We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable”

Il Bacaro Cucina e Bar
Ranked #17 of 8,202 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: AU$0 - AU$51
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Reviewed 17 June 2019

I really can't relate to the previous reviews, I loved everything about this restaurant! Yes, it is expensive, but worth every cent and I for one, don't have a problem paying for quality food and service. The staff is knowledgeable, genuine and caring and the food is impeccable. The kingfish and tuna entree was delicate yet delicious, and the duck as a main was the best I've ever had. Finished dinner with the cheesecake, which is literally out of this world. Attention to detail, quality and passion are reflected in every aspect of Il Bacaro. I'll treasure this experience for a long time.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank polczalaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 58 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2019 via mobile

Was so looking forward to returning for a special farewell dinner for our son who is moving overseas. BLAND is the word to describe the food, the service and the whole grossly overpriced experience. The Moreton Bay bug pasta I was so looking forward to comprised of 4 tiny pieces of bug. Shameful. Will never be back to this anachronistic place.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank WalchyMcfadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 June 2019 via mobile

Positives: good service, efficient yet a little sterile. Meats cooked well.

Negatives: food was not worth the hefty prices attached to it. Entree pastas were just ok. Nothing special, few key ingredients and at $29 poor value.

Main courses nothing special. A really expensive night out for average Italian food. Not worth the hype.

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank The_OgeGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 June 2019 via mobile

Marko, your Melbourne laneway jewel serves the most exquisite italian cuisine. The lightly dusted calamari was superb. The pork belly, ocean trout and duck cannelloni were phenomenal. The flavours, the presentation and the taste of everything presented will remain with us for a long time to come. Particular mention to Alex who seduced us into indulging in the cheesecake, great choice, great waiter and great service. Marko this is a credit to you and your restaurant family.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank PinkTaxiTrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 June 2019

We booked on the afternoon- they could only fit 3 of us instead of 5 ( so we threw the others to the wolves and took the booking anyway). We had no idea how popular this restaurant was - so feeling lucky that we got in at all at such short notice. The service was amazing from the get go. Exceptional attention to our gluten free diners needs. We started with the calamari, followed by the rabbit ragu tagliatelle, and finished with the cheesecake - each dish more delicious than the first. Smallish menu but more than adequate, good wine list and the martini’s are to die for. Book in advance so you don’t miss out would be my tip.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Il Bacaro Cucina e Bar also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Il Bacaro Cucina e Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.