We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I expected more.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Ranked #25 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I expected more.”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

My husband recently had to stay at this hotel for business, and I decided to tag along. He had stayed at this hotel before and had rated it quite highly so I was looking forward to my night away. On arrival the valet was ok, although I was surprised that even though I had just a small carry on bag, they did not offer to take it. Check in was fine although it would have been nice if I had been told I needed to use my card in the lift. The room was standard, nothing to write home about but definitely adequate, the bathroom small but serviceable. Where the hotel really fell down was in the housekeeping. The runner at the bottom of the bed had a large stain and when I went to remove the throw pillow from the bed couldn't help but notice a mass of white congealed gunk on the other side. I'm sorry but this is just icky and should not be present at a hotel of this standard. It made me think the housekeeper had noticed it and in their haste had just turned the pillow over. It made me wonder what else had been missed, like the dirty spoon under the desk. My only other complaint was the bar staff do not know how to make a bloody mary, way to tomatoey and what ever happened to the celery?! On the plus side room service was good and breakfast came on time and was hot.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cheekysmle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review our Hotel.

Whilst I was disappointed to hear we didn’t meet your expectations, your comments in reference to Housekeeping and the Bar Staff have been discussed in detail with the Department Managers to improve our service delivery. Your positive comments about room service and breakfast will be appreciated as we always try to provide five star service to all our guests.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,254
    865
    174
    38
    45
See reviews for
378
884
88
634
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valley du Loir
Level Contributor
94 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Good views across the river, comfortable room, good location on the bustling Southbank. Impersonal service is what lets this hotel down. We felt that we had to make an effort to engage the staff. Apparently there is a reasonably priced all you can eat buffet on Friday and Saturday nights at the hotel and we had planned to eat there the evening we arrived but it was packed, so book ahead. However you are spoiled for choice for dining in Melbourne. For breakfast go to the Queen Victoria Market and for cheap eats there are at least two food courts on the Southbank.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonerinFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

This was my first stay at Crown Promenade, although I have attended a few conferences and events at the Crown complex.

I was very impressed with the room (studio room type). It was spacious, plenty of natural light and expansive views of the Melbourne city skyline (I had a corner room). See photos for different views of the room.

The HD TV was much larger than needed, but was nice to have. It would have been indeal if the working / desk area faced the TV, rather than having your back to the TV while working. The desk area was spacious and comfortable though.

I ordered room service dinner and also breakfast and the delivery was really prompt, particularly for such a large hotel complex - very impressed.

I had a business lunch in Bistro Guillaume and was very impressed with the relaxed ambience and superb French food. I started with the salad nicoise with rare wild tuna and the had the pork belly for the main. Delightful.

While staying at Crown, I had some meetings in the nearby Southbank area which was an easy stroll and highlighted to me just how convenient the Crown location is - such a wide variety of food & beverage options at your doorstep.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Any negatives?

- there's something not right with the mag-stripe room keys / cards. You need to swipe your card to access your room floor from within the lift, not that uncommon these days, but either the cards have been recycled too many times or the card reader in the lift needs a service. I had to swipe and re-swipe multiple times. It wasn't just me, every lift ride had the same situation wtih other guests struggling to get the lift to acknowledge their card. You need your room card to access "the deck" on level 3 and my card didn't work at all. Went to reception and got another card re-coded. Solved.

- the reception desk has those bollards and retractable belts to help control crowds and form queues - the kind you see at an airport and in my opinion, should only be seen in airport or high volume traffic areas. It's an eyesore. I had the feeling that check-in would be slow. It wasn't, but I'm just not a fan of those queue systems in upscale hotels.

- the coffee cup that came with room service breakfast was stained. Wasn't a big deal as the minibar had two sets of coffee cups, both perfectly clean, so disaster was averted.

- the gym on level 3 "the deck" is pretty basic, but I guess there isn't much demand for extensive gym facilities with all the other options at your doorstep.

Room Tip: If you book a studio room, ask for a room ending in '79' as these are the corner rooms and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emufi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My maid of honour and I stayed at this property the night before my wedding, we booked here due to close proximity to Southbank and the place we were getting ready at the next morning.

Check in was effortless, and parking was easy due to the valet.

Room was very spacious, we had a standard twin room with two queen beds. Beautiful beds, very comfortable. Bathroom was quite large for a "standard" room and the lay out was good.

Would definitely recommend this property to other travellers, and would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JesskaTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My husband and I took advantage of a special deal - three nights for the price of two, including a bottle of sparkling wine which I think is very good value for what we got. Our room had great views over the river and city and Southbank. We didn't eat in the hotel as there as so many other dining options close by. It's also just a short walk to Flinders Street station and lots of trams which we used quite extensively.

Our room had been prepaid. The only thing I didn't like was debiting my card $100/night for incidentals. On querying this, the reception staff told me to mention on check out that it was a debit not a credit card and the money would be put straight back in the account, which it was.

Overall, we had a pleasant and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gjwjmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#24 of 159 in Melbourne
3,764 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 159 in Melbourne
2,256 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
5,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#79 of 159 in Melbourne
1,433 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#10 of 159 in Melbourne
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Promenade Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Promenade Melbourne

Property: Crown Promenade Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): $187 - $542
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Promenade Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, award-winning and thoroughly modern, Melbourne's Crown Promenade offers you a fresh perspective on how good a hotel can be. Located in the heart of the action - Melbourne's vibrant Southbank entertainment precinct and directly linked to the exciting Crown Entertainment Complex, Crown Promenade is also close to the CBD, the Melbourne Exhibition Centre and the city's most famous arts and sporting facilities. Eat and drink in style at Mesh restaurant or Tonic Bar, relax by the pool or take a walk to the 24 hour action of Melbourne's Crown Entertainment Complex. Sleep, eat, work or play - you can do it all in style at Crown Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Hotelopia, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crown Promenade Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown Promenade
Crown Promenade Melbourne Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing