We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location when staying in Melbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Suites Gateway
Ranked #32 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Location when staying in Melbourne”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Had a stay last week in Melbourne as I had to do some Training until late.Bed was comforatable and the room was spotless. We also got a free bottle of wine as part of a package which was chilled. I have stayed here before as our son used to be a chef at this Hotel. Good size flat screen Television with Austar.
I thought it was well located as close to train station, trams and restaurants. Good value for money for a Capital city,

Room Tip: Ask about a view as the rooms with a view are stunning, Melbourne is always beautiful at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blossie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear valued guest,
The team at Clarions Suites Gateway are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We look forward to seeing you return in the future.

Kind regards,
Kelly Matthews - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    587
    371
    90
    25
    16
See reviews for
242
403
67
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed for five nights and stay was faultless. Hotel is opposite the Crowne Casino and also nearby Melbourne Aquarium. Free City tram picks up nearby as well and walking distance to main central shops in Melbourne.
Indoor swimming pool was handy.
Breakfast was very good and in particular the attention from friendly waiting staff. Very good stay and recommended.

Room Tip: River facing rooms enable you to see the Casino and the "flames show" each evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indytv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your great comments about the hotel location, facilities and the breakfast buffet; it is always a delight to read such positive feedback. We will certainly share this with our kitchen team as we put a lot of effort in ensure we provide fresh and quality products. We look forward to welcoming you back!


Kind regards,
Kyan May - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Just got home from my stay at Clarion Gateway and I'm really pleased with my stay. I was looking for a centrally located 1br apartment but with full-service features (bar, restaurant) and Clarion delivered. The 1br apartment had everything (except a bath) - it was cosy but elegant and comfortable. Gas cooking, 2 TVs, a tiny balcony for fresh air, a washing machine etc etc. The service was great too. Cafe menu/bar menu was pretty standard, but the service was efficient. Definitely the best combination of value, service and features I've found in Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pips22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear valued guest,

It has been a great pleasure for us to host you during your last stay in Melbourne. Thank you very much for sharing your experience and for the nice words about our hotel and services. We'll be delighted to serve you again for your future stays in Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Kyan May - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

What a lovely, friendly, clean, lace this is.... Could not found a bad word to say about the place.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Joyce,
Thank you for your feedback; it is always a delight to read such positive feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to post your review and hope that we may see you again in Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Kelly Matthews - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turriff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The Clarion is in an excellent location for exploring Melbourne. There are fantastic views from front facing rooms of the city and the river. Staff were very helpful, friendly and courteous. Room was spotless and comfortable with handy tea making facilities etc. We thought the washing/drying room was such a practical addition, especially for travellers coming from as far afield as Scotland! Next time we visit Oz we'll pack less and take home more! Hotel Manager took seriously a suggestion on my feedback form and I have had really pleasant contact with hotel personnel since! I would certainly stay at the Clarion again if back in Melbourne.

Room Tip: Higher floors and front facing rooms with a river view are worth asking for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear Grace,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Clarion Suites Gateway! We really appreciate your positive comments about our location, room, and staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne with a lighter luggage!

Kind regards,
Kyan May - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#33 of 160 in Melbourne
182 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 160 in Melbourne
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#30 of 160 in Melbourne
1,801 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Property: Clarion Suites Gateway
Address: 1 William St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): $153 - $344
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Choice Australia, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion
Clarion Suites Gateway Melbourne, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing