We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 4:00 pm - 1:00 am
Whisky Bars & Gin Joints: Melbourne Walking Tour
12

Book in advance
from
AU$169.99
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Whisky & Alement
from AU$169.99
More Info
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
79
22
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
79
22
2
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2018

If you've never been to a Whiskey bar and imagined what one would be like with the dim lighting, funky music, comfy chairs etc you'd be bang on with this place. Best part is, it's right near China Town and the Train Station so perfection location for either a pre or post dinner tipple.

Only issue we had was there was one in our group who wasn't a drinker, but there was nothing for them, the alternatives are beer/wine, so if you've got a designated driver or non-drinker etc, not great which was a bit annoying

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank DamianW702
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brooke_HMelbourne, Owner at Whisky & Alement, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2019

Hi Damien, thank you for taking the time to post some feedback. We're currently working on a low alcoholic / no alcohol menu to ensure we have something more substantial for drivers and those not wanting to drink in general (I find myself in this situation quite a bit too!) Thanks again for your feedback! Slainte Mhah!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2018

Huge selection of whisky, if you like whisky. Not a bad atmosphere either, and they also offer some beers, and nice ones too.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank MrDavetheSarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brooke_HMelbourne, Owner at Whisky & Alement, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2019

Hi Mr Dave, Thanks for posting a review! We're always looking at ways to make your experience better, is there anything you could recommend that would help make us a 5 star venue? Most importantly we want to ensure that everyone who walks through the door feels like they're at home :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

This bar has a very large selection of whiskeys and (I think) beers. We went there for an after-dinner drink and looked only to the whiskey. The staff were very helpful and, after asking about one's preferences offered a number to choose from - this was done by sniffing from the opened bottle, not from tastings unfortunately! The whiskey I chose was excellent and the background jazz music was very good. The downside for me was the very dim interior lighting.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Great venue to relax and enjoy some exquisite whiskies. Very knowledgeable staff, very friendly and welcoming. Highly recommend for a great whisky adventure

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Milo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

My favourite bar to meet with friends. Excellent range of whiskies. The atmosphere is great from the music to the lighting

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank k00rie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews