We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MOST ENJOYABLE EXPERIENCE”

The Meat & Wine Co Perth
Ranked #31 of 3,506 Restaurants in Perth
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Perth CBD
Description: The Meat & Wine Co is the best steak restaurant in Perth, located in the heart of the stunning, heritage-listed three-storey Old Palace Hotel on the corner of William Street and St. George's Terrace. In Australia's friendliest city, The Meat & Wine Co's hospitality is set to delight locals. Divulge in our new menu featuring a selection of seasonal dishes to help warm up this cool season. Explore our exquisite seafood selection, from hot baked scallops to mozambican king prawns and szechuan calamari. Indulge in our latest and perfected steak ranges, Monte, O'Connor and Wagyu. Savour the delight of reimagined classics, including our lemon pepper marinated lamb skewers, succulent chicken breast, and the much-anticipated return of the kangaroo skewer. Sample the winter specialty through seasonal vegetable produce, try our cabbage roll, roasted mushroom and roasted beef dripping potato to perfectly compliment your meal.
Reviewed 14 March 2024

Superb service, fabulous food and ambient atmosphere, what more could one want? Oh, value for money? Well, at $42.00 per head for a 2 x course lunch WITH a glass of wine, then YES definitely offered value for money!

Vsited with my sister whilst on holiday and enjoyed a lovely lunch. Both had the calamari with schezwan sauce to start and agreed that it was possibly one of the best calamari dishes we have tasted!

My sister had ribs for her main course which just fell off the bone AND arrived with a finger bowl and a dish for the bones, items which are not always supplied! I had a steak which was cooked to perfection and we both chose salad to accompany our meals, this was fresh and a hearty portion size. We had ordered an additional portion of chips however, our eyes were definitely bigger than our bellies and we hardly made any headway into the family sized portion which we received!

Overall, we had a thoroughly enjoyable experience. We were both very impressed with the superb service we received and enjoyed all dishes brought to our table!

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LadyDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2024 via mobile

Impressive decor with golden ceiling. Scallops and calamari entrees and pork ribs were gr8 but the pricey oconnor aged beef main course was sinewy and lack flavour. I like the xpresso martini as dessert. Join free drc for dining rewards.

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank super1kc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 March 2024 via mobile

The food is good and , as the name suggests, the meat cookery is done well. Delicious ribs.
Second visit and each time the place is busy mid week.
However the service is terrible. Wrong orders, dessert but no cutlery, drinks took 15 mins to arrive, food longer but incomplete. This is not a cheap place to eat so the lack of service is problematic.
It’s a beautiful room but very noisy.

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank RosieJ449
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 February 2024 via mobile

We were stuck in the city hoping to get some food but being a Saturday evening with no booking we were a bit stuck. Passed this place a couple of times since we arrived and always busy . Tried a walk in and there was a table in the bar area which suited us fine.
We had a house beef patty with all the trimmings and the salmon skewer .
Both were very good albeit the choice to have the salmon med to well done resulted in only just medium. It was fine but if asked again I’ll go for well done . I did joke when asked how I wanted the salmon cooked replying ‘properly’ but that didn’t raise a smile …oh well haha.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank boxesandboxes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2024

Have eaten here previously without any issues but this time we were rather underwhelmed. Service was very slow..the restaurant appeared understaffed. Our bottle of wine sat on the bar for at least 20minutes and it was only after our entrees arrived and I pointed out to the staff that our wine was still on the bar, did they bother to get it for us. Food was okay. Lots of larger noisy groups. No more qantas points either..No reason for us to go back with so many better dining options in and around Perth

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ross H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Meat & Wine Co Perth also viewed

 
Subiaco, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to The Meat & Wine Co Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.