We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the Spur”
Review of Burma Lane

Burma Lane
Ranked #70 of 4,219 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Burmese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Description: Created in Melbourne, inspired by Asia. Located at the Paris end of Little Collins Street, Burma Lane brings guests a modern Australian dining experience with distinct Asian flair. The style of dining is designed around light tapas bites moving to the more substantial, all delicious and perfect for sharing a quick bite or a lingering meal. The menu itself is concise, with regularly changing, seasonal fare celebrating local produce. Fresh, vibrant and deliciously different with a hand sourced wine list and sensational cocktails to match! The venue has a beautifully designed interior, stunning Mezzanine level and high ceilings. The awe-inspiring floor to ceiling artwork by renowned Melbourne street artist, Mike Eleven, incorporates moving projected images, bringing the modern Asian-Australian feel of the restaurant to life. Experience everything we love about multicultural Australia in a hip, fun & eclectic environment; that is Burma Lane.
Reviewed 10 May 2017

Took a couple of work colleagues here for dinner last night, one from out of town, the other a local who doesn't venture into the city much. We all loved it, the food was magnificent and the service outstanding. We shared a number of dishes and all disappeared really quickly. It would be unfair to isolate any one dish because they were all really, really good. We had a couple of dishes from each of the "sizes" meaning we eventually shared about 6 - 7 dishes, a great way to get a real taste of the menu. My recommendation....Just Go!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul2706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, Manager at Burma Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Hi Paul 2706

Thank you for your really kind words, we loved having you here but sad to here that everything disappeared too quickly. You will just have to come back again soon and hope they disappear a little slower.

See you soon.

Matthew Stidworthy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

We went to this great little restaurant this evening. It was fantastic. I loved the food and the service was spot on. Very enjoyable

Thank christinew362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, Manager at Burma Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Hi Christine

Thank you for the 5 stars, we are little but we can make a loud noise, we hope to see you very very soon.

Thank you

Matthew Stidworthy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

Second time back.......great food, efficient and friendly service.

So tasty and different food.

Try many different dishes.

A shame no Rose by the glass.

Thank cookie077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, Manager at Burma Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Hi cookie077

Thank you for your lovely review, I will ensure to pass it on to my team.

NEWSFLASH we have a delicious rose going on the list very very soon. Stay tuned

We hope to see you soon

Matthew Stidworthy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

We had an advance booking for a group of 6 and were ideally situated at a pleasant ground floor round table. The decor is quite stunning and modern ranging from cow hide upholstered chairs to video clips screened over a colourful modern two storey high mural on the wall. Service and attention to drink service and detail was good. Initially the menu was challenging for the rang of choice and the chef's suggested menu while looking different and exciting was predominantly vegetarian. One of our party had been before and saved the day. He ordered for us and selected an array of 9 meat dishes which we had served over three courses. The food was all well presented and in taps style was easily shared. The stand out items for us that were delicious were the Beef tartare with cream, herbs and quail egg; the Lamb shoulder with peanut sambal and pineapple; and the Wagyu cheeseburger bacon dumplings with Vietnamese sauce. All up including drinks and tip we paid $90 a head for our predominantly meat-lovers feast which compared very favourably with the chef's vegetarian special fixed menu at $75. Well worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank coshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, Manager at Burma Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Hi Coshaw

Thank you for the kind review.

I am delighted that you found the food and the beverage service good and enjoyed our beautiful restaurant.

The chefs feed me menu is by no means a set menu and we are open to suggestions from our guests if they want to chop and change a few things on the evening, Im sorry that you had not been made aware of this on the night.

Hopefully we are well worth another visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon

Matthew Stidworthy, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017 via mobile

The staff are very friendly!restaurant atmosphere is great.
We ordered prawn red curry and the serving is very poor.there was like 5 pcs.of overcooked and frozen prawns!It wasn't really presentable to eat.
The other one is the lamb shoulder,
That was too salty!it wasn't really enjoyable to eat!it was dry.
The dish of the day is the pork belly!
That was very nice!but can i make a suggestion?
People needs knife and a standard size spoon and not a serving spoon.

Thank MarkWH46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, General Manager at Burma Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Hi Mark,
Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. We aim to provide our customers with an exceptional experience, so we will pass on your comments to our chefs to ensure we can improve on these dishes. If you have any further concerns, please email me at matt@burmalane.com.au.

Kind regards,
Matthew Stidworthy, General Manager at Burma Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Burma Lane also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Burma Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing