We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Pan Pacific Perth(Perth)(Great Value!)
USD 177
USD 165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Parmelia Hilton Perth(Perth)(Great Value!)
USD 108
USD 98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Fraser Suites Perth(Perth)(Great Value!)
USD 120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Abbey Beach Resort(Busselton)(Great Value!)
USD 160
USD 119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
USD 334
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region(Cape Naturaliste)(Great Value!)
USD 171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Hyatt Regency Perth(Perth)(Great Value!)
USD 136
USD 120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Four Points by Sheraton Perth(Perth)(Great Value!)
USD 125
USD 111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crown Metropol Perth(Burswood)(Great Value!)
USD 248
USD 170
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ramada Eco Beach Resort(Broome)(Great Value!)
USD 140
USD 133
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
27
17
5
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
17
5
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgibb river roadwilderness lodgegreat drivebell gorgekimberleycampfiretentsoutbackcampingensuitepropertytoiletskmsaccommodationcolingrasslookout
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2015

Great work in getting this place back to former glory. It is such an iconic Kimberley destination and the work that Colin Fitzgerald and his team are doing is fantastic. The new safari tents are very comfortable and the bathrooms are clean and functional with great water pressure. The bar and restaurant is a lot of fun and the new tracks allow much better access to the swimming holes and gorges. Pretty drive in too. Allow yourself at least 2 nights here.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Clay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2015

A great place to relax and unwind. Amazing scenery and the drive in is beautiful. Saw Bush turkeys, a Black Dingo, Cattle and many many birds.
Accommodation was basic but all you need. Recharge your batteries or explore the area. No mobile phone or Internet is a great bonus.

Room Tip: Basic Station homestead rooms. All you need is there though. You go for the scenery and serenity.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2014

A truly wonderful few days. The ultimate hosts, Julia and Brian, went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our time at Mt Hart, from the moment we arrived and were greeted with a friendly handshake and warm smile, to our departure with the same.
My father and I stayed two nights in the homestead with its rustic charm and comfortable beds. Our first night we were introduced to two other groups staying at the resort, a Swiss couple and a German couple, and we shared a delicious restaurant dinner outside under the stars, with a campfire set a short way from the table.
The following day, we explored the Mt Hart attractions, visiting the Mt Matthew Gorge, Annie Creek and waterhole, and Barker Pools, all within short drives from the homestead and good spots to swim and feel completely away from the world. We were then able to enjoy a magnificent sunset from Sunset Hill with a yummy antipasto hamper prepared by the kitchen.
This was followed by a very enjoyable dinner with our hosts and some nice wines from the outdoor bar.

We departed the following day with not only fantastic memories of a great spot on the Gibb but also some new-found friends from the remote Kimberley region. Thank you very much Brian and Julia.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank KChaser2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2014 via mobile

My bestie and I decided at last minute to head up the gibb camping . we came across MT HART HOMESTEAD. The caretakers Brian and Julia were so friendly and warm and went out of way to make is welcome. Waterholes, gorges, a+ facilities, star gazing, shady bush walks, green grassy campsites. We will be back next year to see our new friends in Brian an Julia, it's a stunning easy drive also. Whole experience just awesome!!!

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Renee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We spent 2 nights camping at Mt Hart in July and were thoroughly spoilt by Brian and Julia. They welcomed us "just on" dark, and showed us great hospitality throughout our stay. Plus they gave us some good travel advice for the remainder of our trip on the Gibb River Rd. We thoroughly enjoyed the walk into Mt Matthew Gorge and the swim at the end of it. No one else around to disturb the pretty and peaceful location of the swimming hole. To add to that, the road in and out was well worth the drive as the black dramatic diorite rock was unique to the area. All of these features added up to very special scenery and very special service. Thank you to Julia for the delicious plate of nibbles supplied for us to enjoy at the lookout on sunset, really topped off a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews