We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra City Central
Ranked #96 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 6 February 2017

This is a lovely hotel great location so easy and close to everything. The staff are very helpful and friendly, Our room was comfortable and well maintained, We got a really reasonable deal and reflected in the location of the room but it didn't worry us.Next time I will attempt to get a room overlooking Elizabeth st.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Elizabeth Street or Little Bourke St
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMantraCityCentral, General Manager at Mantra City Central, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Dear Kathy H,

Thank you for your lovely review.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and I do hope we can welcome you back for another stay soon.

Kind Regards,
Brandon Park
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (974)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

482 - 486 of 974 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2017

Very poor ventilation throughout apartment. Needs air condition system to cool loft area and allow good air flow. Loft area pokey. Really not set up for more than two people. Location good. Staff good. Bathroom needs some attention.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Q5418HImichaelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMantraCityCentral, General Manager at Mantra City Central, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Dear Q5418HImichaelg,

Thank you for your review.

My apologies you found our loft style rooms to not have the space for three people you had desired. We do also have a number of two bedroom style apartments that may more adequately meet your needs.

I do hope we get a chance to welcome you back and show you some of these options available.

Kind Regards,
Brandon Park
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

What a waist of money!
We booked at a "discount" price of $587 for 2 nights in the heritage apartment. We requested a crib and was charged extra for this, it turned out to be a portable cot that was extremely unsafe. The bathroom was mouldy

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMantraCityCentral, General Manager at Mantra City Central, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Dear Samantha L,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.
I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay.
We have taken on board your comments and will address the issues accordingly.

Kind Regards,
Brandon Park
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017

were looking for hotel in chinatown as had a surprise 60th party to go to at shark fin house .hotel was ideal as could work there and in morning plenty of places to eat close by .we walked to hardware lane and enjoyed brunch

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank K2031XNanned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMantraCityCentral, General Manager at Mantra City Central, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Dear K2031XNanned,

Thank you for your review.
I am very glad to hear you found our central location to be well suited for both your party and brunch.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Brandon Park
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Terrible. We booked a room that looked much nicer in the photos. We learnt that our room was in the basement next to the washing machines which we could only get by going through a fire escape. No reception at all in the room

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sampP1786ZI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMantraCityCentral, General Manager at Mantra City Central, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Dear sampP1786ZI,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay.
I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay in one of our Urban Basement Apartments.
As the name does suggest these are located in a basement area but they still have all the amenities and features offered in our other apartments.

I hope we are able to welcome you back and improve upon your overall impressions.

Kind Regards,
Brandon Park
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#106 of 161 in Melbourne
4,342 reviews
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#35 of 161 in Melbourne
2,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra City Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra City Central

Address: 318 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#86 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $120 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra City Central 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra City Central offers convenient apartment-style accommodation in the very heart of Melbourne's thriving business, shopping, restaurant and theatre district. Making the most of a magnificent heritage building, it's ideal for both business and leisure travellers alike. The city hotel offers one or two bedroom apartments boasting bright and spacious rooms, some of which overlook the lively streetscape of Melbourne. All rooms include kitchenette with microwave, bath with shower, Foxtel, direct dial ISD/STD telephone, iron and ironing board, electronic access card security and individually controlled air-conditioning. Two bedroom apartments also feature a dishwasher. The hotel is the perfect base from which to explore Melbourne's city. From iconic sporting attractions like the MCG, Etihad Stadium, Rod Laver Arena and Flemington Racecourse, to a host of Victoria's premium parks, gardens and attractions like Melbourne Park Zoo. Within walking distance of the hotel is Melbourne's premium shopping and dining precincts with an ambience or world class cuisine available. Mantra City Central puts you in the heart of Melbourne but not with the huge price tag. Reception is open between 07.30 And 22.00 Monday to Saturday and 08.00 To 22.00 On Sunday. Staff are more than happy to assist you with any enquiries. *Please note Mantra City Central is now a smoke free hotel. Upon arrival you will be greeted by the buildings heritage charm with access to the hotel lobby via stairs only. We apologise for any inconvenience this may cause. Restaurant charge back is available at the sister hotel, Mantra on Little Bourke, two blocks up Little Bourke Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Agoda, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra City Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Heritage On Little Bourke Hotel Melbourne
Mantra City Central Melbourne, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing