We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Il Bacaro Cucina e Bar
Ranked #17 of 8,202 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: AU$0 - AU$51
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Reviewed 24 July 2019 via mobile

Very impressive high quality food and drink served in this place. Staff is very attentive and prepared to give you the right advice. I had spaghettini alle cicale di mare and was fantastic. A couple of glass of Italian Prosecco and I was over the moon

Date of visit: July 2019
2  Thank Crazyforfood11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 55 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2019

After a poor experience at another restaurant I came here and fortunately was able to get a table. The restaurant is a cosy atmospheric place. The food is excellent with lovely subtle combinations of flavours and the service likewise first rate. Lucky for me the first place didn't work out!

Date of visit: July 2019
2  Thank SAFireBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 July 2019

Every few years we manage to get to Melbourne and always make arrangements to go and eat at il Bacaro. This year we had a little one with us in Melbourne so we organised for her to be looked after and headed out to our favourite restaurant. Nothing had changed and that was exactly what we wanted. The carpaccio was incredible, spaghettini amazing, so was the lamb back strap and the deserts were on another level!! It is very rare these days that my wife and I get to spend this sort of time together but gong to Il Bacaro was definitely the best choice - thank you to our waiter for making it a wonderful night! Il Bacaro will remain our favourite restaurant in the world.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Brendon80
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 June 2019

I really can't relate to the previous reviews, I loved everything about this restaurant! Yes, it is expensive, but worth every cent and I for one, don't have a problem paying for quality food and service. The staff is knowledgeable, genuine and caring and the food is impeccable. The kingfish and tuna entree was delicate yet delicious, and the duck as a main was the best I've ever had. Finished dinner with the cheesecake, which is literally out of this world. Attention to detail, quality and passion are reflected in every aspect of Il Bacaro. I'll treasure this experience for a long time.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank polczalaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 June 2019 via mobile

Was so looking forward to returning for a special farewell dinner for our son who is moving overseas. BLAND is the word to describe the food, the service and the whole grossly overpriced experience. The Moreton Bay bug pasta I was so looking forward to comprised of 4 tiny pieces of bug. Shameful. Will never be back to this anachronistic place.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank WalchyMcfadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Il Bacaro Cucina e Bar also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Il Bacaro Cucina e Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.