We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Complete Experience”
Review of Red Spice Road QV

Red Spice Road QV
Ranked #169 of 4,219 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 21 - USD 29
Cuisines: Asian, Cambodian, Thai, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Description: Red Spice Road, Melbourne's award winning South East Asian style restaurant comes to QV! Red Spice QV is based on the concept "same same but different". It keeps the successful ingredients of Red Spice Road on McKillop Street and brings a warmth touch with an original and unique designed venue, intimate dining sittings and enlarged menu. Red Spice QV is perfect for after shopping and pre-theatre dining.
Reviewed 13 June 2017

You walk into the low, warm light of the dining area. The music is soft and unobtrusive but genuinely enjoyable. A friendly waiter seats you and then takes the time to explain the menu with practised ease. Flavours, portion sizes and option are explained and, when the order is taken, dietary requirements (a coeliac in this case) are noted and accommodated with reassuring ease.

The meal arrives in good time and it's well cooked, delicious and filling. The only sound other than the low talk of the patrons is that of the bartender shaking the ice in a cocktail maker.

You get the feeling someone's actually put thought and care into this and it shows.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albert S, Manager at Red Spice Road QV, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Thanks Ian.
Yes we have put a lot of thought and care into our restaurant and we aim to deliver the kind of experience we would expect to receive ourselves when we dine out.
We are really glad you enjoyed your evening and hope to have you dine with us again soon. Always a pleasure to receive such nice feedback. Thank you,
Albert Sikkens, Manager, Red Spice QV

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2017 via mobile

Need I say more? If you enjoy a good pork belly then this is the place to go. Excellent Asian style with coleslaw and sauce. Best I've had in a while topped off with Duck red curry just made the night. an excellent wine list is available too. I tried the QV location, one would assume the other is equally as good but don't quite me.

Thank Kryton4k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

Went here with a group of 8! Hidden away, lucky we had the entertainment book to direct us here! Service was first class, food was delicious. We chose the banquet so we could try various dishes, we weren't disappointed! The Caramel infused pork belly was to die for with the black vinegar to compensate for the sweetness! The beef curry was so succulent as was the spicy rockling! Would highly recommend this restaurant!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albert S, Manager at Red Spice Road QV, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Thanks for the review Cathy,
Yes, we love the Pork Belly too and are glad you enjoyed it! We strive to deliver excellent service and I'm glad we did not disappoint.
Hope to see you again here soon.
Kind regards,
Albert Sikkens, Restaurant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
7
Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

I was so looking forward to my meal here due to my previous visit however I was very disappointed due to lack of serving size for the small plates and the main meal was just warm enough to eat. Sorry but won't be back again.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albert S, Manager at Red Spice Road QV, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Hi there,
Thank you for your review. We are sincerely sorry that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us especially on your birthday. If you could please email me at albert@redspiceqv.com I would like to discuss the matter with you further.

Kind regards,
Albert, Restaurant Manager at Red Spice QV

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

Had dinner here and the food was definitely up to its usual standard. The drinks service was pretty slow; we ordered cocktails and it was a Saturday night so not unexpected, but more bar staff might have helped address this. Lamb ribs & pork belly an absolute winner.

Thank Lucy954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Spice Road QV also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Red Spice Road QV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing