We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Gracious style” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
Ranked #4 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Gracious style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

This is a hotel that is consistent in its service approach and very comfortable. We have stayed twice, firstly in 2011 and recently this year, but the first stay was made far more enjoyable because of the room layout. We had a River view room, but it is advisable to ask if you can see the river from the bed itself when allocated a room, as this does rather define the viewing experience. On this second occasion, the only time one saw a "river view" rather than adjacent and rather unlovely buildings was on walking in and out of the room at a particular angle. So a little misleading in my opinion and there is an additional cost. The only other issue was the reception desk. There was a very confusing discussion about a discounted breakfast option, made difficult by poor language skills. English being the official language here, we expect better communication. Note : we are very prepared to cope with accents and do speak other languages, but this was very poor indeed. But otherwise, a well presented and courteous hotel and ideally situated.

Room Tip: Find out exactly what sort of river view you will have before paying extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foowashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidLM_LanghamMelb, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that our service approach and our position on Southbank make your stays with us enjoyable. We do apologise if there was any difficulty in understanding our staff. We have followed this up with our staff in Front Office. We would love to have you visit us again.
David Landis-Morse
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,603
    824
    266
    78
    63
See reviews for
740
2,401
254
833
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

First time at the Langham & it surpassed all our expectations so we will defiinitely stay there again. Staff are very friendly & knowlegable. Rooms are spacious, linen & towels excellent & the bed was incredible, best we have ever slept on whilst travelling & we had a wonderful view of southbank & the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

We've stayed in this beautiful hotel previously and will do so again in two weeks then again for the spring racing carnival. In a perfect location for transport, shopping and getting to the race-track. Great bar and restaurant. Nicely decorated rooms, spotlessly clean and represents very good value for money. Love the entry reception area, very old world charm. Staff are always welcoming, friendly and professional. Also close to the casino if you are looking for celebrity chef restaurants, designer shopping and/or test your luck on the tables.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ontheroadsince73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

Upon arrival we received a warm welcoming and gret reception service. An upgrade was offered to the club room upon check in. The room was nice and clean, a fcouple of modern features such as an iphone dock to play music. Very comfortable bed however the bed sheets and bedding were not tucked in which made it look a tad untidy and not as presentable as a five star hotel should be. View was amazing and overall a warm feel to the room.

A few flaws such as: Room service menu was very expensive considering the amount of resturants and cafes around. First room service order was a glass of wine, dried fruit with cheese and crackers. I was told the order would take at least 20 mins, however turned up an hour later with no dried fruit but only grapes and a cubed fruit which looked like it came from a tin.

Second room service later on in the night, we ordered a ham cheese french toast sandwich. OMG it was terrible at a cost of $20 plus it was the worst thing we had ever eaten and made us feel sick just by the few bites. Not reccommended for a five star menu!!

Buffet breakfast was great, alot of choice however coffee was poor. First coffee arrived cold, upon request of another the second coffee was burnt, we gave up and went and bought some coffee at a coffee nook at Southbank.

As we were getting ready to pack our bags, we received our express checkout receipt at the front door. We called reception and upon finding out not only did they take a bond on arrival they also took out the complete nights accomodation. We were not notified of this as usually the bond is sufficient. So BEAWARE full payment is held by the bank on arrival not just taken out on checkout.

Dinner we opted to not eat there at a cost of $100 per person we thought was very steep.

Upon checkout a sweet gesture of a bottle of water is left in the car with a little note.

Room Tip: Club corner suite, two windows showing off Melbourne's beautiful features.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamnRad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidLM_LanghamMelb, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thank you for reviewing us. It was good to hear that the welcome was warm and that we were able to offer you an upgrade and that the beautiful views over the Yarra enhanced your stay with us. We do apologise that your experience of our Food and Beverage offering was not memorable and we will follow this up with the team. I can confirm that a pre authorisation of the full accommodation amount of the stay is taken on the card provided on check in. We are glad you enjoyed the farewell gesture of our “one for the road” water bottles – many of our guests remark about them! We look forward to welcoming you back.
David Landis-Morse
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

Stayed in a club spa suite as part of the Langham's suite promotion and we were pampered the entire weekend. If you can afford the splurge, would strongly recommend the suite as there is plenty of space to truly relax in.

The suite was ready on our arrival at 3pm and was immaculately clean. The lounge area was spacious, as was the bedroom. The bed was very comfortable and if like me you don't like your pillows soft, there were firmer ones in the cupboard. The suite also had a dressing room and opulent bathroom complete with two person shower and separate two person spa. The bathroom amenities were plentiful and helped to continue the pampering.

We ordered room service our first night and the service and food were outstanding. We ordered entrees and mains the the portable heater ensured our mains were kept hot. The menu was exhaustive and had plenty of vegetarian options which we find are sometimes forgotten about at similar hotels. The suite also had an extensive mini bar and a nespresso machine which I loved.

Our second evening we had dinner at Melba's with a guest and would recommend it to anyone. The extensive buffet ensured three guests, all with different tastes, came away completely satisfied. We especially loved the dessert bar complete with chocolate fountain. The Club Spa Suite comes with access to the Langham Club so breakfast is complimentary and included all the essentials. You also get access to afternoon tea and pre-dinner drinks and nibbles but we weren't hungry enough!

Very hard to find fault with any aspect of our stay - we did have trouble with our in-room foxtel and were advised the signal was down to the hotel- not a big deal but the only thing that could have been improved. Can not recommend he Langham highly enough for anyone wanting a luxurious weekend away. Thanks!

Room Tip: Spa suite is worth the splurge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,205 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#20 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#8 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Property: The Langham, Melbourne
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): $248 - $673
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing