We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uma”
Review of UMA Restaurant

UMA Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 3,506 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: AU$40 - AU$150
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: East Perth
Description: Experience authentic Peruvian cuisine with a difference at UMA. The restaurant brings t to life through the freshest local ingredients, a carefully curated wine list and a talented team who are deeply passionate about what they do. Celebrating influences from the Incas and ingredients and cooking styles brought to the country from Spain, Italy, Africa, Japan and China, the menu at UMA is an important expression of Peru’s culture. Apart from four native Peruvian chillies, the dishes are brought to life almost exclusively with the very best West Australian produce. The word UMA derives from a pre-Incan dialect and means mountain and water. Designed by leading Perth architect and design firm ‘State of Kin’, UMA restaurant transports diners to Peru through its rich colours, textured fabrics and vibrant pieces of art reminiscent of the motherland.
Reviewed 16 April 2024

Fabulous! Wonderful food and excellent service. The scallops were outstanding as was the rest of the food. A lovely dining experience.

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 67lizw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeremy Burt, Other at UMA Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear 67lizw

Thank you for the 5 stars and wonderful review.

It is so pleasing to see that you had such a great experience at Uma.

I will certainly commend the team on your behalf.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Uma very soon.

Regards
Jeremy B
Dir F&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2024

What an amazing experience! We did the menu - journey and it was absolutely delish and beautifully presented. Amazing food. Great wait staff - thank you Laura for making our night so special! Great ambiance. Such a good night

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dreamer55777031968
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeremy Burt, Other at UMA Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Dreamer

Thank you for the 5 stars and calling out Laura.

It is so pleasing to see that you had such a great experience at Uma.

I will certainly commend the team on your behalf.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Uma very soon.

Regards
Jeremy B
Dir F&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2024

Amazing selection of thoughtfully sourced produce, lovely atmosphere. Waiters and servers were so well informed in relation to the dishes and ingredients. Chefs were obviously very respectful of the food which was made from the heart. Highly recommend this Peruvian Restaurant ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Dietary requirements ie; vegetarian etc are taken into account, cannot fault this menu. Heaven

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Voyager00459824472
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeremy Burt, Other at UMA Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2024

Dear Voyager

Thank you for the 5 stars and lovely review.

It is so pleasing to see that you had such a great experience at Uma.

I will certainly commend the team on your behalf.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Uma very soon.

Regards
Jeremy B
Dir F&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2024

We love Peruvian food but were disappointed with this one. The food was just okay. We had the tuna ceviche (eh) and the limo soltado which was good. The quinoa salad with veggies was not to our liking.

This restaurant is in the Pan Pacific Hotel. It was extremely noisy. Service was spotty.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rochelleforster
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeremy Burt, Other at UMA Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2024

Dear Rochelle

Sorry that you were not wowed when you dined at Uma.

I will certainly follow up with the team on your behalf.

Please feel free to contact to me at jeremy.burt@panpacific.com if you would like to discuss your feedback in more detail.

Regards
Jeremy B
Dir F&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2024

Worst meal we’ve had in WA. We were so disappointed after wonderful reviews. We ordered ‘emperor’ as a main thinking we were getting red Emperor but no, it was ‘spotted’ emperor thinly disguised as red emperor. Inedible. Also, they ran out of potatoes and chicken even though the restaurant was less than half full! Unbelievable really. We never complain but could not hold back after slow service and underwhelming dishes. If you can’t cook fish, don’t offer it on the menu.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeremy Burt, Other at UMA Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2024

Dear Kez

Sorry that you were disappointed when you dined at Uma.

I will certainly follow up with the team on your behalf to rectify the issues you raised.

Please feel free to contact to me at jeremy.burt@panpacific.com if you would like to discuss your feedback in more detail.

Regards
Jeremy B
Dir F&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed UMA Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to UMA Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.