We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food and service.”
Review of Florentino

Florentino
Ranked #198 of 4,622 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Chinatown
Description: Grossi Florentino Upstairs
Reviewed 24 March 2018

My wife and I visited Forentino Grill after attending and evening show nearby. They were still open at 10.30 pm and had a number of people dining. Were shown to a table and chose two pasta dishes which were of outstanding quaility, genourously sized, perfectly cooked and delivered quickly. The filling of the tortellini was delicious as was the the slow cooked veal.
The entree of whitebait and caviar was less successful. The paprika was way to overpowering and ruined the delicate taste of what should have been the stars of the dish.
The dinks list was good and the coffee fantastic.
Special thanks to our waiter Suren, who did a great job.

Thank 00BCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 69 of 1,117 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2018

I had great expectations of this restaurant and heard that Melbourne prices were really reasonable. Paying $16 per prawn (we ordered 2 so we could have one each) and $24 for 2 Zucchini Flowers I felt was a bit stiff for an entree. Our mains of fish (which was too salty) and chicken (no flavour) were very disappointing at over $40 each. Our desserts were nice but also over the top in price. For the two of us only drinking water the bill came to over $200.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sofia1553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

We visited Grossi Florentino Upstairs for the Melbourne Food & Wine Festival Restaurant Express program where you get two courses and a glass of wine for $40 each. So good value and we hadn't dined at Grossi Florentino before so it was a new experience we were really looking forward to.

We were greeted at the door and directed upstairs where we were greeted again and shown to our table. First impressions were this place was over the top - very opulent with old style European decorations including murals and ceiling ornamentation. But the straight laced waiting staff in their suits made me feel very stifled and waiting to be told off for breaking any table manners during the lunch!

I ordered a Prosecco which ended up costing $16 for a glass so a bit of bill shock at the end with that little offering. The Restaurant Express offered 3 entrees and 3 main courses as well as 3 desserts (an extra cost if you chose the 3rd course). I chose the Sardines, pine nuts, currants, smoked potato entree which were ok. My husband had the Ravioli, spinach, ricotta, walnut dish which he liked but was a bit bland.

For mains I had the Flathead with baccala, apple and lovage which was only saved by the sides because the flathead had absolutely no flavour based on my palate. My husband had the Lamb with peas, bagna cauda and eggplant main. He ended up cutting off half of the lamb which was fatty and inedible which was disappointing. Also the dishes were on the small side - we understand that we're paying bargain basement prices for this event but you'd think the restaurant would like to try and impress their first time customers in the hope they may return and pay full price next time.

By the time we had finished our meal the restaurant was pretty busy so the suits (waiters) were running around everywhere but trying to get them to bring our bill was a bit of a challenge. So overall we were disappointed somewhat with the experience, the food size and quality, and the ambience which are all things a restaurant should be trying to exceed at. Maybe it was just our bad luck to have such high expectations but nevertheless we were hoping for more. Don't think we'll return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Knills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grossi_Restaurants, Manager at Florentino, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Hi there,

Thanks for your feedback, we have passed all of your comments to our team. We are disappointed that you didn't enjoy your restaurant express experience, we always aim to provide an excellent experience including these wonderful food events.

We do hope that you return and can experience the level of hospitality that we strive to deliver to our guest.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

Went to the restaurant for the food and wine festival for the restaurant express. Not my first visit but my last. The set menu was limited and dishes not explained. Had the Pork, expected a delicious Pork dish got 2 pork sausages, boring. Sweet was at least better.
Biggest problem was the noise in the grill room, could not even talk, it was so loud.
Asked to be seated out side, which they eventually did, but the manager was rude.
Drink that was ordered, came at the end of the mains. Not good enough. Never again.

Thank leonv809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

Went to the Grill with high expectations of a 2 hatted 30 yr restaurant. What can you say when the the whole dinner you can't wait to leave and hope that the next course will be better. Waited after sitting for 10- 15 minutes for our order to be taken by someone. A few people came by but the eventual waiter was the last. The descriptions of the food had little resemblance to reality. Start with 2 microscopic zucchini flowers which were good but at $24 ridiculously overpriced. Next we had what was described as a crepe in olive oil, basil and Parmesan. The "crepe" was swimming in a slimy sauce totally inedible. The papadelle in ragu as a main turned out to be a $40 (never told it was this overpriced vs the entree of $26) . It was good but minimal duck ragu that tasted line a beef ragu. The "main" of veal rib turned out to be a FAT, SMALL, TASTELESS PIECE of "veal short rib". At $50 it was a gross disappointment since a Rib should be a veal rib not a short rib. It was a great disappointment. We left with the best part of the meal being the bread. Only when the check came did any ask if the meal was ok. I could not even tell her since she only wanted to say Prego after every sentance. We left wishing we never went to the grill. NEVER AGAIN a major ripoff.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank wwtravelerRochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grossi_Restaurants, Manager at Florentino, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Hello, we are disappointed that you didn’t enjoy your experience with us. We want all our guests to enjoy our venues whether it be the hatted Florentino or Grill. I can assure you that all your feedback will be passed on to the team. We would to discuss further with you if possible, please email loredana@grossi.com.au and we will be in touch. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Florentino also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Florentino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing