We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
United Backpackers Melbourne
Nearby Hotels
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 105
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 142/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 167
USD 107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
The Langham, Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 186
USD 176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crown Metropol Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Oaks On William(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Best Western Melbourne City(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 74
USD 63
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 76/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (743)
Filter reviews
743 results
Traveller rating
375
254
81
21
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
375
254
81
21
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon areasfree pancakesbar downstairsbed female dormfree wifibig kitchengreat locationopposite flinders street stationtop bunkcommon roomevery morningfirst floorrooms are cleanfed squaregreat facilitiesair conditioningcentral location
Filter
Updating list...
236 - 241 of 743 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

I stayed in a 8 bed dorm. There was no window and air condition was turn off. Therefor the room was smelly and dark. Reception refused to turn on the air conditioning. Therefor the smell of 8 people who stayed in the room for couple of days accompanied me during my stay. Not pleasant at all.

There were couple of showers on the floor (3rd) so I never had to wait. They were cleanish.

There is free wifi in the common areas, but you have to pay for wifi in the rooms.

Staff seemed not to be eager to work in a hostel. But I guess for a hostel this size everything is business, even the short talk during check-in and check-out.

Would not sleep here a second time.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

We are very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your time here with us. I wonder if you might tell me abit more about the person from reception who refused to turn on the aircon. Its strange because all of the remote controls for the internal rooms are already in the rooms hung up on the wall. It is very out of character for anyone on our team, We very often get reviews about how kind and friendly our team are. My email address is suzie@nomadsworld.com.

Thank you for the positives of the showers being clean and that there were plenty for the amount of people on that floor.

You should come and stay with us again, I promise you wouldn't be disappointed. If you email me I could sort you out a free upgrade.

Thank you for taking the time to review us,
The United Crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

The location is stunning, in the heart of the city, you can easily go everywhere.
The hostel is quite big, you can always meet new people, big common space and super friendly staff.
There is a bar inside with cheap drinks but good to create the right atmosphere.
The only problem is with the free wifi..too slow...

Room Tip: good service
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RamaMoscabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property.

We really love what we do here and are grateful that you told us we are doing good.

Free Wifi, it is slow we are currently in the process in getting new cables laid which will make all the difference. We do have paid wifi, but it is much stronger than the free one.

Hope you are enjoying your travels

The Unuted Crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

I am leaving a review for Damon because he is a nice man and it doesn't matter if he's infertile because it's about his personality and even if he was impotent too my friend would still at least go for Mexican food with him and then just sit and smile until the Mexican food digested and then they could compare the outcome. Also I think that the negative review that someone left about there being no soap in the showers and the beds not being attached to the walls is really pedantic and they don't deserve to communicate with the likes of Damon so it's for the best that they didn't like the hostel.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Thank you so much for your review on Damon, his personality and of course the Mexican food.

We are grateful for everything.

Thank you,
The United Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017

4 bedroom shared
perfect location, good accomodation, fast check-in, good people, good price.
I really recommend this place for any people looking for the cheapest and best solution (quality-price) in the city centre.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Federico A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a positive review.

We are delighted that you think we are great on so many levels.

We hope you are enjoying the rest of your holiday.

The United Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

The hostel is located close to everything you need; tram station, restaurants and bar. The reception staff was very helpful. Dorms were OK, quite warm since there wasn't any air conditioning. Also the garbage truck passes by outside every morning making a lot of noise, so bring earplugs. Kitchen is okay as well, serving free pancakes every morning. Bar had good prices and nice activities every day.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Alexandra U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a positive review.

Sorry to hear about the garbage truck, we do offer earplugs down at reception.
We often talk to the council about this noise and quite often it is better, you may have caught them on a bad day.

On the plus side we are delighted to hear that you liked it here.

We hope you are enjoying the rest of your holiday and will visit again soon.

The United Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews