We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the expense”

Il Bacaro Cucina e Bar
Ranked #17 of 8,202 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: AU$0 - AU$51
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Reviewed 29 September 2018

This place is far from cheap. But the quality of food and wine is justifiable. Also special mention to the service. Not only receiving a polite phone call to re-confirm our reservation but the whole dinner service was also faultless.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank _blond_bombshell_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 98 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2018

Excellent as always - great combinations of flavours, textures and techniques.

Impressive wine list, attentive but unobtrusive service - works very well to provide a very enjoyable experience !

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed our meal here. There is not much on the menu for vegetarians but the quality of what there is is high. The fish options are good too. The staff are helpful and attentive. Dark and intimate décor. Worth a visit.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 509daniellep
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

We went here on Wednesday evening and made a booking over the phone and received a call back confirming, which was very nice.
I had the pork with pesto and raspberry and it was simply delicious. Fine dining at its best.
My son had the goat which was certainly prepared to perfection but just had an unpleasant taste. We are not goat eaters and have had it before. It was just our taste that did not align with this dish rather than any problem with the food.
I would still highly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for fine dining in Melbourne.

Date of visit: August 2018
2  Thank ColinP336
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 August 2018

A great dining experience. Great luxury and relaxing atmosphere. Food was excellent. Customer service was very good also.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alicegrey2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Il Bacaro Cucina e Bar also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Il Bacaro Cucina e Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.