We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
United Backpackers Melbourne
Nearby Hotels
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 125
USD 95
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 207
USD 173
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 135
USD 123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 139/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 167
USD 108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 200
USD 146
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Langham, Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 283
USD 185
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crown Metropol Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 280
USD 184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Melbourne City(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 86
USD 63
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 77/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 147
USD 121
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Oaks On William(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 132
USD 91
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (743)
Filter reviews
743 results
Traveller rating
375
254
81
21
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
375
254
81
21
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon areasfree pancakesbar downstairsbed female dormfree wifibig kitchengreat locationopposite flinders street stationtop bunkcommon roomevery morningfirst floorrooms are cleanfed squaregreat facilitiesair conditioningcentral location
Filter
Updating list...
231 - 236 of 743 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Although I only stayed one night, I wish it could have been more! Had a private ensuite room which was more like what you'd find in a funky budget hotel than a hostel. Location is unbeatable, staff are friendly and helpful. Anyone looking to open a hostel in Australia should come and stay here to see how it's done!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, Front Office Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Hi Greg P,

Thank you for the loving review! Absolutely loving this, hope to see you again!

Happy travels,
Casey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

The hostel has got a perfect Infrastructure. Everything is clean. A nice bar in the Base floor. I enjoyed the stay there. You reach every good place from Melbourne in a couple minutes. Public transport right in front of the hostel.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank Urs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Thank you so much for your positive review, we are delighted to hear that you had a great time staying with us.

The United Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017

Room: Clean
Kitchen: Big
Staff: Friendly
Showers: Clean (and many available)

Overall, this hostel was the best I've ever stayed in so far!

Free pancakes in the morning is a plus.

They have cool events happening every night.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kev604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Thank you so much for your positive review, we are delighted to hear that you had a great time staying with us.

The United Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

This is by far the best hostel I've ever stayed at. From the rooms, to the guests, to all the little extras they do that no other hostel does they make the top of my hostel list. Things like free morning pancakes every morning, the kitchen and accessible when you need it to be, reliable wifi, front desk 24/hours, super helpful friendly staff, wicked kitchen, and the BEST LOCATION EVER.

Room Tip: perhaps stay on the first floor because you can get free wifi there
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twoducks2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Thank you so much for your positive review, we are delighted to hear that you had a great time staying with us.

The United Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

Whenever I have a function or something I want to do in Melbourne I always stay at United Backpackers. Inexpensive good quality. Close to Flinders Street Station.
Friendly, helpful, considerate staff who know about Melbourne and what to do.
Even have their own free taco nights I really enjoy myself always meet new girls who have been travelling from different countries.

Room Tip: those to flinders street station are always good
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seaton29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Thank you so much for your positive review, we are delighted to hear that you had a great time staying with us.

The United Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews