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oryxPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    38
    29
    17
    5
See reviews for
10
46
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2011

This was one of the most diappointing stays on a business trip I have ever done. The room was moderately decorated and basic. I've stayed in a flag inn with better quality than this. The room had no windows or access to fresh air, the airconditioner was noisy and the ceiling fan was useless during some hot humid weather. Every movement, conversation in the hallway and the bar downstairs echoed through the night. The breakfast offered in the cafe offered no variety for the healthy breakfast eater apart from a bowl of fruit with a sparing splash of yogurt. The restaurant is deceaving as it looks and decore are quite beautiful however I've had better service in McDonalds I must have waited over 30 minutesjust to get a second glass of wine and no offer for coffee or dessert, (it wasn't even 9pm) however as the waitress approached the glass was swiped away without a chance to request another. The car park is about 100 metres away and although an easy walk during the day, very difficult to find in the one streets around Perth. As far as security at night returning from the car park I would find this quite unsafe if you were on your own.My only positive experience were the reception staff who were always friendly on entering the foyer. This place looks good on the outside as a Heritage building however very tired if you deceide to stay here. Great front bar if you are after a drink in a noisy area.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Easeylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

manchester
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Often reviewed as a heritage hotel but actually old fashioned, tired, a bit gloomy. Our room at the back felt rather like a prison cell with one small, very high window. Furnishings were poor. From our diary.... 'Hotel room is a bit tired - no - a lot Third World. Furniture from B & Q pine flat-pack. The ceiling fan wobbled so much that a lamp shade fell off and broke. Everything is so dated - sorry, so heritage. This morning, came back from breakfast and the male chambermaid in our room (at 9.45) cleaning it. He made no effort to leave, making us feel like intruders until we suggested that HE move out for 10/15 minutes.' In the dining room on Valentines day there were two couplesfor dinner, clearly the locals have a view on the place

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cityl0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Room was beautiful, very large and well decorated with a large balcony running all the way around the hotel outside with access. The hotel is located just off the centre of Perth but very close to all the bars on Murray St and within easy reach of taxi's and train to the suburbs.
The hotel has an ajoining bar downstairs that I know from previous visits can get loud and lively but we were not disturbed by any noise at all.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyholidays3661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2010

Having requested a quiet room we found ourselves overlooking one of the main streets through Perth. After a 24 hour flight and it being 1.30am we didn't complain and made the best of it. The room was comfy and clean but was rather tired and in desparte need of bringing onto the 21st century.
The staff were very helpful even when we arrived in the middle of the night. There is secure parking about 50 metres away which is handy but not cheap.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Quest West End
Quest West End
#41 of 64 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Perth CBD
Best Western Premier Terrace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Comfort Inn Wentworth Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Melbourne

Property: The Melbourne
Address: 942 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price range (per night): $240 - $280
Hotel Class:4 star — The Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Melbourne Hotel Perth
Melbourne Hotel Perth
Melbourne Boutique Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing