We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!! ”
Review of Hochi Mama

Hochi Mama
Ranked #26 of 4,323 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Chinatown
Description: Located in an iconic Melbourne laneway, Hochi Mama is a fun and relaxed restaurant/bar serving up modern Vietnamese-inspired street food. Expect interesting interpretations of traditional classics, as well as more contemporary Asian Fusion menu items. In the bar, highly-experienced mixologists offer an exciting cocktail menu designed especially to compliment the food. Located near ample parking, trains and trams.
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

Delicious meal we had the share menu so good and great value for money! Customer service was perfect ellie was our waitress!!

Thank Jodie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HochiMamaPR, Manager at Hochi Mama, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Thanks for the kind words Jodie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

154 - 158 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

After reading the reviews decided to go there but it didn't live up to the expectations we had. We decided to try the $59 deal and specifically asked the waitress not to bring it all out at once but out it all came which was a shame as by the time we got to the ribs we ordered they were cold and fatty not good. The fish cakes were also disappointing and really oily. They don't have many red wines but the one we ordered they had run out of. Tom was the only reason you got the extra star. We felt like it was get them in get them out was there main objective, once some restaurants get a bit of notoriety they rest on there laurals, Too many really good restaurants in Melbourne for this sub standard.

1  Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

Fab dinner out on the footpath crammed on a tiny table near a heater & didnt we have a fabulous time. Highly recommend the $59 for 2 people so that you can pick a variety, the only problem was we had 5 people & only wanted to order that for 4 to share as we knew we wouldn't get thru it all but had to have it for 5, the food wouldn't even fit on the table! Cocktails were awesome The kardashian highly recommended. You wont be disappointed if you go

Thank jayne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HochiMamaPR, Manager at Hochi Mama, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Thanks for the kind words Jayne! Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Great service, great drinks, great food. No complaints! Delicious pork belly and beef ribs. Great version of long island iced tea with amaretto and fantastic espresso martini.

1  Thank Albmjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HochiMamaPR, Manager at Hochi Mama, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Thanks for the kind words!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Fast and busy place. No waiting for food to come as it all comes at once.With small table for two it gets very crowded with all 5 dishes at one time.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ajmackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HochiMamaPR, Manager at Hochi Mama, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Hope you enjoyed the food otherwise, hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hochi Mama also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Hochi Mama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing