We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Ever”
Review of Elizabeth Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elizabeth Hostel
Ranked #114 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst Ever”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

WORST place I've ever stayed! Booked for 3nights for Grand Prix, only lasted 1 had to find somewhere else it was that BAD. Reception shut at 11pm, because we gota late flight and got there after reception was shut nearly got turned onto the steet for the 1st night (which would of been an upgrade) Security guard was a complete p*ick, staff were useless couldnt speak english, sheets were dirty, graffiti in rooms, people doing drugs, the list really does go on! Would strongly urge no1 to stay there, particulary FEMALES no matter how large your group! Better off in the Mcdonalds opposite. If this place caught light it would do it a favour. I used to think people wrote bad reviews to spite some places but every bad review you read about this place is ACCURATE itsthe good 1's for this place that are lies. I have photo's if you need further confirmation haplessbackpacker@yahoo.com This place needs to be shut down!

Room Tip: Do NOT stay here! I cannot stress that enough. haplessbackpacker@yahoo.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hapless b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    13
    8
    18
    34
See reviews for
2
18
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

how is this place allowed to stay opened,its a crack house,people openly doing drugs,smoking,fighting at night high on drugs,i was told by dutch guy of his roomates smoking meth in his room late at night,the kitchen has nothing worth useing,lots of old people living here of the dole,drinking all day,reception is at the asian shop hext door,police had been here 2 times in 1 week,sleep in the street its safer

Room Tip: their is no good rooms in this hostel,sleep in the street its safer
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paddy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

this place is a homeless shelter. drunks and drug addicts everywhere they steal your stuff beg for smokes and money.there was people going to the toilet in the tv room.fights everynite(no security).men going to the female toilet and shower.there was a drug overdose a suicide and a stabbing in the week i stayed there.reception dosent speak english.NOT RECOMMENDED. SINGLE FEMALES STAY AWAY FOR YOUR OWN SAFTEY.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank brett94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Dont ever stay there. Even if you book before they dont know about you booking the room. In the end we had to stay in single room, still had to pay 70 dollars, doesnt make sense. Reception is in the shop, if you get after closing hours you have to enter the place behind the fridge. The room wasnt great either, hair on the linen, carpet wasnt cleaned for while and fridge either. If you go to the bathroom its liked being 30 years back, everything is yellow and not clean or it doesnt work. So wish good luck if you stay there.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hotbackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2011

I'm writing this review following a sleepless night at this place last night. I write negative reviews where I feel they are justified, but I believe this may be the first time I have ever actually told people not to stay somewhere.

It is absolutely filthy.

Any place where 'reception' is in the fake 7/11 next door screams 'cowboy outfit'. Had we not been desperate, having driven the Great Ocean Road for 2 days to get to Melbourne and finding practically nothing available - I feel we would have enough sense to walk away and not waste the $28 for the room.

Check in - your passport or $30 for the key deposit? Neither a desirable option, the most expensive key deposit we've encountered on our travels. One suspects so many people leave once they've seen the state of the rooms, they don't even bother to officially check out. Once we'd checked in, we lugged our stuff up the stairs. The first thing we smelt was chinese food. Then up to room 203, the smell was horrendours. If I say it smelt like feet, I don't feel it will ever realistically convey just how bad the smell was. Perhaps feet that hadn't been washed for a year and had been in the same pair of socks and shoes through all weathers. Basically the worst feet ever. We chucked our stuff in the room, looked disappointedly at the sorry bunkbeds and questionable linen and then sat in McDonalds for about 4 hours.

When we returned to the room to 'sleep' we discovered it was riddled with cockroaches. Now, whilst it may be the best advice not to kill them because they spread eggs when you squash them - it's hard to take this advice when they're sprinting all over the walls and floors. So, we spent the night on guard, killing ones that neared the beds and we also did a very good job of covering up one of the holes they seemed to be entering and exiting the room through. We asked to be moved but apparently there were no other rooms - I doubt this very much.

Someone had been sick in one of the shower rooms EVERYWHERE. It absolutely stunk. Someone else had spilt a tub of ice cream down the stairs.

There were 2 crackheads checking in as we popped out also. Classy.

Even if you are desperate, sitting in McDonalds on the Wifi trying to find somewhere, ANYWHERE, don't stay here.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KezzyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
#106 of 160 in Melbourne
418 reviews
Central Business District
Jasper Hotel
Jasper Hotel
#71 of 160 in Melbourne
1,044 reviews
Central Business District
Europa Melbourne
Europa Melbourne
#58 of 137 in Melbourne
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Discovery Melbourne
Discovery Melbourne
#105 of 137 in Melbourne
477 reviews
Central Business District
Milano Serviced Apartments
Milano Serviced Apartments
#39 of 137 in Melbourne
306 reviews
Home at The Mansion
#44 of 137 in Melbourne
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabeth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth Hostel

Property: Elizabeth Hostel
Address: 490 -494 Elizabeth St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price range (per night): $18 - $88
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Elizabeth Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elizabeth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Hotel Melbourne
Elizabeth Hostel Melbourne, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing