We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellen location but no welcoming staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
United Backpackers Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellen location but no welcoming staff”
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Location in the city center, really amazing.
Dorms and showers newly equipped, really nice!
Staff no helpful nor welcoming, barely trying to figure out who you are or explaining what you need to do. Big big HR probem!

Stayed March 2017, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Hélène G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 24 March 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review.

I'm so sorry to hear that you didn't find the staff helpful, this is not often that we hear such a thing. I wonder if you might be able to give me some more information so that I can talk to the people who you didn't have a positive experience with.

My email address is suzie@nomadsworld.com

We hope you are enjoying the rest of your holiday and will visit again soon to see this situation has been dealt with.

The United Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    201
    64
    13
    9
See reviews for
3
42
370
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

The dorms in this hostel are just bloody terrible. They're too small, overly crowded and unbelievably hot with absolutely no airflow. I honestly do not understand, how the hostel has obtained the high rating, it has, with dorms like these.

The best thing about the place were definitely the common areas. The kitchen is big and doubles as an OK work spot. The bar in the basement has a nice feeling to it, and there's a new event on every night of the week.

The location is as central as it gets with all that comes with that - including the bustle and hustle. Melbourne's suburbs are great, and in my opinion a lot more charming than CBD, so being in the city center wasn't really that much of a plus to me, but I can see how it would be for some.

The staff was alright. A lot of staff hang around in the common areas off duty, and it is easy to see, they're having a great time and have a great bond with each other ... But they are generally maybe a little too caught up in this to care about the guests.

The price is outrageous compared to what you get. It's really not good value for money. I mean, the fact that free wifi is not included is justcompletely ridiculous. Would definitely not stay again, unless I literally had no other option.

Stayed March 2017, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 24 March 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel.

We are sorry that you think our rooms are terrible and small. We purposely under fill our rooms by two beds to ensure that they are really spacious. It is very rare that we get bad feedback like this.

Other than the rooms, it all sounds positive, great to hear that you like the common areas, free pancake breakfast, Our big kitchen, Our nice bar, The staff and our location being as central as you can get.

Thank you,

The United Crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2017

The location was just awesome, just behind the corner I could fine caffes, restaurants, tram stations and you can walk to Victoria market!
The bar in backpackers is really nice, kitchen as well and staff was really helpful and nice.
When it comes to rooms - they were ok and nice, but it's a hostel you know.. a lot of people and enough fresh air for everybody during a night, but I guess it's the same everywhere:)

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simona Š
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 24 March 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a positive review.

We are delighted to hear that you liked it here.

We hope you are enjoying the rest of your holiday and will visit again soon.

The United Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Great atmosphere, great location, excellent staff, decent bar, lots of events, but let down by a surprising amount of broken stuff considering it claims to offer "brand new facilities". Oh, and terrible WiFi. Aircon was broken in several rooms, many without windows. Fans broken. Had to sleep with the door wide open to make it even close to tolerable. All the ovens were broken. Dishwasher broken. 1/4 of the cookers broken. Beds were average. The "free" WiFi was basically unusable, worse than a 2G phone, and you have to pay to use it in your room. Even then it's limited to a paltry 3 megs. Nonetheless the place is clean, friendly, and the staff do their best.

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, Front Office Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 17 March 2017
Hi Yan,

Thank you for taking your time to leave us a review! Glad that you do enjoy the cleanliness, and out friendly staff.

We're sorry to know that you are disappointed about our facilities. We do have a full time maintenance team here 5 days a week. They are able to sort out most of the basic issues. However, when it comes to aircons, ovens, dishwashers are out of their hands. Those facilities do need specialist people to look after. We have arranged appointments with them, and some of them we are just waiting for the new parts to be arrival here.
The current wifi has 10M speed, and because it's shared with 100 peeps, everyone's share will be limited. We are upgrading the wifi to a better speed.

Happy Travel,
United Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Very very good hostel. Staff are friendly and accommodating. Funky decor. Great atmosphere and vibe around the place. Superb location. Great value. Only stayed one night but would readily stay again and recommend this to anyone looking for cheap, clean and central accommodation in Melbourne city centre.

Stayed March 2017, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank dannii_b17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, Front Office Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 17 March 2017
Hi Danni_b17,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We are very happy that we have met your expectations!

Happy Travel,
United Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,550 reviews
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#67 of 160 in Melbourne
4,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
1,066 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#8 of 160 in Melbourne
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to United Backpackers Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about United Backpackers Melbourne

Property: United Backpackers Melbourne
Address: 250 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Elephant Backpackers)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 142 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price range (per night): $27 - $156
Hotel Class:2 star — United Backpackers Melbourne 2*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and find out why travellers voted United Backpackers Australia's best hostel at the Adventure Travel Awards in 2014! It's no secret we have the best location in town right opposite Flinders Street Station and only opening in 2013 we offer you brand new facilities, heaps of sweet spaces including our funky basement bar and most importantly great value for money. Our hostel is full of personality with Melbourne's laneway culture, funky decor and quirky art throughout. All this is served up with a great atmosphere, amazing staff, cool events, top notch security and the best pillows in town! Us in a nutshell: • Accommodation for 290 travellers over 3 levels • FREE Wi-Fi in common areas • Every bed has its own power-point, reading light and locker • Sparking clean bathrooms cleaned around the clock • Designer kitchen & dining room overlooking Flinders Station with ovens and heaps of equipment, hot plates and storage • Underground Chill Lounge open 24 hours • Lost & Found our cool as, Melbourne style basement bar open 7 days • Funky TV Lounge filled with beanbags & free DVD hire • 24 Reception manned with a rock star reception team of Melbourne locals • Top class security with swipe card access, lockers in all rooms & CCTV • Cool free events to show you the real Melbourne experience • Guest laundry open 24/7 • Free luggage storage We have a variety of accommodation options to choose from so whether you are looking to share a dorm from 4 to 12 beds filled with your newest friends, or to splash out on one of our private ensuite rooms, you will find it at United Backpackers! All rooms have: • Lockers • Bedside light and power point for your charging pleasure • Lots of space • High quality, comfy beds and linen • Choose between shared or ensuite bathrooms • Swipe card access • Heating & fans (private ensuite rooms have AC) • Cleaning servicing the rooms daily ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your United Backpackers Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Backpackers Hotel Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing