We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 4:00 pm - 1:00 am
Whisky Bars & Gin Joints: Melbourne Walking Tour
12

Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Whisky & Alement
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
80
22
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
80
22
2
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2019

I visited in early March, and it was some of the best whiskey-oriented times I have ever had. Tremendous selection, and a fine set of visitors and regulars with whom to exchange views. Lachlan at the bar was tremendous. My only regret was not being able to stay longer. Ah, Melbourne, why are you so far away???

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank MinneapolisMaguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brooke_HMelbourne, Owner at Whisky & Alement, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2019

MinneapolisMaguire you're welcome back anytime! ;) Thanks for taking the time out for a little feedback, we'll be sure to pass this onto Lachlan!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2019 via mobile

After waiting some time at the door without being welcomed, we decided to sit at the bar to be on the safe side. We were then asked by the barmen whether we were seated by one of the employees. And then he said that its fine for that time but requested us to wait next time. Man... What's really the need for such an irritating action???

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank GT-martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brooke_HMelbourne, Owner at Whisky & Alement, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2019

That’s very unusual as our staff pride themselves on their customer service. We’ll pass on the feedback and hope to see you in the bar again soon. Thanks for the feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2019

came here before going out for dinner. Lovely small bar downstairs, not ideal for big groups, but 2-4 people if the space is there it’s quite cozy. They have an incredible collection/range of local and international whiskies and scotch. The wife and I ordered a cocktail each. She had the house amaro spritz, this was the best spritz cocktail I’ve ever had in my life. I ordered the Fresa de Roca (house balsamic strawberry liqueur and cragganmore 12) served in what I believe was a nic and nora glass, a beautifully made cocktail!

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank frazer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brooke_HMelbourne, Owner at Whisky & Alement, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2019

Thanks for your review Fraser! Great to hear you enjoyed your night!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2019 via mobile

Came here with friends for a nightcap and a good mate who knows his whiskey stuff.
Situated up a set of stairs this niche little bar only seats about 30 but it’s what they do and they do it well.
Was greeted by a friendly host who gave us all a copy of this extensive whiskey menu , he took time and patience to walk us through it and asked us all what we like and then made recommendations.
I Went for a boilermaker Deal , a porter beer and my favourite Talisker to accompany the bowl of pretzels.
It became clear by the rest of the clientele that this is a venue for true enthusiasts , there was many patrons in attendance that just wanted to get away from the madness in the CBD and enjoy their favourite dram.

A unique experience , an enjoyable experience.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank BundyRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 January 2019 via mobile

Whiskey bars are the new wine bar.

There’s a few places in Melbourne that claim to specialise in the product but hands down this is #1 in the city.

A group of 5 men looking for a quick nightcap after a good meal walked in and I don’t think anyone of us said a word for ten minutes. It was though we had been transported back in time and landed in whiskey paradise.

We took the option of a hand picked tasting board and could not have been more impressed. We were “interviewed” to find out what we were looking for. A good 15 mins later our guide brought over 4 amazing range and all very different. This staff member spent a lot of time going through every whiskey in great detail. Now, I’m not sure if this happens all the time but the place was busy and we were still given so much attention.
Well, a few of us did another round all completely different from the first. It was all somehow done in a relaxed style. It was like she was a professor of whiskey. Now, without sounding judgemental she was not your typical old man cigar smoking whiskey know it all you’d expect. So knowledgeable and presented so so well.
It was all fantastic. Thank you so much and we’ll be back with a cast of thousands.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank scottlopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews