We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
United Backpackers Melbourne
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 125
USD 111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 178
USD 127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 142/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Langham, Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 157
USD 106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Best Western Melbourne City(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 167
USD 107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 138
USD 111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Oaks On William(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 144
USD 102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Crown Metropol Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 231
USD 183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 252
USD 225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (743)
Filter reviews
743 results
Traveller rating
375
254
81
21
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
375
254
81
21
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon areasfree pancakesbar downstairsbed female dormfree wifibig kitchengreat locationopposite flinders street stationtop bunkcommon roomevery morningfirst floorrooms are cleanfed squaregreat facilitiesair conditioningcentral location
Filter
Updating list...
238 - 243 of 743 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

I am leaving a review for Damon because he is a nice man and it doesn't matter if he's infertile because it's about his personality and even if he was impotent too my friend would still at least go for Mexican food with him and then just sit and smile until the Mexican food digested and then they could compare the outcome. Also I think that the negative review that someone left about there being no soap in the showers and the beds not being attached to the walls is really pedantic and they don't deserve to communicate with the likes of Damon so it's for the best that they didn't like the hostel.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Thank you so much for your review on Damon, his personality and of course the Mexican food.

We are grateful for everything.

Thank you,
The United Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017

4 bedroom shared
perfect location, good accomodation, fast check-in, good people, good price.
I really recommend this place for any people looking for the cheapest and best solution (quality-price) in the city centre.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Federico A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a positive review.

We are delighted that you think we are great on so many levels.

We hope you are enjoying the rest of your holiday.

The United Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

The hostel is located close to everything you need; tram station, restaurants and bar. The reception staff was very helpful. Dorms were OK, quite warm since there wasn't any air conditioning. Also the garbage truck passes by outside every morning making a lot of noise, so bring earplugs. Kitchen is okay as well, serving free pancakes every morning. Bar had good prices and nice activities every day.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Alexandra U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a positive review.

Sorry to hear about the garbage truck, we do offer earplugs down at reception.
We often talk to the council about this noise and quite often it is better, you may have caught them on a bad day.

On the plus side we are delighted to hear that you liked it here.

We hope you are enjoying the rest of your holiday and will visit again soon.

The United Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Location in the city center, really amazing.
Dorms and showers newly equipped, really nice!
Staff no helpful nor welcoming, barely trying to figure out who you are or explaining what you need to do. Big big HR probem!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank Hélène G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review.

I'm so sorry to hear that you didn't find the staff helpful, this is not often that we hear such a thing. I wonder if you might be able to give me some more information so that I can talk to the people who you didn't have a positive experience with.

My email address is suzie@nomadsworld.com

We hope you are enjoying the rest of your holiday and will visit again soon to see this situation has been dealt with.

The United Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

The dorms in this hostel are just bloody terrible. They're too small, overly crowded and unbelievably hot with absolutely no airflow. I honestly do not understand, how the hostel has obtained the high rating, it has, with dorms like these.

The best thing about the place were definitely the common areas. The kitchen is big and doubles as an OK work spot. The bar in the basement has a nice feeling to it, and there's a new event on every night of the week.

The location is as central as it gets with all that comes with that - including the bustle and hustle. Melbourne's suburbs are great, and in my opinion a lot more charming than CBD, so being in the city center wasn't really that much of a plus to me, but I can see how it would be for some.

The staff was alright. A lot of staff hang around in the common areas off duty, and it is easy to see, they're having a great time and have a great bond with each other ... But they are generally maybe a little too caught up in this to care about the guests.

The price is outrageous compared to what you get. It's really not good value for money. I mean, the fact that free wifi is not included is justcompletely ridiculous. Would definitely not stay again, unless I literally had no other option.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel.

We are sorry that you think our rooms are terrible and small. We purposely under fill our rooms by two beds to ensure that they are really spacious. It is very rare that we get bad feedback like this.

Other than the rooms, it all sounds positive, great to hear that you like the common areas, free pancake breakfast, Our big kitchen, Our nice bar, The staff and our location being as central as you can get.

Thank you,

The United Crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews