We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable”
Review of Mercure Broome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Broome
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Broome
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Reasonable”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Room was good, bed comfortable. Was in the new part of the building on 2nd floor with a balcony - overall happy with experience. The only downside was the bathroom - has no one heard of bleach. There's black mould growing in the corners of the shower and grout in general needs a good clean - not sure when the shower screen last had a clean. Apart from this don't have any other complaints. Reception staff helpful and friendly. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lornad88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoffrey N, General Manager at Mercure Broome, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Mercure Broome would like to thank you for your feedback on your stay here with us.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the newer section of the hotel and that the balcony served as a highligt of your stay, the issue that you have pointed out is currently being taken care of and we hope to have this resolved as soon as we can do so.
I am pleased to hear that our front office staff were of friendly assistance to you and I will be sure to let them know that they are doing a great job.

Again we thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your return stay in Broome with us.


Sincerely,

Geoffrey Nocher
General Manager
Mercure Broome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    188
    149
    60
    30
See reviews for
65
231
67
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newman, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

These rooms are really pleasant with (fake) timber floors, and Balinese flavoured decor. Good movie channels and big pool (and a little pool, so you have a choice!). Its located nice and close to town and town beach. I've stayed it lots of places around Broome, and think this is one of the more visually pleasing ones! That said, its still a big hotel so its a bit nameless and characterless compared to some of the smaller boutique options.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedDirtWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoffrey N, General Manager at Mercure Broome, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
We here at the Mercure are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us recently, it is great to hear that the room decor was a highlight of the room arrangement and that the swimming pools served of great use during your stay.

We thank you again for your feedback on your stay here with us at the Mercure Broome and look forward to your return.


Sincerely,

Geoffrey Nocher
Gemeral Manager
Mercure Broome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I booked superior rooms for myself and two colleagues for an overnight work trip. Front desk staff were pleasant and helpful. I arrived before the others and found my room after being given wrong directions - not a huge problem since I had a map. The room (623 on the ground floor) looked fine until I saw the bathroom. There was nowhere to put toiletries except the floor and nowhere to hang towels. The bathroom was quite large and the layout looked like it was intended to be wheelchair accessible (continuous floor surface into the shower with pull-down shower seat and hand rails in shower and next to toilet), but someone in a wheelchair would find it even more difficult than I did to retrieve their toiletries from the floor. There is enough space on the far side of the sink for a narrow table or shelving, still leaving easy access for a wheelchair, which would take little time and effort to install. There is also more than enough room to put towel rails on the wall under the window next to the sink, so I was puzzled as to why they hadn't bothered (this was not a newly renovated room). In order to compensate for the absence of an extractor fan, the bathroom window is kept open a few inches. This means the bathroom door has to be kept closed in order not to lose the cool air in the room since the air conditioner is positioned to blow directly into the bathroom, so it's hot and humid when you go to shower in the morning. When my friends arrived I asked if they had the same bathroom set-up, but both had normal sinks with vanities and shower stalls. However, both bathrooms had black mould in the corner of the showers that looked appalling. I remembered having read about this in other reviews, so why haven't they done anything about it yet?!! The breakfast was okay, and I appreciated the period of free wifi in the lobby. Then we were given wrong directions to get out through the back of the hotel which can't be done once you've handed in your keycard.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindo7766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoffrey N, General Manager at Mercure Broome, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Thank you for you feedack on your stay here at the Merure Broome.
We have a contractor looking into the room layout and we have taken into account your concerns about the room set up. As mentioned in your feedback about the showers this is an ongoing issue that we are working hard to take control of.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the free 30mins per day wifi access that we have available to our guests.

Thank you again for your constructive feedback and will be taking everything that you have brought to our attention into account.

Sincerely,

Geoffrey Nocher
General Manager
Mercure Broome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broome hotels
44.0 km away
Ramada Eco Beach Resort
4.7 km away
Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa
0.6 km away
Mangrove Hotel
Mangrove Hotel
#7 of 11 in Broome
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Oaks Broome
Oaks Broome
#8 of 11 in Broome
415 reviews
1.9 km away
Broome Time Accommodation
3.7 km away
Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Broome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Broome

Property: Mercure Broome
Address: Weld Street | PO Box 79, Broome, Western Australia 6725, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Broome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Broome
Price range (per night): $162 - $382
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Broome 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Continental Broome is set between a vast red desert and azure blue sea, Just walking distance from the heart of Broome, and only 10 minute drive from the spectacular pristine white sands of Cable Beach, making the Mercure Continental Broome the ideal location to explore Broome and it’s surrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Broome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Broome Hotel Broome
Mercure Hotel Continental Broome
Accor Hotel Continental Broome
Mercure Broome Western Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing