We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
USD 91
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/12/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
USD 94
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/12/21
Agoda.com
USD 82
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/12/21
Booking.comUSD 96
Hotels.comUSD 91
eDreamsUSD 96
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
58
73
24
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
58
73
24
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kings park limited parking car park fridge basin
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2018

The Murray Hotel may not suit everyone but I thought it was great. Lots going for it: free wifi, free parking, free CAT bus at the front door to downtown Perth; close to Subiaco and its restaurants, continental breakfast included in the tariff, which when I stayed was a very reasonable $101 a night. My room was fairly basic but large and clean. Aside from the queen bed it boasted a desk, a couple of small / side tables and three chairs. On the quirky side, not many hotels can claim to also house a gin distillery but the Murray does. And they offer free tastings of an evening. There are a couple of reasons why the hotel may not appeal to all: there is no lift and self checking-in could be unnerving for some, especially if there is a problem as there doesn't seem to be any staff around till after 5. The biggest issue though is probably the noise levels - particularly from busy Thomas St. Admittedly I did stay in room # 31, which was one of the closest rooms to the main road. And the room did come with plantation shutters on the windows and free earplugs; I've stayed in a lot of hotels and for me that was a first. Still, it is not as though the traffic noise was unbearable. It was just one negative against a lot of positives. And I would happily stay again. I didn't eat dinner at the hotel so can't comment on the evening meals. but the menu items did look very reasonably priced

Room tip: Get a room away from Thomas St end
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JElliot32
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murrayhotel, Owner at The Murray Hotel Perth, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Thanks for you great review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. The Gin Distillery has been going for a year now and has already won 6 Australian distilling awards; glad you enjoyed the free tastings during your stay. We look forward to seeing you next time you're in Perth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018

The location was convenient and the price quite reasonable. The hotel was a little noisy and the room was pretty basic but ok for the night we were there. Not a place I would want to stay for more than a night.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jtriffitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murrayhotel, Owner at The Murray Hotel Perth, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Thanks for your review; yes we are reasonably priced especially as we include breakfast, WiFi, parking and a free drinks hour in the price and I'm glad that you appreciated our hotel prices. We have many guests who stay for long periods and use our hotel as a "home away from home". We look forward to welcoming you next time you're in Perth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018

My wife and I have been regulars at the Murray Hotel for years. Its located in a great spot in West Perth that's also convenient for Subiaco dining or sporting events.

With onsite parking and well priced rooms it a no brainer in a city that is known for charging through the roof.

It has seen a lot of upgrades over the last few years but most notable is the comfy new beds. I want one for home.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 168glennw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murrayhotel, Owner at The Murray Hotel Perth, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Thanks Glenn for your great review. We're delighted that you keep returning to our hotel and look forward to welcoming you next time you're in Perth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

Pick somewhere else! The hotel has very thin walls...probably hollow concrete blocks. You can hear every loud metal door close and slam. Plus every argument and the tvs next door.

We had the night from hell there. A drunken couple started arguing in their hotel room at 11 pm for about an hour. There was no night manager there to take care of the problem. We thought it was all over. Around 1 am the drunken woman returns and proceeds to knock, kick, and pound on the metal door. I'm sure everyone in the hotel could hear her. Finally her significant other wakes up from his drunken stupor around an hour later and lets her in. They proceed to have a screaming match until 5 am...swearing and everything. You can hear every word. The hotel doesn't bother to kick them out until 5 am. Worst hotel stay ever. Sure, it's not their fault about the fighting couple but not having a night manager to take care of the problem the first time at 11 pm is the real issue. Plus not answering the emergency manager phone line at 4 am and ignoring us was also a huge problem. We had 2 kids, 7 and 9 years old that heard every horrible swear word that spewed from their drunken mouths.

We paid for 3 nights here and only stayed 2 nights. They didn't give us a refund for the final night. Who would want to stay here after getting no sleep the night before. The free cocktail at night and the carbohydrate heavy breakfast don't make up for the horrible night.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murrayhotel, Owner at The Murray Hotel Perth, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Jodie,
Thank you for your comments. We issued you with a refund at the time but because you booked through Expedia, a third party online travel agent and not directly with us, it appears they haven't processed the refund. The hotel staff are following up for you.

Those guests were horrid and were arrested by the police and thrown out. We've never had an incident like this before in the 11 years we've had the hote. The guests were part of a family group booking and as they kept falling asleep it took us ages to work out which room they were staying in; as soon as we did they were thrown out.

Please do stay again; we have 1000s of lovely hotel guests and this was a once in 11 years incident. Again we apologise for the horrid inconsiderate disruptive guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

Hi,
Thé réception staff was great full and professional. Room clean .quiet location
Free bus stop in front of the entry
On the bad sides: no free wifi
I stay in queen suit room and it is not place.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Jean-Yves G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murrayhotel, Owner at The Murray Hotel Perth, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Jean-Yves, We do have free WiFi! We've had free WiFi for 11 years before any other hotels in Perth started doing it. I can't imagine how you missed it! We write the code on a notice on your bed, on the desk in your room or the hotel staff would have given it to you. I'm so sorry you missed the free WiFi; I travel a lot and know how hard it is now we are reliant on it. We look forward to seeing you again so you can use the free WiFi. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews