We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never fails to impress”

Il Bacaro Cucina e Bar
Ranked #17 of 8,202 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: AU$0 - AU$51
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Reviewed 9 February 2019 via mobile

Everything is a pleasure at this authentic Italian fine dining restaurant. You are greeted in a friendly way, the ambience is warm and inviting and the seating cosy.

We had beef carpaccio and beetroot and ding entrees. The photos attached couldn’t do them justice, they were perfect.

For the main meals we had seared barramundi and duck breast with duck sausage. Superbly prepared, delicious, right size portions and memorable.

The best was last, a cheesecake with a raspberry coulis and sorbet. A visual delight that was balanced, refreshing and a perfect end to the evening.

We didn’t drink much but had the waiter select a house Chianti. Delicious.

I would always recommend this place.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Doronski
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 80 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2019

A high end restaurant with superbly trained wait staff, and prices to match. The food quality was excellent and the atmosphere sure to impress a business associate or date. This place must have been airlifted from Venice to Melbourne.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 January 2019 via mobile

We had a great evening at this rest u rad.

The wait staff were amazing. They had a thorough understanding of the menu and wine list.

We had a variety of choices off the menu, all 9f which were very very good.

This is a great experience which we really enjoyed.

This is a lively boardering on noise atmosphere, so is if you are looking for a quiet dinner, this is probably not the place for you.

A great evening and if the opportunity arose in the future we would bokk again.

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank Krusherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 January 2019 via mobile

Simply the best meal in a week of dining out. The flavours, presentation and overall quality of our meal at Il Bacaro was outstanding.

A must if you are in Melbourne.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Hungry_Weka
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 January 2019

Very small yet cosy restaurant. Gets very crowded. Good food, good wine and good service. Slightly pricey but worth it.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LevinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Il Bacaro Cucina e Bar also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Il Bacaro Cucina e Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.