We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking scenery, brilliant guide”

Monkey Mia Wildsights
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breathtaking scenery, brilliant guide”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The 4WD tour of Francois Peron National Park, conducted by Harvey from Wildsights, was by far the highlight of our trip to Monkey Mia. Because it is a full-day tour that runs from 9 am to 5 pm, we initially wondered how we could spend all that time in the same place. We needn't have worried; Harvey and the Francois Peron National Park delivered in spades. The eye-popping contrasts of colour between the orange sand, the turquoise ocean and the white sand dunes made for a stunning backdrop for pictures, and Harvey knew just the spots to bring us.

But this was not just a "photo-op" tour. More importantly, Harvey made the National Park come alive with his intimate knowledge of the land. He was constantly on the lookout for wildlife: at one point, he slammed on the brakes because he spotted an out-of-season thorny devil in the middle of the road! It was such a rare encounter at this time of the year, and we were all excited to have seen it. We also saw sharks, eagle rays, schools of fish and kangaroos, just to name a few. Where we couldn't see wildlife, he pointed out their tracks and identified bird species by their songs. His knowledge of plant species was likewise impressive. I made a cursory remark that my father liked knowing about species of native plants, and he immediately showed us a whole variety of significant native plants, explaining to us how they could be used for survival in the bush. Perhaps due to his work in conservation, he was able to give us an accurate and informative big-picture view of how the flora and fauna of the area has changed over time.

At no point in the tour did we feel rushed. We were given ample time to stop for rest and toilet breaks, to have lunch, tea, coffee, biscuits, and thoroughly appreciate our surroundings. Wildsights also provides everything you could need, like polarised sunglasses and sunscreen.

It was an incredible experience for everyone, and I highly recommend the Wildsights 4WD Francois Peron National Park tour for anyone who appreciates nature.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    5
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Highly professional, friendly and informative”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Today we went for a drive. For once we went in someone else's vehicle - Wildsights' 4WD trip to Cape Peron at the top of the central peninsula in Shark Bay Western Australia. The 4WD trip is linked more or less to their main attraction, which we'll go on tomorrow: the cruise from Monkey Mia on the catamaran Shotover. But this review is just for today's trip with our driver and tour guide, Katie Hughes and her apprentice Ru.

The full day trip is full of wonderful sights and expert information. Katie knows a lot, sees a lot, and is constantly helpful. Ru likewise, as she is taking over the job in a few weeks. This is not your sensationalist always-amazing "quick-leave this and onto the next thing" tour as these things can be. We loved it. Despite the gale-force winds nearly all day - wearing weather jackets in this climate seems so incongruous - we enjoyed every minute of it. Thoroughly recommended for everyone who is eco-inclined and wants to be accurately informed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank PeterLlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great 4WD tour and Cruise”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We just came back from our Easter visit to Monkey Mia, and took the 4WD tour and cruise from Wildsights.

We went on the 4WD tour with Harvey as our guide. Harvey was a fount of knowledge about the Park and kept us entertained and informed about everything. He also paid special attention to our two kids, 10 and 5 year olds, and made sure to include them when showing us the plants/foot prints/features of the park.. Lunch was fantastic as we were at this platform above the sea, and could enjoy the sight of lots of creatures in the sea as we ate our lunch. There was even coffee/tea, and biscuits after lunch. The park is a natural wonder, with lots of wild life and is absolutely beautiful. Going on Easter Friday meant that there was actually quite a lot of people there, but the park was so big, we didn't see many people at all. We did get an additional adventure when our 4WD truck was stuck in the sand on the beach, which Harvey says is the first time ever, until the park rangers pulled us out. The 4WD tour is highly recommended, and is suitable even for kids. However, it's pretty long so just make sure everyone has a good rest the previous night.

We went on the cruise with two of Harvey's very experienced staff. It was a slightly cloudy day, and the water was not very clear, but we still saw dugongs, nurse shark, green turtles, loggerhead turtles, cormorants, and of course, dolphins... The Shotover is a beautiful boat and extremely stable. It was easy to walk/climb all over the boat to which ever side had the sea creature.. A very enjoyable cruise for all.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank gregw_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Definitely a must do: 4WD Tour and Catamaran Cruise”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We booked the 4WD Tour and the Catamaran Cruise at the same time as this meant we received a discount and the free sunset cruise.
Harvey our guide for the 4WD Tour was highly entertaining and very knowledgeable on the Francois Peron National Park. Harvey definitely made our day! The views are spectacular and I hope to return in Summer to see the red sand and blue seas in full sunshine. We saw dolphins, turtles, Eagle rays, Kangaroos and an Echidna on our way home. I didn't realise how big the National Park was until we were driving through it and I am very glad we booked the 4WD Tour and didn't attempt to drive on the tracks ourselves!
The cruises were great and although we didn't see as many animals as we would have done in the height of Summer we still saw a lone Dugong and plenty of Dolphins, turtles and Rays. On the sunset cruise we saw a Manta Ray breach out of the water, which was an amazing sight! The crew again were very knowledgeable and made the cruise a great experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
431 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Good tour and money back guarantee”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We did the midday wildlife catamaran tour with two very friendly and knowledgeable guides. Unfortunately the wildlife was scarce. We got a couple of glimpses of a two dugongs and a few dolphins, but that was it during three hours. When the tour ended the guides told passengers that if they'd like to do the tour again in the hope of seeing more wildlife, they could do so free of charge. What they did not mention was that there is a money-back guarantee for anyone not satisfied with the cruise, prominently stated in the cruise brochure. It is not the cruise company's fault that there was not much wildlife, but it is reasonable that they offer money back since the cost of the cruise was $178 for the two of us, and due to our travel schedule could not do the cruise again the next day. We asked for and was promptly and pleasantly refunded our money. We thought it strange that we saw no other customers requesting a refund. We saw a couple from the cruise who were staying at our motel and asked if they were requesting a refund. They must not have read the brochure because they were unaware a refund was possible. After we spoke they requested and received their money back. We would have much preferred to see wildlife than get our money back, but such was life. Full marks to the cruise company for offering the refund.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravellingTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monkey Mia Wildsights also viewed

Denham, Western Australia
Denham, Western Australia
 
Western Australia, Australia
 

Been to Monkey Mia Wildsights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing