We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Clarion Suites Gateway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Suites Gateway
Ranked #33 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I recently visited from the US with my wife and 2 small children...We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Clarion Suites Gateway...the staff was always friendly and helpful. The room (1 bedroom suite) had an incredible river view, and was very clean and modern. We especially appreciated having the washer/dryer in the unit...when we got home after 2 weeks in Australia, we had bags of clean clothes. Instead of buying the detergent at the front desk for $2/load, we walked to the grocery store and bought a box for $4. The location is excellent...easy to catch public transit and very near the activities. The pool was also great. I can't speak highly enough about our stay, and I would not hesitate to return. The only suggestion that I have for them is to upgrade wireless internet to include the rooms and not just the lobby.

Room Tip: Get one with a washer/dryer if you have kids.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClayKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Dear ClayKaz,

The team at Clarions Suites Gateway are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. As a measure of improvement we hope to be rolling-out a wi-fi solution this year and we look forward to seeing you return in the future.

Kind regards,
Kelly Matthews - Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,093)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Suites Gateway
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

671 - 675 of 1,093 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2012

The Clarion was the first hotel we checked into on our first trip to Australia. Check in was easy. Staff VERY nice and helpful. We had a very nice room overlooking the Yarra River. This hotel rooms very clean. Nice pool, nice breakfast included in our four day stay. Internet available at the hotel too. It was a very good location to get around Melbourne! No need for a car here! You are in walking distance of the free trams and other transportation. Across the street is the Melbourne Aquarium, Crown Casino and many places to eat on Southbank. Walking up to Federation Square is a few blocks away and alot of shopping. The information center is there too and they are so helpful with anything you need to know about Melbourne. Suggest you take a bus ride to St. Kilda's, just a little out of Melbourne. Beautifull town with gorgeous beach, beachside resturants, shopping. The Clarion is a nice hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Hope to return sometime...

Room Tip: We had a nice view of the river but would of loved a balcony as some rooms have, we love to sit out...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen263W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Dear Eileen,
It is pleasing to receive positive feedback and we are glad you enjoyed the location and our hospitality, may we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Clarion Suites Gateway when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Kelly Matthews - Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I recently visited melbourne & stayed at the Clarion. It is a regular stay for us as we find it friendly, clean & reliable as well as convenient to Southbank & the City, Docklands & transport hubs.

Depending on timing of our visits, prices can be very reasonable too.

Room Tip: Stay away from anything ending in 81 as that is next to the lifts. Best rooms are with views over t...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Dear Gary,
It has been a great pleasure for us to host you during your last stay in Melbourne. We’d like to thank you for your continued patronage and are happy to hear positive feedback from your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Clarion Suites Gateway in the future.

Kind regards,
Kyan May - Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Second time at the clarion gateway. Excellent location, great staff especially the restaurant great rooms and quiet - being so close to the river and railway you would never know they were there. Planning the next trip and bringing a couple of friends. Can Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Dear John,
The team at Clarions Suites Gateway are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Indeed, our bedroom is double glazed to ensure guest has a comfortable sleep. We’d like to thank you for your patronage and we hope to welcome you back for another stay very soon!

Kind regards,
Kyan May - Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I was looking forward to staying at Clarion Suites Gateway again, and I was NOT disappointed. Again I was impressed by the service very high standards), the friendly and professional staff and the location. Being so close to the CBD and having a view over Yarra River! What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hlhbDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Dear valued guest,
Thank you for staying with Clarion Suites Gateway again. It is lovely to have you return to our hotel and we are delighted to read such positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Clarion Suites Gateway in the near future.

Kind regards,
Kyan May - Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#23 of 160 in Melbourne
193 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#6 of 160 in Melbourne
642 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 160 in Melbourne
1,546 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#30 of 160 in Melbourne
1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Address: 1 William St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $151 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Choice Australia, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion
Clarion Suites Gateway Melbourne, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing