We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded my expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Langham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Langham
Ranked #5 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceeded my expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

If you are looking for 5 star service, in every aspect of a hotel then go to The Langham. I was staying as part of a wedding being held there, and I drove the Groom in. From the Valet parking to checking in (which we did early and they were totally fine with that) to the BUTLER service (for the Groom) and even though I did not have that service per se, whenever I needed anything, ANYTHING at all (at one stage I needed scissors) the staff ran around for me/us. Even to the point of going to my car to check for something I had forgot in there. Every detail was catered for. I needed and wanted for nothing. Dialling 1 on the phone in my room got me to reception where I was always greeted by name and anything I wanted or needed catered for. Honestly, it was exceptional service!
I can not fault them. If you are looking for a place where even the cleaning staff always greet you, the staff respond to your EVERY need, the food is AMAZING (Naan bread made on the SPOT) and the rooms, the ROOMS! I haven't even mentioned the actual rooms. It was lovely, the decor refreshing, perfect bedding, Massive room, every single need and whim catered for. Mouth wash, bath salts, a plethora of extras all the time. When I went to get my car from Valet parking they had put a bottle of water in there with a note saying "One for the road".
Honestly, I loved my stay. I was there for a day and night and I can't rave about it enough. I loved it so much I am becoming an Advantage Club member. It's worth going even once. Also it is sooooo close to South bank that in about one minute walking you are there or at the sky deck. Thanks to everyone at The Langham! We had the best, best time and night. We all met (the guests who stayed overnight met for breakfast with the Bride and Groom the next day) for breakfast and it was Awesome.

Room Tip: I was on the 23rd floor. Awesome views. I had 2 king single beds, it was a HUGE room. They are all g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fliosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,912
    900
    287
    82
    69
See reviews for
815
2,619
275
885
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Good: Location; decor (faux sumptuous - although rooms look like they're getting a little tired); amenities and toiletries; breakfast (fantastic choice and lovely views over the river); service (free bottle of water when car returned from valet (but see "Bad", below)); good water pressure in the bathroom and adjustable spray shower head; comfortable bed (although the Sofitel pillows are better); shoe shine service.

Bad: Valet parking really expensive at $45 (just park it yourself across the road - $10 overnight) and had to wait a while for return even though we had phoned earlier as suggested; noise from the street (City Road? Are the windows not double glazed?); bathroom and shower not the biggest; wi-fi at $30 a day.

Room Tip: Try and get a City or River view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidLM_LanghamMelb, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed the location on Southbank and the classically elegant décor – ask for our updated Grand Rooms on your next visit. We do have packages available which include valet parking and internet access as well – just ask our Reservations staff and they will be happy to suggest some options. We do hope to see you again at some stage.
David Landis-Morse
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

The Langham lived up to all expectations. We have stayed there quite a number of times now. This time was by far the most special.

We stayed in a luxury terrace suite as part of a more pricey package.

The premium was worth every cent.

As usual, the hotel staff were by far the most helpful and courteous of anywhere we had stayed before. They made this stay even more special as we had our special day there.

We had our wedding reception at Melba. Everyone commented on how great the food was. The lobster was a stand out.

Overall, we couldn't have wished for a better stay than we had at the Langham. It would take a mammoth effort for its nearest competitor to even be close!

Room Tip: Pay the premium - worth every cent. The Langham Advantage Club entitles you to more privileges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed in a classic room overlooking the river. The room was spacious and well equipped, but did not have much space for more than one large suitcase. The beds with deep mattress toppers and soft pillows are just SO comfortable. The in house bottled water was overpriced at $10, but we managed without it. The bathroom was spacious and well equipped and everything was kept well stocked.
Breakfast was very good, but lacked the variety of other 5* hotels we have stayed in. The staff were friendly but the service levels varied between excellent and poor. On our last morning I had to walk up to the restaurant supervisor to order drinks after waiting 15 minutes, and then it was another 15 minutes and one reminder before they arrived.
However, all other staff on other days and in the rest of the hotel were great.

This place is very good and so well located - highly recommended.

Room Tip: High floor and river views are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cotswolds_crew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philly
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I have stayed in some world class hotels and the langham Melbourne certainly ranks right up there with the best. great location, staff, and best breakfast one could have. Comfy rooms and turn down service is great.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thadfortin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,173 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,463 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#10 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#26 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,656 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham

Property: The Langham
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): $243 - $467
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Langham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
The Langham Melbourne, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing