We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it.”
Review of Mt Hart Homestead

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mt Hart Homestead
Reviewed 20 July 2015 via mobile

Amazing drive to the homestead. Friendly people,all about the service not the dollar. Safari tents great with your own shower and toilet. Sensational food. Great base to go and explore the surrounding Kimberleys.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Kayegeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2015

Great work in getting this place back to former glory. It is such an iconic Kimberley destination and the work that Colin Fitzgerald and his team are doing is fantastic. The new safari tents are very comfortable and the bathrooms are clean and functional with great water pressure. The bar and restaurant is a lot of fun and the new tracks allow much better access to the swimming holes and gorges. Pretty drive in too. Allow yourself at least 2 nights here.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Clay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2015

A great place to relax and unwind. Amazing scenery and the drive in is beautiful. Saw Bush turkeys, a Black Dingo, Cattle and many many birds.
Accommodation was basic but all you need. Recharge your batteries or explore the area. No mobile phone or Internet is a great bonus.

Room Tip: Basic Station homestead rooms. All you need is there though. You go for the scenery and serenity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2014

A truly wonderful few days. The ultimate hosts, Julia and Brian, went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our time at Mt Hart, from the moment we arrived and were greeted with a friendly handshake and warm smile, to our departure with the same.
My father and I stayed two nights in the homestead with its rustic charm and comfortable beds. Our first night we were introduced to two other groups staying at the resort, a Swiss couple and a German couple, and we shared a delicious restaurant dinner outside under the stars, with a campfire set a short way from the table.
The following day, we explored the Mt Hart attractions, visiting the Mt Matthew Gorge, Annie Creek and waterhole, and Barker Pools, all within short drives from the homestead and good spots to swim and feel completely away from the world. We were then able to enjoy a magnificent sunset from Sunset Hill with a yummy antipasto hamper prepared by the kitchen.
This was followed by a very enjoyable dinner with our hosts and some nice wines from the outdoor bar.

We departed the following day with not only fantastic memories of a great spot on the Gibb but also some new-found friends from the remote Kimberley region. Thank you very much Brian and Julia.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank KChaser2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2014 via mobile

My bestie and I decided at last minute to head up the gibb camping . we came across MT HART HOMESTEAD. The caretakers Brian and Julia were so friendly and warm and went out of way to make is welcome. Waterholes, gorges, a+ facilities, star gazing, shady bush walks, green grassy campsites. We will be back next year to see our new friends in Brian an Julia, it's a stunning easy drive also. Whole experience just awesome!!!

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Renee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Western Australia hotels
1910.1 km away
The Wickepin Hotel and Harvest Cafe
2077.4 km away
Kendenup Lodge and Cottages
2096.9 km away
Abbey Beach Resort
Abbey Beach Resort
#4 of 14 in Busselton
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1966.7 km away
Seashells Mandurah
Seashells Mandurah
#1 of 7 in Mandurah
548 reviews
1489.0 km away
Best Western Hospitality Inn Carnarvon
1561.9 km away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#5 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt Hart Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Hart Homestead

Address: Gibb River Road, within King Leopold Range Conservation Park | The Kimberleys, Western Australia 6728, Australia (Formerly Mt Hart Wilderness Lodge Hotel)
Region: Australia > Western Australia
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #583 of 931 Speciality Lodging in Western Australia
Price Range: $387 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mt Hart Homestead 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be welcomed with open arms to Mt Hart Homestead, conveniently located just off the Gibb River Road. The property offers a charming place to relax and recharge, and its proximity to many of the Kimberley's spectacular gorges makes it an ideal base from which to explore this stunning region. Mt Hart Homestead comprises two accommodation sites, the original working cattle station homestead and the second homestead, which has been carefully recreated to match the unique style of the original. Both exude a rustic ambiance and offer exceptional hospitality. Accommodation features comfortable double or twin bedded rooms, which are close to shared facilities, all in a secluded Kimberley setting. Stay in a remarkable location, close to the spectacular King Leopold Ranges and just a short drive from APT's Bell Gorge Wilderness Lodge, making Mt Hart the perfect next stop on your Kimberley journey. The land on which Mt Hart is built enjoys a fascinating rich Indigenous and pastoral history. Mt Hart Homestead offers shared bathroom facilities, a library, a dining room, a licensed bar, and a guest laundry, all the comforts of home at your fingertips. Hearty home-cooked breakfasts and delicious three-course dinners are served in a licensed dining room. Lunch is also available upon request (additional cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Booking.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Mt Hart Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mt Hart Homestead Western Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing