We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travelled the world and best hostel I've ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
United Backpackers Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2017

This is by far the best hostel I've ever stayed at. From the rooms, to the guests, to all the little extras they do that no other hostel does they make the top of my hostel list. Things like free morning pancakes every morning, the kitchen and accessible when you need it to be, reliable wifi, front desk 24/hours, super helpful friendly staff, wicked kitchen, and the BEST LOCATION EVER.

Room Tip: perhaps stay on the first floor because you can get free wifi there
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twoducks2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Thank you so much for your positive review, we are delighted to hear that you had a great time staying with us.

The United Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (603)
There are newer reviews for United Backpackers Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 120 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2017

Whenever I have a function or something I want to do in Melbourne I always stay at United Backpackers. Inexpensive good quality. Close to Flinders Street Station.
Friendly, helpful, considerate staff who know about Melbourne and what to do.
Even have their own free taco nights I really enjoy myself always meet new girls who have been travelling from different countries.

Room Tip: those to flinders street station are always good
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seaton29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Thank you so much for your positive review, we are delighted to hear that you had a great time staying with us.

The United Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

I stayed in a 8 bed dorm. There was no window and air condition was turn off. Therefor the room was smelly and dark. Reception refused to turn on the air conditioning. Therefor the smell of 8 people who stayed in the room for couple of days accompanied me during my stay. Not pleasant at all.

There were couple of showers on the floor (3rd) so I never had to wait. They were cleanish.

There is free wifi in the common areas, but you have to pay for wifi in the rooms.

Staff seemed not to be eager to work in a hostel. But I guess for a hostel this size everything is business, even the short talk during check-in and check-out.

Would not sleep here a second time.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

We are very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your time here with us. I wonder if you might tell me abit more about the person from reception who refused to turn on the aircon. Its strange because all of the remote controls for the internal rooms are already in the rooms hung up on the wall. It is very out of character for anyone on our team, We very often get reviews about how kind and friendly our team are. My email address is suzie@nomadsworld.com.

Thank you for the positives of the showers being clean and that there were plenty for the amount of people on that floor.

You should come and stay with us again, I promise you wouldn't be disappointed. If you email me I could sort you out a free upgrade.

Thank you for taking the time to review us,
The United Crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

The location is stunning, in the heart of the city, you can easily go everywhere.
The hostel is quite big, you can always meet new people, big common space and super friendly staff.
There is a bar inside with cheap drinks but good to create the right atmosphere.
The only problem is with the free wifi..too slow...

Room Tip: good service
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RamaMoscabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property.

We really love what we do here and are grateful that you told us we are doing good.

Free Wifi, it is slow we are currently in the process in getting new cables laid which will make all the difference. We do have paid wifi, but it is much stronger than the free one.

Hope you are enjoying your travels

The Unuted Crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

I am leaving a review for Damon because he is a nice man and it doesn't matter if he's infertile because it's about his personality and even if he was impotent too my friend would still at least go for Mexican food with him and then just sit and smile until the Mexican food digested and then they could compare the outcome. Also I think that the negative review that someone left about there being no soap in the showers and the beds not being attached to the walls is really pedantic and they don't deserve to communicate with the likes of Damon so it's for the best that they didn't like the hostel.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Thank you so much for your review on Damon, his personality and of course the Mexican food.

We are grateful for everything.

Thank you,
The United Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,618 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#67 of 160 in Melbourne
5,009 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to United Backpackers Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about United Backpackers Melbourne

Address: 250 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Elephant Backpackers)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 145 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: $35 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — United Backpackers Melbourne 2*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and find out why travellers voted United Backpackers Australia's best hostel at the Adventure Travel Awards in 2014! It's no secret we have the best location in town right opposite Flinders Street Station and only opening in 2013 we offer you brand new facilities, heaps of sweet spaces including our funky basement bar and most importantly great value for money. Our hostel is full of personality with Melbourne's laneway culture, funky decor and quirky art throughout. All this is served up with a great atmosphere, amazing staff, cool events, top notch security and the best pillows in town! Us in a nutshell: • Accommodation for 290 travellers over 3 levels • FREE Wi-Fi in common areas • Every bed has its own power-point, reading light and locker • Sparking clean bathrooms cleaned around the clock • Designer kitchen & dining room overlooking Flinders Station with ovens and heaps of equipment, hot plates and storage • Underground Chill Lounge open 24 hours • Lost & Found our cool as, Melbourne style basement bar open 7 days • Funky TV Lounge filled with beanbags & free DVD hire • 24 Reception manned with a rock star reception team of Melbourne locals • Top class security with swipe card access, lockers in all rooms & CCTV • Cool free events to show you the real Melbourne experience • Guest laundry open 24/7 • Free luggage storage We have a variety of accommodation options to choose from so whether you are looking to share a dorm from 4 to 12 beds filled with your newest friends, or to splash out on one of our private ensuite rooms, you will find it at United Backpackers! All rooms have: • Lockers • Bedside light and power point for your charging pleasure • Lots of space • High quality, comfy beds and linen • Choose between shared or ensuite bathrooms • Swipe card access • Heating & fans (private ensuite rooms have AC) • Cleaning servicing the rooms daily ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your United Backpackers Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Backpackers Hotel Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing