We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informative and friendly”
Review of Pearl Luggers Tour

Pearl Luggers Tour
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 90.00*
and up
Willie Creek Pearl Farm Tour from Broome
Ranked #11 of 57 Tours in Broome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Be whisked back in time to an era of courageous men who lived a life of danger and fortune on our tour of pearl luggers in Broome. Discover over one hundred years of history and let us share with you the tale of ‘The Sea, The Men, The Legend’ on Pearling’s doorstep, Roebuck Bay, Chinatown, Broome. It is often said that Broome’s pearling industry is as rich in culture as it is in pearls. Join us as we reveal the impact pearling has had upon Northern Australia and how the melting pot of cultures enticed by the lure of the pearl influenced Broome. Surround yourself by a vast collection of original diving artifacts in our private air-conditioned museum then at your leisure view an exquisite selection of Broome pearl jewellery featuring the Australian South Sea Keshi Pearl in the Pearl Luggers jewellery showroom.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Dropped in for the tour with Stewie today and it was excellent. Just the right length, ample info and interesting anecdotes in a friendly atmosphere. Can’t wait to visit the farm now! Well worth the time.

Thank Dasyurid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WillieCreekPearls, Pearl Luggers Precinct Manager at Pearl Luggers Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hi Dasyurid,

I am very happy that you enjoyed your Pearl Luggers tour. Stewie is a great guide and full of knowledge on Broome's incredible History and also of the industry today. Great to hear that you are heading out the Pearl Farm as well! you'll be a Broome and Pearling expert by the end!

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, i will gladly pass it on to Stewie.

We look forward to seeing you at the Farm.

Kind Regards
Jay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"history lesson"
in 8 reviews
"back in the day"
in 3 reviews
"diving equipment"
in 2 reviews
"hour presentation"
in 2 reviews
"modern times"
in 2 reviews
"learn how"
in 4 reviews
"great presentation"
in 2 reviews
"hard life"
in 2 reviews
"an excellent guide"
in 3 reviews
"eye opener"
in 2 reviews
"high tea"
in 2 reviews
"great knowledge"
in 3 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 4 reviews
"visiting broome"
in 5 reviews
"on display"
in 2 reviews
"oysters"
in 4 reviews
"stuart"
in 20 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

Stuart was a great tour guide. The two hours flew by. It was both informative and interesting. Would recommend it to anyone I learnt so much
Thanks Stuart

Thank susanennisbyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WillieCreekPearls, Pearl Luggers Precinct Manager at Pearl Luggers Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Hi susanennisbyrne,

Thank you for your great review and your recomendation. Stuart is a fantastic guide with great knowledge of both the history here in Broome and the modern pearling industry. I will gladly pass your review on to Stuart.

Kind Regards
Jay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018

We spent an amazing hour learning all about the origins of Broome and the pearling industry it fostered. What an amazing, informative and insightful tour. Our guide was well-versed in the history of Broome and the industry that put Broome on the world-stage. Highly recommend this tour for international and domestic visitors alike.

Thank Claudine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WillieCreekPearls, Manager at Pearl Luggers Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Hi Claudine,

Thank you so much for posting this review.
Here at Pearl Luggers we love teaching visitors to Broome the history of this beautiful town and the pearling industry.
We are glad you enjoyed your tour and appreciate recommending to others.

Thanks again,
Pearl Luggers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

We went on a 2 hour Pearl Luggers tour.
It was a fun and informative trip which included talk on the history of pearling, oyster tastings and even cracking a live oyster to cultivate a pearl.
Both hosts were brilliant, with Georgina also helping us pick out a pearl necklace for my wife after the tour.
Both my kids (aged 8 and 11) were thoroughly entertained and i highly recommend the tour for any visitor.

Thank wazza082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WillieCreekPearls, Pearl luggers precinct Manager at Pearl Luggers Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Hi wazza082,

Thank you for your great review. Our staff are very knowledgeable in both the history here in Broome and the pearling industry today. I am happy you managed to find a Pearl for your wife and what a great way to remember Broome. I was happily pass on your feedback to the rest of my staff.

Kind Regards
Jay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

Def recommend it. Reasonable price and lots of great info.
The tour guide is very good and explains things very well.

Thank Paliza K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WillieCreekPearls, Pearl Luggers Precinct Manager at Pearl Luggers Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Hi Paliza K,

Thank you for your positive review. Our tour guides at Pearl Luggers are full of passion and knowledge about our incredible history here in Broome. I will gladly pass your feedback onto the rest of the team.

Kind Regards
Jay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pearl Luggers Tour also viewed

Broome, Kimberley Region
 

Been to Pearl Luggers Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing