We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent for the money, but not if you need a view or fast internet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alto Hotel on Bourke

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Ranked #9 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent for the money, but not if you need a view or fast internet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed four nights over the Melbourne GP race in March 2012. The location of the hotel is very good - next the main train station - but it is in CBD and everything closes at 6. Its a 20 minutes walk to the Lanes and Flinders Street where the food is. The room was large and comfortable, and the service excellent - one of the best - just everybody working at the hotel was great. And so was breakfast. However, the room we had (and most rooms, I believe) had no view whatsoever - it overlooked a 1-meter alley, so it was dark. And wireless internet, although available, was excruciating slow, not recommended if you wish to view videos (as we did, to see the race highlights on YouTube). But we will nevertheless come back to this hotel next year, if not for the good standard and service

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IndoTrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltoMelbourne, General Manager at Alto Hotel on Bourke, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for your comments. We take pride in our friendly, informal yet professional service.

Only some of our rooms face a narrow laneway. Most rooms face a wider section of lane however we are a small boutique heritage listed hotel in a large city, therefore outlook is mostly of nearby skyline. However 2 & 3 bedroom apartments located on the 4th floor do have views of the city and 1 bedroom spa apartments view onto Bourke Street.

There are a number of evening dining options closer than Flinders Street. Within 100 meters of the hotel there are a variety of cuisines including Japanese, French, Italian and some fast food options. Of course there is also the A Lounge Grill at the hotel. Hardware Lane with a wide range of choices is a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

We have upgraded our free internet access to 10mbps which would be suitable for video streaming. We will undertake some testing to find out why you had some issues with connection speed so that you will be able to watch replays when you return next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    822
    524
    70
    20
    3
See reviews for
285
585
125
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Spent 4 nights here in mid-March, during the ultra-busy Melbourne Gran Prix time. Staff was efficient, helpful, witty and warm, responding to all our requests and questions. I asked about taking public transport to an obscure town, and had printouts of train and bus schedules slipped under our door 10 minutes later. Awesome. Rooms are on the small side but very efficiently designed. Kitchenette in our studio room was just what we needed. Location is just 1/2 block from Southern Cross station, the Skybus and just outside the tram. Used the very handy guest laundry and took advantage of free coffee/flat whites in the morning from the restaurant. The 'library' is a bit of a misnomer since it's really just a spot at the back of the cafe, but that's my only complaint. Mail Exchange pub down the street is a fun place to relax, watch footy and eat. All in all, a great location, with great service. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrantTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

A very comfortable stay in a well located, clean, welcoming and refreshingly environmentally friendly hotel.

The main points were:

Well situated - near Southern Cross station, shops, restaurants and sights and not far from the free tram stop and free shuttle stop. We got the Skybus from the airport to Southern Cross station (and then back) and it was a very short walk from there which was very convenient.

Comfortable room with an extremely comfortable bed. The room was well sized and well equipped - although I'm not sure one chair counts as a seating area! It wasn't the biggest room I've ever stayed in but perfect for what we needed. Loved the extras such as ipod/iphone dock and milk in the fridge rather than the usual whiteners. Only slight down point was that it took the shower a while to heat up - but we quickly got used to that - a small price to pay for being more environmentally friendly.

Friendly staff who were always ready to help and advise (and offer umbrellas!)

Complementary tea, coffee and hot chocolate from an espresso machine (although sadly no decaff) as well as free use of the relaxation room with it's wonderful massage chairs. Also a laundry room for guest use, a book exchange and free access to a computer - although limited to 30 minutes.

Free internet - a massive plus for us as it doesn't seem the norm in hotels in Australia as it is in a lot of countries. I wasn't too happy to be told that we could only access the internet on one device at a time but after expressing my dissatisfaction, I was quickly given another code for my partner to use without much fuss. If this is the policy then it should be better advertised.

Breakfast - not one of the hotel's strong points and if it hadn't been included in our package then I would have gone elsewhere after the first day. It was okay but nothing to write home about. Convenient and a reasonable range of things on offer but not really worth the money. Good if you're in a rush but if you've time to spare then head elsewhere.

All in all, a place to be fully recommended and if I'm in Melbourne again then I will definitely stay at the Alto.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stranger44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Having opted for a central location we were really pleased to find this place was so close to everything we wanted. A very very short walk from the Sky Bus terminal from the airport. A main tram stop and train station right outside the door and just a short stroll up the hill to the shops.
The hotel is self was super. Friendly really helpful staff,
The room was flawless and we loved the whole Eco friendliness.
Lots of nice little touches that please most.. E.g free coffee and papers.
Only slight thing, which isn't a fault as such was receiving an upgrade when we arrived.
Sounds odd I know.. But as 2 women travellers we'd booked a twin room..only to be kindly given a small apartment room with more facilities. We flipped for the bed and I won but I was told the pull out sofa bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faysie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast Queensland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

My sister and i meet up yearly for a girls weekend. We love Melbourne and have visited four times, and discovered the Alto Hotel on our second visit. We have just returned from our third stay at the Alto Hotel on Burke and as usual enjoyed our stay immensley.

The Alto is situated in the street (one block up) directly across the road from Spencer street station where we arrive on the Airport shuttle bus. So no lugging luggage onto trams or taxis for us, (been there done that, never again).

The staff are very welcoming and friendly, "Jenny" (whome we asked if she lives there as she is there every time we go and every day we stay?) as usual was very hospitable wearing the biggest smile. This time we met "Mr and Mrs Alto" (not their real name) the owners who very kindly hosted an "Earth Hour" get together which all staff and guests where invited to. The Hotel reception and dining room was in candlelight and we were provided with lovely canape's, wines and champagne, accompanied with friendly chatter. This was a lovely warm up to a night out on the town.

We always take the breakfast deal as the breakfast is scrumptious with many choices, and great service. My sister loves her coffee and the coffee, hot choc and all flavoured Twinings T.bags are available to guests 24/7 in the dining room, and take-away cups and lid's are also available.

As usual the rooms where spotless and had all ammenities.

There is a smoking room downstairs which is very comfortable and well ventilated, and does not stink of cigarette smoke.

No doubt when my sister and i return to Melbourne we will stay at the Alto again. I can feel comfortable recommending this hotel to anyone who stays in Melbourne.
Cheers

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hiphiphorray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,068 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#38 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#32 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto Hotel on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Property: Alto Hotel on Bourke
Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): $172 - $291
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne's multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport express shuttle, shopping, train station and free tram zone. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, restaurant & bar, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room & free wifi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke
Alto Hotel On Bourke Melbourne, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing