We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hostel :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Greenhouse Backpacker
GreenLeadersGold level
Zurrieq, Malta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Hostel :)”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

First hostel in Melbourne I stayed in & i'm so glad I chose this one!! It's centrally located, clean and definitely secure! Nice big kitchen, welcoming communal area and of course the roof top where I met some lovely people :) Pub nits & pasta nits included! Not to mention the helpful staff throughout!! Free Wi-fi & best rooms are on the 4th floor especially the corner ones where you get heaps of light, which of course you can block out when you want to! Bathrooms were cleaned regularly and hot water was never an issue, no matter how full the hostel was! Book in advance to avoid disappointment. Will definitely return !!

Room Tip: 4th floor so you get wi-fi in your room ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bertie_29_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    157
    98
    29
    22
See reviews for
12
77
185
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I have stayed at 12 diff hostels across Oz and this is by far the best, clean room, the beds are sooo comfortable and sturdy as in if i roll over i don't move the person below me, the social areas are brilliant too with the massive TV room. I Defiantly recommend this hostel!

Room Tip: Room with a Window and not right in front of the shower rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DippyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rovereto, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Really good experience! This was my first hostel in Melbourne. Friendly staff, nice and open communal area, big kitchen and security. Free wi-fi connection but really slow during busy hours. The room was spacious with shelves, lockers and space on the floor.
The only bad aspect to me is cleanliness, but this also depend on users!

Room Tip: If you're a girl traveling alone, choose the female dorms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraEvaLuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achnasheen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Friendly staff,good security.Place gets a little noisy now and again,but so what,it's a hostel.
My grouses--
1.Constant music in the common area/lounge.Annoying when using internet,having to listen to Radiohead or worse.
2.Poor internet connection,which I think is probably just lack of band width,but needs sorting.

otherwise --I had a great stay and am currently trying to re-book. Thanks again guys.
Fraser Gray

Room Tip: I believe lower level rooms might be a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fraser G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan L, Public Relations Manager at The Greenhouse Backpacker, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Hi Fraser,

Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I arrived in the evening and was checked in by 2 guys who were extremely helpful with my questions! The room itself was spacious with shelves, lockers and lots of floor space. The lights are all on timers so there is no wasting of power, each bed has its own reading lamp, the bathrooms were clean clean clean and it was good to know the cleaning times (when the bathrooms are closed)
The roof top was a whole other experience! There are deck chairs, covered areas, pot plants, tables and benchs; all in all very relaxing and a great way to meet other people.
The location was one of the best things about this place, set just off one of the main city streets but still quiet when you wanted to sleep.
One of the best places I have stayed. Well done guys, thanks for a great weekend.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room away from the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cado_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#5 of 133 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#19 of 133 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#9 of 133 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Home at The Mansion
#48 of 133 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Central Business District
King Street Backpackers
King Street Backpackers
#104 of 133 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenhouse Backpacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenhouse Backpacker

Property: The Greenhouse Backpacker
Address: 228 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 133 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price range (per night): $31 - $99
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greenhouse Backpackers is located in the heart of the Melbourne CBD with Flinders Street Station, Federation Square and famous cafe filled laneways less than a five minute walk away.Guests are welcomed with inclusions such as Free Daily Breakfast, Free Unlimited Internet 24/7, Free Walking Tour, Free Dinner Tuesdays, Free Activities and more.Get the inside information on the sights of Melbourne on our half-day walking tour, hear the tunes of local DJ's and bands on our pub crawl, taste the market fresh ingredients in our Free Tuesday dinners.If you are looking for even more tours and trips, see our in house Fully Licensed Travel Agency for expert experience and the best deals on trips around Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Greenhouse Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenhouse Backpacker Hotel Melbourne
The Greenhouse Backpacker Melbourne, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing