We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
United Backpackers Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2017

The location is stunning, in the heart of the city, you can easily go everywhere.
The hostel is quite big, you can always meet new people, big common space and super friendly staff.
There is a bar inside with cheap drinks but good to create the right atmosphere.
The only problem is with the free wifi..too slow...

Room Tip: good service
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RamaMoscabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property.

We really love what we do here and are grateful that you told us we are doing good.

Free Wifi, it is slow we are currently in the process in getting new cables laid which will make all the difference. We do have paid wifi, but it is much stronger than the free one.

Hope you are enjoying your travels

The Unuted Crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (603)
There are newer reviews for United Backpackers Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 123 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

I am leaving a review for Damon because he is a nice man and it doesn't matter if he's infertile because it's about his personality and even if he was impotent too my friend would still at least go for Mexican food with him and then just sit and smile until the Mexican food digested and then they could compare the outcome. Also I think that the negative review that someone left about there being no soap in the showers and the beds not being attached to the walls is really pedantic and they don't deserve to communicate with the likes of Damon so it's for the best that they didn't like the hostel.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Thank you so much for your review on Damon, his personality and of course the Mexican food.

We are grateful for everything.

Thank you,
The United Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017

4 bedroom shared
perfect location, good accomodation, fast check-in, good people, good price.
I really recommend this place for any people looking for the cheapest and best solution (quality-price) in the city centre.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Federico A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a positive review.

We are delighted that you think we are great on so many levels.

We hope you are enjoying the rest of your holiday.

The United Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

The hostel is located close to everything you need; tram station, restaurants and bar. The reception staff was very helpful. Dorms were OK, quite warm since there wasn't any air conditioning. Also the garbage truck passes by outside every morning making a lot of noise, so bring earplugs. Kitchen is okay as well, serving free pancakes every morning. Bar had good prices and nice activities every day.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Alexandra U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a positive review.

Sorry to hear about the garbage truck, we do offer earplugs down at reception.
We often talk to the council about this noise and quite often it is better, you may have caught them on a bad day.

On the plus side we are delighted to hear that you liked it here.

We hope you are enjoying the rest of your holiday and will visit again soon.

The United Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Location in the city center, really amazing.
Dorms and showers newly equipped, really nice!
Staff no helpful nor welcoming, barely trying to figure out who you are or explaining what you need to do. Big big HR probem!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank Hélène G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review.

I'm so sorry to hear that you didn't find the staff helpful, this is not often that we hear such a thing. I wonder if you might be able to give me some more information so that I can talk to the people who you didn't have a positive experience with.

My email address is suzie@nomadsworld.com

We hope you are enjoying the rest of your holiday and will visit again soon to see this situation has been dealt with.

The United Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,621 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#67 of 160 in Melbourne
5,015 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to United Backpackers Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about United Backpackers Melbourne

Address: 250 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Elephant Backpackers)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 144 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: $35 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — United Backpackers Melbourne 2*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and find out why travellers voted United Backpackers Australia's best hostel at the Adventure Travel Awards in 2014! It's no secret we have the best location in town right opposite Flinders Street Station and only opening in 2013 we offer you brand new facilities, heaps of sweet spaces including our funky basement bar and most importantly great value for money. Our hostel is full of personality with Melbourne's laneway culture, funky decor and quirky art throughout. All this is served up with a great atmosphere, amazing staff, cool events, top notch security and the best pillows in town! Us in a nutshell: • Accommodation for 290 travellers over 3 levels • FREE Wi-Fi in common areas • Every bed has its own power-point, reading light and locker • Sparking clean bathrooms cleaned around the clock • Designer kitchen & dining room overlooking Flinders Station with ovens and heaps of equipment, hot plates and storage • Underground Chill Lounge open 24 hours • Lost & Found our cool as, Melbourne style basement bar open 7 days • Funky TV Lounge filled with beanbags & free DVD hire • 24 Reception manned with a rock star reception team of Melbourne locals • Top class security with swipe card access, lockers in all rooms & CCTV • Cool free events to show you the real Melbourne experience • Guest laundry open 24/7 • Free luggage storage We have a variety of accommodation options to choose from so whether you are looking to share a dorm from 4 to 12 beds filled with your newest friends, or to splash out on one of our private ensuite rooms, you will find it at United Backpackers! All rooms have: • Lockers • Bedside light and power point for your charging pleasure • Lots of space • High quality, comfy beds and linen • Choose between shared or ensuite bathrooms • Swipe card access • Heating & fans (private ensuite rooms have AC) • Cleaning servicing the rooms daily ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your United Backpackers Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Backpackers Hotel Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing