We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but could do better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Milano Serviced Apartments
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good location, but could do better”
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Family of 5 stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. Quite "compact". Tripping over the luggage was a bit tedious. The apartment felt pretty fresh and clean, but a few things were in need of maintenance (e.g. The oven door handle was hanging off, about to fall off completely. I told the front desk who said it would be fixed tomorrow. 4 days later when we checked out, noone had been to fix it).

Wotif advertised king size bed, 2 singles and a sofa bed. Also put "king size please" in the booking comments. When they called a few days ahead to confirm the booking, I also reminded them about the king size requirement. Even when checking in they confirmed it. Despite that, still ended up with a queen size! I asked the front desk, who said they're not sure what beds are in each apartment... They offered to downgrade me to an apartment with smaller rooms... er.... no thanks.

The best bit by far was the location: Aldi downstairs, walking distance to loads of attractions, shopping and trams, in the same street as heaps of car hire places and great views of the city above level 20 or so.

We tried out the pool and spa, but didn't get a chance to use the sauna, tennis courts of cinema.

Overall, we'd stay again for a short visit, but believe we could have done better if we'd booked more in advance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above level 20 and make sure they absolutely confirm the bedding your requested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Razorzej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    130
    57
    22
    25
See reviews for
123
32
16
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We stayed in the apartment for 9 days. The 2 bedroom apartment is spacious & clean. We're very happy with the laundry & cooking facilities which serve our needs well. The apartment is also a walking distance to Queen Victoria market which is just round the corner as well as to the city. For those who want to rent a car, there are a few rental car companies within the vicinity. The supermarket ALDI is located next to the building. The staff are also friendly and courteous.
The only inconvenient is the one air-con unit which is placed in the living area in the whole apartment. Since the weather was cold during most days of our stay, it was not a major problem.
Overall, the apartment has met our expectations in many areas.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suhana1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Dirty marks on walls and overall condition just didn't give me the feeling things were clean - the main priority for me with any room.

The price was pretty good, but still, if you want to put on glamorous pictures of the building on the web, and set the expectation, then you can't be surprised when a customer feels you didn't live up to it. Also, obvious that smoking takes place in rooms and hallways which leaves an unpleasant smell.

Lastly, charing internet fees by MB is a bit old fashioned, a set 24hour access rate at least lets you know what maximum internet fees will be.

Won't be staying there again.

PS Reception staff were very friendly and helpful - can't fault them with anything.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FindGrantSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2011

+ Great and friendly reception, check- in very fuss free, reception area was bright and welcoming
+ We checked into 2 bedroom apartment, it was very clean, except for a towel which didn't look/ smell fresh
+ Walking distance to town and city tram

- The aircon unit was placed on the balcony, so if you want to sit at the balcony, you need to bear with the unbearable heat and sound coming from the aircon unit.
- There's only 1 aircon in the whole apartment - meaning, if you sleep with the bedroom door closed, it will get stuffy!

Room Tip: - Pick a higher floor and you probably will get a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msgoldenduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Room extremely small scruffy. It was very noisy and smoking is allowed on balconies which is as if theY were smoking in your room.
Very busy with students.
Rooms poorly appointed

Room Tip: The higher the better as far as noise from pub and backpackers but nothing helps city and constructi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
#100 of 159 in Melbourne
414 reviews
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Jasper Hotel
Jasper Hotel
#71 of 159 in Melbourne
1,038 reviews
Central Business District
City Edge on Elizabeth Apartment Hotel
Central Business District
City Tempo
City Tempo
#8 of 136 in Melbourne
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milano Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milano Serviced Apartments

Property: Milano Serviced Apartments
Address: 8 Franklin St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Clarion Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price range (per night): $112 - $324
Hotel Class:4 star — Milano Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milano Serviced Apartments is a unique and affordable alternative to hotels in Melbourne CBD for both leisure and corporate guests. We offer both deluxe and executive one and two bedroom self contained apartments that are stylishly furnished with an urban contemporary design. All our rates include complimentary access to swimming pool, spa, sauna, tennis court, BBQ area, gym and cinema room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Milano Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milano Serviced Apartments Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion
Milano Serviced Apartments Melbourne, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing