We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky Chan Restaurant”
Review of Lucky Chan

Lucky Chan
Ranked #1,392 of 5,066 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Southbank
Reviewed 30 June 2016

The waiters were gorgeous and a little run off their feet but still very helpful when required, and with a smile. Most of the food was tasty, the vegetables too raw for our liking, the soup cold plus it was overpriced that was our experience but still the restaurant was busy even for a Wednesday night.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 216 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2016

We dined here quite late on a recent trip to Melbourne so it wasn't busy, but despite the hour we were given exceptional service. Dining as a group of 4 we ordered the banquet which was huge and a great variety of flavours/foods. You definitely need to have a big appetite but you won't be disappointed.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank razza61
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

We were here for dinner June 23, 2016. Ordered scallop dish under entree, which we were told meant "smaller portion" and the waitress recommended we add vegetables to the dish. Scallops with ginger and shallots is the name of the dish. Could hardly taste the ginger and scallop was chewy. Adding the vegetables added 20 plus dollar to the 12 dollar dish!! Mushroom dish under vegetarian was good. Rice noodles Singapore style was ok. What was disgusting and was not the fault of the restaurant per se was a couple sitting behind us. As we were eating our meal, the man started clearing his throat loudly and I mean disgustingly loudly to bring his phlegm up. Spat it in the linen napkin. Ruined the dinner for us. They were oblivious and I guess thought there was nothing wrong. This happened several times and after that we felt sick to our stomach. Our waitress might have come to tell him not to do that. We were not sure as we don't speak Chinese. Overall, even if that grotesque incident had not happened, we still would not have rated the experience a memorable one. I think the restaurant does not care and doesn't anticipate having repeat customers. So as long as visitors pour into the casino and eat there one time, that would be just fine for the restaurant.
No incentive for them to improve food or service

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank LanCaoReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

Very poor , sour faces , over priced for quality and sechuan chicken that was that salty virtually inedible , however for $31 a plate prob need too , won't be back

Date of visit: May 2016
1  Thank 134,092
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 May 2016 via mobile

It is a shame that the staff must be pushed to get you in and out quick. We had just sat down and were asked for drinks and food order. We had not even had time to open the drinks menu!! We ordered and the drinks arrived. We had a couple of sips and the staff were ready to fill the glasses. The food was great but shortly after we finished the table was cleared. We paid the bill and were just talking when we were asked to leave as there were others wanting the table. A bit pushy.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank davidsU4976FB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Lucky Chan also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Lucky Chan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.