We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value. Ticked all the boxes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Milano Serviced Apartments
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Value. Ticked all the boxes”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Was apprehensive after booking as I later discovered very mixed reviews on trip advisor. My family of 4 ( wife and I , with 21 and 19 year old student 'kids', had a great time at the MIlano in November, although naturally the apartment was a little cramped. Great view over the city, and easy access to CBD. Tennis court and good lap pool and gym. Staff were excellent, and nothing was too much trouble for them. This is the point that I want to make strongly! My son and I were playing tennis and he knocked the ball over the fence. The court is outside on the 6th floor, and I asked a passing security guy how we could get the ball back later ( it had landed on the roof of the neighbouring apartment block). No problem, he said, and went off to get it himself! No that's what I call going beyond the call of duty! Would definately go back next time.

Room Tip: Ask to look out over the city, and probably on a higher floor where there seem to be fewer students...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    129
    57
    22
    24
See reviews for
123
32
16
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Four of us stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment for 5 days. The apartment is spacious & clean with a beautifull view. Thanks to Larry.

We're very happy with the laundry & cooking facilities which serve our needs well.

The staff are also friendly and helpfull. The only inconvenient is the one air-con unit which is placed in the living area in the whole apartment. The spa & gym are very good, the apartment has met our expectations in many areas.
Will come back again next year.

Room Tip: Higher floors have beautifull view at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Family of 5 stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. Quite "compact". Tripping over the luggage was a bit tedious. The apartment felt pretty fresh and clean, but a few things were in need of maintenance (e.g. The oven door handle was hanging off, about to fall off completely. I told the front desk who said it would be fixed tomorrow. 4 days later when we checked out, noone had been to fix it).

Wotif advertised king size bed, 2 singles and a sofa bed. Also put "king size please" in the booking comments. When they called a few days ahead to confirm the booking, I also reminded them about the king size requirement. Even when checking in they confirmed it. Despite that, still ended up with a queen size! I asked the front desk, who said they're not sure what beds are in each apartment... They offered to downgrade me to an apartment with smaller rooms... er.... no thanks.

The best bit by far was the location: Aldi downstairs, walking distance to loads of attractions, shopping and trams, in the same street as heaps of car hire places and great views of the city above level 20 or so.

We tried out the pool and spa, but didn't get a chance to use the sauna, tennis courts of cinema.

Overall, we'd stay again for a short visit, but believe we could have done better if we'd booked more in advance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above level 20 and make sure they absolutely confirm the bedding your requested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Razorzej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We stayed in the apartment for 9 days. The 2 bedroom apartment is spacious & clean. We're very happy with the laundry & cooking facilities which serve our needs well. The apartment is also a walking distance to Queen Victoria market which is just round the corner as well as to the city. For those who want to rent a car, there are a few rental car companies within the vicinity. The supermarket ALDI is located next to the building. The staff are also friendly and courteous.
The only inconvenient is the one air-con unit which is placed in the living area in the whole apartment. Since the weather was cold during most days of our stay, it was not a major problem.
Overall, the apartment has met our expectations in many areas.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suhana1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Dirty marks on walls and overall condition just didn't give me the feeling things were clean - the main priority for me with any room.

The price was pretty good, but still, if you want to put on glamorous pictures of the building on the web, and set the expectation, then you can't be surprised when a customer feels you didn't live up to it. Also, obvious that smoking takes place in rooms and hallways which leaves an unpleasant smell.

Lastly, charing internet fees by MB is a bit old fashioned, a set 24hour access rate at least lets you know what maximum internet fees will be.

Won't be staying there again.

PS Reception staff were very friendly and helpful - can't fault them with anything.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FindGrantSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
#101 of 159 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Central Business District
Jasper Hotel
Jasper Hotel
#75 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
City Edge on Elizabeth Apartment Hotel
Chinatown
Punthill Little Bourke
Punthill Little Bourke
#6 of 134 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milano Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milano Serviced Apartments

Property: Milano Serviced Apartments
Address: 8 Franklin St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Clarion Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 134 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price range (per night): $123 - $342
Hotel Class:4 star — Milano Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milano Serviced Apartments is a unique and affordable alternative to hotels in Melbourne CBD for both leisure and corporate guests. We offer both deluxe and executive one and two bedroom self contained apartments that are stylishly furnished with an urban contemporary design. All our rates include complimentary access to swimming pool, spa, sauna, tennis court, BBQ area, gym and cinema room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Milano Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milano Serviced Apartments Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion
Milano Serviced Apartments Melbourne, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing