We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay ! Amazing location and the top floor is great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra City Central
Ranked #98 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 14 July 2017

My story choosing this place to stay is open the Google maps and just pick one hotel in the central and the price per stay is also within my budget and decided to book.

When the times is come for me to check-in, the location is amazing in the shopping district and easy access to anywhere in Melbourne. If you are heavy shopper, H&M is just in front of you! The staff handling my check-in and baggage deposit is also extremely helpful and friendly. After check-in I decide to check my room, I doesn't realize that my room is in the top floor and its just surprise me that the room has 3 storey. First is the living room and kitchen with dining table + laundry room, second floor is the bed room with 1 addtional single bedded room, and third floor is outdoor seating with a view of Melbourne skyline. It was a winter season, but I really enjoy the wind and the view in the rooftop. The room is spacious enough and its comes with the BEST price!

Great stay, keep up the great service!

Cheers!

Room Tip: Request top floor if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yohanes B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMantraCityCentral, General Manager at Mantra City Central, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Dear Yohanes B,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay.
It is very nice to read how much you enjoyed your time with us and our team were found to be helpful and friendly.
I will be sure to share your kind words with them.
I hope we will be able to have you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Brandon Park
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (920)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 204 of 923 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2017

The BEST location ever! Central to everything you need and right in the hub of the shopping district! The rooms have a lot of character and have a New York loft style feel. The staff were very friendly and provided wonderful knowledge of the area.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMantraCityCentral, General Manager at Mantra City Central, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Dear Michwood,

Thank you for you review or your recent stay with Mantra City Central.
I am very happy you enjoyed our central location and found our staff to be friendly and knowledgeable.
I look forward to welcoming you back again for another stay soon.

Kind regards,
Brandon Park
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

The location is incredible and we would stay here over and over again if you were able to offer a way for pram access without taking out a sleeping child and dragging the pram up 7 steps. We were so disappointed there was no other option. Everything amazing aside from this one problem!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank abbyleeb2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMantraCityCentral, General Manager at Mantra City Central, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Dear abbyleeb2017,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay.
I am glad you enjoyed out our central location, but offer my apologies for the issues experienced with your pram. Sadly as we are a heritage listed building we are limited to the change we can make to our building and as such we do not have any ramps or similar access.
I hope this has not influenced to heavily on your overall stay and hope we are able to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Brandon Park
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

Fantastic location for shopping sight seeing food and entertainment and transport
A sense of history not just a standard 'box' hotel room
Extremely friendly and courteous staff who go out of their way to assist

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JCF963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMantraCityCentral, General Manager at Mantra City Central, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Dear JCF963,

Thank you for your review.
I am very happy to read how much you enjoyed your stay and our beautiful historic hotel.
I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our staff.
I look forward to welcoming you back for another stay again soon.

Kind regards,
Brandon Park
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Room had bad odour of cigarettes. Reviews state this has been the case for sometime. Dirty room with leftover drinks from last people. Walls and bath dirty. Friendly staff who were helpful and excellent location.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shelto3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMantraCityCentral, General Manager at Mantra City Central, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Dear Shelto3,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.
I am very proud to hear of how you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. While I already believe this, it is nice to hear it from our guest as well.
I am very sorry you found cleanliness of your room was not up to standard and I will be following this up with our housekeeping team immediately.

I hope we get a chance to have you here again to improve our overall impression.

Kind regards,
Brandon Park
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#24 of 161 in Melbourne
2,081 reviews
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#107 of 161 in Melbourne
4,314 reviews
Central Business District
Causeway 353 Hotel
Causeway 353 Hotel
#89 of 161 in Melbourne
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra City Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra City Central

Address: 318 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $114 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra City Central 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra City Central offers convenient apartment-style accommodation in the very heart of Melbourne's thriving business, shopping, restaurant and theatre district. Making the most of a magnificent heritage building, it's ideal for both business and leisure travellers alike. The city hotel offers one or two bedroom apartments boasting bright and spacious rooms, some of which overlook the lively streetscape of Melbourne. All rooms include kitchenette with microwave, bath with shower, Foxtel, direct dial ISD/STD telephone, iron and ironing board, electronic access card security and individually controlled air-conditioning. Two bedroom apartments also feature a dishwasher. The hotel is the perfect base from which to explore Melbourne's city. From iconic sporting attractions like the MCG, Etihad Stadium, Rod Laver Arena and Flemington Racecourse, to a host of Victoria's premium parks, gardens and attractions like Melbourne Park Zoo. Within walking distance of the hotel is Melbourne's premium shopping and dining precincts with an ambience or world class cuisine available. Mantra City Central puts you in the heart of Melbourne but not with the huge price tag. Reception is open between 07.30 And 22.00 Monday to Saturday and 08.00 To 22.00 On Sunday. Staff are more than happy to assist you with any enquiries. *Please note Mantra City Central is now a smoke free hotel. Upon arrival you will be greeted by the buildings heritage charm with access to the hotel lobby via stairs only. We apologise for any inconvenience this may cause. Restaurant charge back is available at the sister hotel, Mantra on Little Bourke, two blocks up Little Bourke Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mantra, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra City Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Heritage On Little Bourke Hotel Melbourne
Mantra City Central Melbourne, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing