We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Greenhouse Backpacker
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Melbourne on Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 148*
USD 136*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 227*
USD 138*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
USD 143*
USD 129*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 106*
USD 103*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 82*
USD 76*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 265*
USD 190*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Oaks On William(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 144*
USD 114*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
USD 320*
USD 257*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 254*
USD 204*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 156*
USD 125*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (445)
Filter reviews
445 results
Traveller rating
111
171
104
33
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
171
104
33
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfastfree walkingcommon roomhostel offerstour deskfree pastafederation squaregreat locationcleaned regularlybed dormcommon areasflinders lanekey cardenjoyed my stayvisit melbournelounge areayarra river
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
263 - 268 of 445 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I have stayed at 12 diff hostels across Oz and this is by far the best, clean room, the beds are sooo comfortable and sturdy as in if i roll over i don't move the person below me, the social areas are brilliant too with the massive TV room. I Defiantly recommend this hostel!

Room Tip: Room with a Window and not right in front of the shower rooms!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DippyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Really good experience! This was my first hostel in Melbourne. Friendly staff, nice and open communal area, big kitchen and security. Free wi-fi connection but really slow during busy hours. The room was spacious with shelves, lockers and space on the floor.
The only bad aspect to me is cleanliness, but this also depend on users!

Room Tip: If you're a girl traveling alone, choose the female dorms.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaraEvaLuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Friendly staff,good security.Place gets a little noisy now and again,but so what,it's a hostel.
My grouses--
1.Constant music in the common area/lounge.Annoying when using internet,having to listen to Radiohead or worse.
2.Poor internet connection,which I think is probably just lack of band width,but needs sorting.

otherwise --I had a great stay and am currently trying to re-book. Thanks again guys.
Fraser Gray

Room Tip: I believe lower level rooms might be a bit quieter.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fraser G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan L, Public Relations Manager at The Greenhouse Backpacker, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Hi Fraser,

Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I arrived in the evening and was checked in by 2 guys who were extremely helpful with my questions! The room itself was spacious with shelves, lockers and lots of floor space. The lights are all on timers so there is no wasting of power, each bed has its own reading lamp, the bathrooms were clean clean clean and it was good to know the cleaning times (when the bathrooms are closed)
The roof top was a whole other experience! There are deck chairs, covered areas, pot plants, tables and benchs; all in all very relaxing and a great way to meet other people.
The location was one of the best things about this place, set just off one of the main city streets but still quiet when you wanted to sleep.
One of the best places I have stayed. Well done guys, thanks for a great weekend.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room away from the bathroom.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cado_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

The place has a very good reputation and having stayed there I could see all its pluses. Well-organized and super friendly staff, travel agent in the lobby giving excellet advice ( just loved the Great Ocean Tour with Go West), clean rooms and bathrooms.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews