We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Raving about the ribs!”

The Meat & Wine Co Perth
Ranked #31 of 3,506 Restaurants in Perth
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Perth CBD
Description: The Meat & Wine Co is the best steak restaurant in Perth, located in the heart of the stunning, heritage-listed three-storey Old Palace Hotel on the corner of William Street and St. George's Terrace. In Australia's friendliest city, The Meat & Wine Co's hospitality is set to delight locals, offering a refreshing summer twist with our new seasonal menu selections. Explore our exquisite seafood selection, from fresh mint-infused scallop ceviche to mozambican king prawns and szechuan calamari. Indulge in our latest and perfected steak ranges, Monte - Thousand Guineas Shorthorn, O'Connor and Wagyu. Savour the delight of reimagined classics, including our Mediterranean lamb skewers, succulent chicken breast, and the much-anticipated return of the kangaroo skewer. Sample the summer specialty through seasonal vegetable produce, try our roasted eggplant, tomato salad and roasted harissa potatoes to perfectly compliment your meal.
Reviewed 20 December 2022 via mobile

Staff excellent! Pork ribs, bountiful and delicious. Ambience fabulous in history! Bar a bit slow, but the decor interesting.. tantalising menus!

Date of visit: December 2022
Thank susansA4202GD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 50 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2022

Christmas party of 20. Having to flag waiters down for drinks even when some appeared to be loitering was a constant challenge.
Orders were taken.
Then the food came out...
Most of us ordered steaks and almost every order was screwed up and we were swapping steaks between us. One lady ordered a steak well done which came out like someone had left it on a barbeque for a hour, absolutely charcoaled and inedible.

Date of visit: December 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 890lucienw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve Taylor, General Manager at The Meat & Wine Co Perth, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2022

Very sorry to hear you felt let down on your visit, can you please contact me directly so I can investigate it further. regards hayley@themeatandwineco.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2022

Post show dinner and at 6.15 the restaurant was already busy. We were shown to a table through the restaurant which had a beautiful ornate ceiling and a lot of booths which were spaciously set apart. Entrée was a shared calamari which was very nice and the men had the wagyu tartar which was delicious. The main courses of chicken, steak and the lamb skewer were all cooked perfectly. The beef dripping potatoes were a disappointment and with the sour cream topping had a rather soggy rather than crisp texture. Desserts of crème Brulee, biscoff sticky date and cheese rounded off a very nice meal. There are some reasonably prices wines on the list. The wait staff were all very friendly but there were one of two things that could have made the overall experience a little better. We weren't served any water until we were almost finished with our entrée and this wasn't replenished. We ordered the bottle of wine and asked that to come with the main courses. Our food had already arrived and we'd started eating when we caught the eye of the waiter and had to ask for it. The bottle brought (whilst a nice substitute) was not the one ordered and we were told we should have been told that the wine wasn't available and they were in the process of updating the wine list). The waitress was getting ready open the bottle when I had to ask that she bring glasses for the table as were were sharing. I feel that the wait staff lacked that little bit of attentiveness e.g. knowing when your water needed topping up etc. It is expensive - but the food was excellent and certainly worth a visit.

Date of visit: December 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AliinAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 November 2022

Just had a fabulous evening at the meat and wine place,very helpful and thoughtful manager(niche?)Great atmosphere with an excellent meal and service.

Date of visit: November 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank walsal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 November 2022 via mobile

The meal was very good. Prepared as I wanted it. The choices in the wine by the glass can be improved.
Service was disappointing.
1. My first order of drinks did not arrive. Was told the waitress(new) did not put in the order.
2. Generally drink orders were late.
3. I could only get a 5pm dinner booking on a day of their choice. If peak hours service could be slower.
4. Waitresses were new or inexperienced.

Date of visit: November 2022
1  Thank Subra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Meat & Wine Co Perth also viewed

 
Subiaco, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to The Meat & Wine Co Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.