We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clarion Suites Gateway
Nearby Hotels
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 124
USD 104
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Best Western Melbourne City(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 96
USD 78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 278
USD 177
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 177
USD 108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crown Metropol Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Art Series - The Blackman(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 222
USD 142
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Oaks On William(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 162
USD 107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,160)
Filter reviews
1,160 results
Traveller rating
616
400
98
27
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
616
400
98
27
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyarra rivercrown casinogreat locationa river view roomone bedroom suitefull kitchentrain noiseflinders sttrain linewashing machinesouth bankdouble glazingthe sofa bedshort walksmall balconylight sleeperroom service
Filter
Updating list...
717 - 722 of 1,160 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed for five nights and stay was faultless. Hotel is opposite the Crowne Casino and also nearby Melbourne Aquarium. Free City tram picks up nearby as well and walking distance to main central shops in Melbourne.
Indoor swimming pool was handy.
Breakfast was very good and in particular the attention from friendly waiting staff. Very good stay and recommended.

Room Tip: River facing rooms enable you to see the Casino and the "flames show" each evening.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indytv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your great comments about the hotel location, facilities and the breakfast buffet; it is always a delight to read such positive feedback. We will certainly share this with our kitchen team as we put a lot of effort in ensure we provide fresh and quality products. We look forward to welcoming you back!


Kind regards,
Kyan May - Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Just got home from my stay at Clarion Gateway and I'm really pleased with my stay. I was looking for a centrally located 1br apartment but with full-service features (bar, restaurant) and Clarion delivered. The 1br apartment had everything (except a bath) - it was cosy but elegant and comfortable. Gas cooking, 2 TVs, a tiny balcony for fresh air, a washing machine etc etc. The service was great too. Cafe menu/bar menu was pretty standard, but the service was efficient. Definitely the best combination of value, service and features I've found in Melbourne.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pips22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Dear valued guest,

It has been a great pleasure for us to host you during your last stay in Melbourne. Thank you very much for sharing your experience and for the nice words about our hotel and services. We'll be delighted to serve you again for your future stays in Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Kyan May - Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

What a lovely, friendly, clean, lace this is.... Could not found a bad word to say about the place.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Dear Joyce,
Thank you for your feedback; it is always a delight to read such positive feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to post your review and hope that we may see you again in Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Kelly Matthews - Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The Clarion is in an excellent location for exploring Melbourne. There are fantastic views from front facing rooms of the city and the river. Staff were very helpful, friendly and courteous. Room was spotless and comfortable with handy tea making facilities etc. We thought the washing/drying room was such a practical addition, especially for travellers coming from as far afield as Scotland! Next time we visit Oz we'll pack less and take home more! Hotel Manager took seriously a suggestion on my feedback form and I have had really pleasant contact with hotel personnel since! I would certainly stay at the Clarion again if back in Melbourne.

Room Tip: Higher floors and front facing rooms with a river view are worth asking for!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Dear Grace,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Clarion Suites Gateway! We really appreciate your positive comments about our location, room, and staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne with a lighter luggage!

Kind regards,
Kyan May - Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I recently visited from the US with my wife and 2 small children...We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Clarion Suites Gateway...the staff was always friendly and helpful. The room (1 bedroom suite) had an incredible river view, and was very clean and modern. We especially appreciated having the washer/dryer in the unit...when we got home after 2 weeks in Australia, we had bags of clean clothes. Instead of buying the detergent at the front desk for $2/load, we walked to the grocery store and bought a box for $4. The location is excellent...easy to catch public transit and very near the activities. The pool was also great. I can't speak highly enough about our stay, and I would not hesitate to return. The only suggestion that I have for them is to upgrade wireless internet to include the rooms and not just the lobby.

Room Tip: Get one with a washer/dryer if you have kids.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClayKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Dear ClayKaz,

The team at Clarions Suites Gateway are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. As a measure of improvement we hope to be rolling-out a wi-fi solution this year and we look forward to seeing you return in the future.

Kind regards,
Kelly Matthews - Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews