We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Asian food in Melbourne”

Rice Paper Scissors
Ranked #7 of 8,202 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: AU$45 - AU$65
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Chinatown
Description: Rice Paper Scissors offers a punchy, share-style menu influenced by traditional South East Asian flavours. Guests will experience bold street food-inspired dining that showcases the very best in local produce. Indulge in our twice-cooked sticky pork belly, smothered in tamarind caramel or perhaps our sashimi grade, cured South Australian kingfish nestled on crisp prawn crackers. Rice Paper Scissors' mouth-watering menu is also partnered with signature cocktails, craft beers, and curated wines. Motivated by the excitable snapping of chopsticks and clinking of glassware. Rice Paper Scissors is a restaurant that prides itself on creating a space for guests to indulge in not only its menu but the company of others.
Reviewed 21 April 2019 via mobile

We hadn’t booked a table and were able to wait a few minutes an be seated very quickly. The staff were so upbeat and friendly, it has to be the best customer service experienced in Melbourne to date.

We ordered 5 dishes between 2 people and not one dish disappointed us, even the roti was great quality, the crispy barramundi was a highlight

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank micamaria13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (2,741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

566 - 570 of 2,741 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2019 via mobile

This place was recommended by a pal who’d visited last year and it did not disappoint. Picked 5 dishes to share plus we ordered the best ever roti with peanut sauce. Fried chicken, lamb chops, pork belly in a bun, the biggest tastiest prawns ever and crying tiger. All were fabulous. Great service and atmosphere all added to the 5 star rating. Delicious

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank gillian k
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 April 2019 via mobile

I went for lunch with some friends at rice paper scissors and had the best time. The staff was super friendly and everyone loved the food. And most importantly.. I’ve never had a espresso martini served like that. Must try!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank vanrossumlaurens
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 April 2019 via mobile

I have admit I had very high expectations for Rice Paper Scissors because of all the reviews I read. I have an asian background and eat a lot of asian food out. I just didn't think the balance of flavours was there.
My friend and I ordered the choose 5 dishes for $34.50 each. We had the lamb ribs that everyone raves about and have to agree they were good. Second dish was a soft shell crab salad which was also tasty. Then we had the barramundi dish which was nice but not wow. Next we had an eggplant salad that was the first disappointing dish. The eggplant was bland. Then we had the pork belly salad. Well I am fully aware that pork belly has a fat layer but most of the pieces of pork belly were all fat! All in all it was nice but not memorable

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank JulieW4187
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 April 2019 via mobile

What a awesome vibe! Great staff, cool tunes, DELICIOUS food, great cocktails, speedy service, and very good value for money.
What’s not to like?

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank AshP392
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Rice Paper Scissors also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
South Yarra, Greater Melbourne
 

Been to Rice Paper Scissors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.