We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Pan Pacific Perth(Perth)(Great Value!)
USD 177
USD 165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
USD 334
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Parmelia Hilton Perth(Perth)(Great Value!)
USD 108
USD 98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Fraser Suites Perth(Perth)(Great Value!)
USD 120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency Perth(Perth)(Great Value!)
USD 136
USD 121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Abbey Beach Resort(Busselton)(Great Value!)
USD 160
USD 119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Four Points by Sheraton Perth(Perth)(Great Value!)
USD 125
USD 111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crown Metropol Perth(Burswood)(Great Value!)
USD 202
USD 170
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ramada Eco Beach Resort(Broome)(Great Value!)
USD 140
USD 133
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region(Cape Naturaliste)(Great Value!)
USD 171
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
27
17
5
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
17
5
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgibb river roadwilderness lodgegreat drivebell gorgekimberleycampfiretentsoutbackcampingensuitepropertytoiletskmsaccommodationcolingrasslookout
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Mt. Hart is over 40km from the Gibb Road, but the road is in good shape, and there are nice things to see along the way. THe tents with en-suites were comfortable enough, and not hot at night with a little ventilation. The homestead rooms looked nice, but probably weren't as easy to ventilate, and did not have en-suites. The bar area is a nice place to hang out any time of day, and the Chef does a wonderful job with dinner. The only reason I rate average was the presence of bugs and flies at the homestead, which were hard to ignore. However, they disappear in the evenings. The staff is friendly, made up of family of the owner and others. There's a very nice walk/drive up to 'Sunset Hill' each evening, well worth the 5 minutes it takes to get there. Overall, a nice respite from the Gibb Road.

Room Tip: THe safari tents come with newer en-suite bathrooms and showers, the homestead used shared facilities.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bigfoot H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016

This campsite is 50 kms up a dead end track and therefore it can charge what it wants for its facilities. To camp at an unpowered site was $18 per person, washing was $7 per load and dinner was $40 per person. Soft drinks are $4 per can and Beer is $7.50. Its remote location of course has to be reflected in its costs but if you intend to stay here then it would be worth being as independent as possible. The campsite itself is in a quiet idyllic location and there is lots of shade, warm showers but no cooking facilities. Water is not safe to drink at the camp but is easily available at the homestead a few kms away. Flies are a major major nuisance (the worst we found anywhere on the Gibb) and we were very pleased that we had net hats. We enjoyed our one night here but were pleased to get away from the flies the following morning. Diesel is available at a location influenced price.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PaulHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2016

This was booked for us in a longer trip, I see now that they don't book people into this one, gee thanks!
I'm lead to believe it's around $600 per night for a couple, 3 course meal and breakfast included.
Booked into the 'lodge rooms' nice big room, comfortable bed, very thin pillows thankfully there were spares. No locks on the doors, I guess there is a level of trust on the Gibb River Road, especially when it's actually 50 km off the road. The oblutions were some 15 mets away, separate toilets and then into a dire block for a shower. All built by men for men, no mirrors, very basic at best.
It's advertised to have lovely gardens, no, not, all overgrown and run down.
Evening meal was really lovely, taken up to see the sunset, white cloths, the works, don't expect this though as they had VIP guests and we all had the benefit from this. Pay for your drinks though, the cost suggests that drinks might be complimentary.
Minimal staff, they were all quite nice and helpful. This and several other accomidation places in the Kimberley are owned by one man and his foreign wife, my guess is that he rarely visits.
Very poor for the money, at least double the cost it should be. Would love to see the area bought back to what it clearly was like some years ago.

Room Tip: If you must go try the tents with ensuite, or better still stay elsewhere.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cans4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managers6743, Manager at Mt Hart Wilderness Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2016

Thank you for staying at Mt Hart Homestead. Most visit Mt Hart Homestead because of its remoteness and lack of commercialisation. We are working on developing a very special dinner at sunset hill and hopefully soon many will get to experience this wonderful dinner. Your comments relating to our owner are very harsh and unjust. Our owner is an extremely hard working man and both he and his lovely and very hard working wife spend a great deal of time at Mt Hart and the other tourism products that they have in the Kimberley.
I do wonder why you chose to stay in an airconditioned homestead room (based on your criticism of the ablutions) We also offer ensuited tents.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

This is one of those stays that you'll likely never forget. It's a long old drive off the main track to get there which only adds to the adventure. The homestead is open, spacious and welcoming. There's plenty to explore locally on the grounds and beyond. You might catch a dingo bouncing along the airstrip like we did. Yep, it's expensive. But spare a thought for how much effort went into restoring this old station. Spare a thought for Taffy Abbotts and his dream.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 9to5explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2015

We stayed here for three days, what a great experience, owls and bowerbirds in the gardens, comfortable accomodation, good service, friendly staff. Really enjoyed the campfire behind the bar area at night. Scenery was great and glorious sunsets and lovely starry nights. A lovely relaxing place to stay.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank hugof917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews