We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine Champagne Truffles”
Review of Koko Black

Koko Black
Ranked #19 of 129 Dessert in Melbourne
Price range: USD 5 - USD 8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Lygon Street
Description: The Carlton salon opens late to cater for the evening crowd in the busy Lygon St precinct. The upstairs lounge offers a haven of relaxation, contemplation and rejuvenation, allowing customers to sit down and enjoy the magic of chocolate in their own little nook.We love the specialty desserts menu available exclusively at the Carlton salon, created by head pastry chef, Adam Tippins. The menu changes seasonally, which means there is always something new to discover.
Reviewed 22 February 2016

There are a number of Koko Black's in Melbourne all providing the same wonderful chocolate. It is a must visit and my favourite is the Champagne Truffle although the leather-wood honey black chocolate honeycomb is also very good. Thoroughly recommend any of their products - the one in Royal Arcade gave us each a free tasting.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 40 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2016

I'm a huge chocolate mousse fan and this dark chocolate mousse was wonderful. I grabbed take away which was a bonus as i was short on time. The chocolate shards and the mini crunchy biscuit balls were a suprise but still tasted great

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank Kym P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 February 2016 via mobile

I'm from the UK and in Melbourne visiting my daughter & family again and love time in the city wandering around. I always go to Koko Black for a pot of tea and a delicious chocolate treat. I enjoy sitting upstairs in the old fashioned style room in peace and quiet and cool comfort. Yes, it's not cheap, but to me it's worth it. Thoroughly recommend.

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank 707sheilal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 February 2016 via mobile

My favourite Koko Black chocolate salon is in Royal Arcade off Bourke St Mall. If you love old, ornate buildings then this is the perfect place to indulge in decadent chocolates and really good coffee. The Belgian Spoil tasting plate is consistently amazing & does change seasonally.
The salon at the top end of Collins St is also wonderful, it's in the 'Paris end of Collins St' as Melbournians call it and definitely worth the walk.

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank JourneyAtlasTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 December 2015

Just popped in to buy chocolates. Chocolates of exquisitely high quality, however, quite expensive. Will be back to try the desserts and drinks.

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lzhangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Koko Black also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Koko Black? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.