We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
United Backpackers Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

The United Backpackers hostel is a place i would recommend to others. It is well situated in the city. You can easily do everything by feet or take the free tram.
The rooms are big and clean and you have your owne chargepoint and light.
The bar downstairs is very cool to have a drink and meet fellow travellers.
The staff the reception could work faster but are happy to help you.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank benjlans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Hello there!
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we are so pleased when guests chose to do so! Absolutely thrilled to hear of your positive experiences whilst staying with us; It is our mission to ensure our guests have a wonderful time on all levels while bunking at United.
All the best for the future,
The United Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (608)
There are newer reviews for United Backpackers Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 119 of 610 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2017

I chose a 12-bed female dorm and the guests were fantastic, the room and bathrooms were clean. The hostel's bar and common area were the highlight of my stay there. I got to meet really interesting people from all over the world. If I ever come to Melbourne again, this is definitely where I will stay. Will recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 593sophiat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a positive review.

We are delighted that you had a great time here and met some awesome people.

Cheers

The United Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Lovely hostel, very central, perfect to explore Melbourne. Very clean, friendly staff, awesome bar downstairs. Beds were great with individual plug sockets and little lights.
Would definately recommend. Great Peterpans travel desk in the hostel too.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

hank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a positive review.

We are delighted to hear that we are ticking all the boxes because that makes us really happy.

Cheers

The United Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

I can recommend this hostel to all backpackers who want to visit Melbourne. It's located in the CBD and next to a tram station, which are free in the CBD (also a subway station is in front of the hostel). I stayed in two different 12 bed dorm for several days. The rooms and facilities are clean and got vacuumed every day. Each bunk bed got two lockers (so one per person). The kitchen is well equipped and very big. There are free pancakes every morning as well. Also there's a bar in the basement (I can't review it, because i wasn't there). The staff is very friendly and helpful. You can also store your luggage for free in the luggage room if you're arriving to early for check in or to keep it there until 9pm on the day you're checking out. I would definitely recommend this hostel!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

hank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a positive review.

We are delighted that you had a great time here with us.

We hope that you come back and stay again soon.

Cheers

The United Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Although I only stayed one night, I wish it could have been more! Had a private ensuite room which was more like what you'd find in a funky budget hotel than a hostel. Location is unbeatable, staff are friendly and helpful. Anyone looking to open a hostel in Australia should come and stay here to see how it's done!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, Front Office Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Hi Greg P,

Thank you for the loving review! Absolutely loving this, hope to see you again!

Happy travels,
Casey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,636 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#67 of 160 in Melbourne
5,033 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#6 of 160 in Melbourne
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to United Backpackers Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about United Backpackers Melbourne

Address: 250 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Elephant Backpackers)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 145 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: $35 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — United Backpackers Melbourne 2*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and find out why travellers voted United Backpackers Australia's best hostel at the Adventure Travel Awards in 2014! It's no secret we have the best location in town right opposite Flinders Street Station and only opening in 2013 we offer you brand new facilities, heaps of sweet spaces including our funky basement bar and most importantly great value for money. Our hostel is full of personality with Melbourne's laneway culture, funky decor and quirky art throughout. All this is served up with a great atmosphere, amazing staff, cool events, top notch security and the best pillows in town! Us in a nutshell: • Accommodation for 290 travellers over 3 levels • FREE Wi-Fi in common areas • Every bed has its own power-point, reading light and locker • Sparking clean bathrooms cleaned around the clock • Designer kitchen & dining room overlooking Flinders Station with ovens and heaps of equipment, hot plates and storage • Underground Chill Lounge open 24 hours • Lost & Found our cool as, Melbourne style basement bar open 7 days • Funky TV Lounge filled with beanbags & free DVD hire • 24 Reception manned with a rock star reception team of Melbourne locals • Top class security with swipe card access, lockers in all rooms & CCTV • Cool free events to show you the real Melbourne experience • Guest laundry open 24/7 • Free luggage storage We have a variety of accommodation options to choose from so whether you are looking to share a dorm from 4 to 12 beds filled with your newest friends, or to splash out on one of our private ensuite rooms, you will find it at United Backpackers! All rooms have: • Lockers • Bedside light and power point for your charging pleasure • Lots of space • High quality, comfy beds and linen • Choose between shared or ensuite bathrooms • Swipe card access • Heating & fans (private ensuite rooms have AC) • Cleaning servicing the rooms daily ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Ctrip TA and HostelWorld so you can book your United Backpackers Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Backpackers Hotel Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing