We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
United Backpackers Melbourne
Nearby Hotels
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 104
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 246
USD 225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 122
USD 111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 173
USD 169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 177
USD 107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 123/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 138
USD 117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Oaks On William(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 140
USD 102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
The Langham, Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 279
USD 175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crown Metropol Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 231
USD 183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Melbourne City(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 88
USD 63
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 75/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (743)
Filter reviews
743 results
Traveller rating
375
254
81
21
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
375
254
81
21
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon areasfree pancakesbar downstairsbed female dormfree wifibig kitchengreat locationopposite flinders street stationtop bunkcommon roomevery morningfirst floorrooms are cleanfed squaregreat facilitiesair conditioningcentral location
Filter
Updating list...
242 - 247 of 743 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

The dorms in this hostel are just bloody terrible. They're too small, overly crowded and unbelievably hot with absolutely no airflow. I honestly do not understand, how the hostel has obtained the high rating, it has, with dorms like these.

The best thing about the place were definitely the common areas. The kitchen is big and doubles as an OK work spot. The bar in the basement has a nice feeling to it, and there's a new event on every night of the week.

The location is as central as it gets with all that comes with that - including the bustle and hustle. Melbourne's suburbs are great, and in my opinion a lot more charming than CBD, so being in the city center wasn't really that much of a plus to me, but I can see how it would be for some.

The staff was alright. A lot of staff hang around in the common areas off duty, and it is easy to see, they're having a great time and have a great bond with each other ... But they are generally maybe a little too caught up in this to care about the guests.

The price is outrageous compared to what you get. It's really not good value for money. I mean, the fact that free wifi is not included is justcompletely ridiculous. Would definitely not stay again, unless I literally had no other option.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel.

We are sorry that you think our rooms are terrible and small. We purposely under fill our rooms by two beds to ensure that they are really spacious. It is very rare that we get bad feedback like this.

Other than the rooms, it all sounds positive, great to hear that you like the common areas, free pancake breakfast, Our big kitchen, Our nice bar, The staff and our location being as central as you can get.

Thank you,

The United Crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017

The location was just awesome, just behind the corner I could fine caffes, restaurants, tram stations and you can walk to Victoria market!
The bar in backpackers is really nice, kitchen as well and staff was really helpful and nice.
When it comes to rooms - they were ok and nice, but it's a hostel you know.. a lot of people and enough fresh air for everybody during a night, but I guess it's the same everywhere:)

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Simona Š
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a positive review.

We are delighted to hear that you liked it here.

We hope you are enjoying the rest of your holiday and will visit again soon.

The United Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Great atmosphere, great location, excellent staff, decent bar, lots of events, but let down by a surprising amount of broken stuff considering it claims to offer "brand new facilities". Oh, and terrible WiFi. Aircon was broken in several rooms, many without windows. Fans broken. Had to sleep with the door wide open to make it even close to tolerable. All the ovens were broken. Dishwasher broken. 1/4 of the cookers broken. Beds were average. The "free" WiFi was basically unusable, worse than a 2G phone, and you have to pay to use it in your room. Even then it's limited to a paltry 3 megs. Nonetheless the place is clean, friendly, and the staff do their best.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Yan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, Front Office Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Hi Yan,

Thank you for taking your time to leave us a review! Glad that you do enjoy the cleanliness, and out friendly staff.

We're sorry to know that you are disappointed about our facilities. We do have a full time maintenance team here 5 days a week. They are able to sort out most of the basic issues. However, when it comes to aircons, ovens, dishwashers are out of their hands. Those facilities do need specialist people to look after. We have arranged appointments with them, and some of them we are just waiting for the new parts to be arrival here.
The current wifi has 10M speed, and because it's shared with 100 peeps, everyone's share will be limited. We are upgrading the wifi to a better speed.

Happy Travel,
United Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Very very good hostel. Staff are friendly and accommodating. Funky decor. Great atmosphere and vibe around the place. Superb location. Great value. Only stayed one night but would readily stay again and recommend this to anyone looking for cheap, clean and central accommodation in Melbourne city centre.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank dannii_b17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, Front Office Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Hi Danni_b17,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We are very happy that we have met your expectations!

Happy Travel,
United Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Excellent central location right in the heart of Melbourne city centre! Friendly staff and clean hostel, although there is a smell that lingers around the hostel that can be quite off-putting. Cute quirks like free pancakes every morning and free pizza night. Downfall is the wifi which is not available in rooms (only in communal spaces, kitchen, cinema room, reception, basement). Where it is available it is very slow and near impossible to use. Other than this was a good hostel to stay at.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, Front Office Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Hi Emma I,

Thank you for taking your time to leave us a review! Much appreciated!

Because we are right next to the Degraves St bin areas; in a hot days, the smells might be coming through our back door. We will keep an eyes on this. We are aware of the quality of the wifi is not the best, and we are upgrading them right now. Just bare with us!

Happy Travel,
United Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews