We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
United Backpackers Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Very very good hostel. Staff are friendly and accommodating. Funky decor. Great atmosphere and vibe around the place. Superb location. Great value. Only stayed one night but would readily stay again and recommend this to anyone looking for cheap, clean and central accommodation in Melbourne city centre.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank dannii_b17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, Front Office Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Hi Danni_b17,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We are very happy that we have met your expectations!

Happy Travel,
United Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 163 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2017

Excellent central location right in the heart of Melbourne city centre! Friendly staff and clean hostel, although there is a smell that lingers around the hostel that can be quite off-putting. Cute quirks like free pancakes every morning and free pizza night. Downfall is the wifi which is not available in rooms (only in communal spaces, kitchen, cinema room, reception, basement). Where it is available it is very slow and near impossible to use. Other than this was a good hostel to stay at.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, Front Office Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Hi Emma I,

Thank you for taking your time to leave us a review! Much appreciated!

Because we are right next to the Degraves St bin areas; in a hot days, the smells might be coming through our back door. We will keep an eyes on this. We are aware of the quality of the wifi is not the best, and we are upgrading them right now. Just bare with us!

Happy Travel,
United Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

I booked a 12 person room. With no aircon and no possibilities for opening up windows, it was unbearably hot and smelly. I could only stand one night in the room, before upgrading to a 8 person with aircon. If you have the money to be on third floor (where there's aircon), this is a really good hostel, very central, nice staff etc. However, I would not recommend a room without aircon. Several of the people I met there, ended up upgrading.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank Silje B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, Front Office Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Hi Silje B,

Thank you for taking your time to leave us a review.

We are aware of the hotness and smell in most of our rooms in level 1 and 2. Unfortunately, there is not much we can do about the window. As we are right next to Degrave st, our window can only open up certain. We have provide extra fans in the room this summer. We know this is not a big help and we are seeking a better and economic solution. Also, during housekeeping hours, we do try to keep the doors open for more fresh air to the room.

Happy Travel,
United Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

The staff were friendly and fun, and the hostel was clean and spacious. The showers and bathrooms were modern and always clean. Its a great place to meet new people with the basement bar and close to many of Melbourne's hipster clubs. I stayed there for a week and met friends for a lifetime. Would definitely stay at United Backpackers again!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Tali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Thank you so much for leaving us a positive review, we are delighted that you had a great time here with us.

Enjoy the rest of your travels,

The United Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Good location, easy to navigate around the city. Great backpackers to stay at! Don't worry if you've not booked a tour, there's a tour company in the backpackers that can sort it.
Rooms where clean and comfortable too.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with statravel.com
Thank Walkingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a positive review.

We hope that you are still enjoying your travels.

The United Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#106 of 161 in Melbourne
389 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#14 of 153 in Melbourne
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#17 of 153 in Melbourne
424 reviews
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#32 of 153 in Melbourne
430 reviews
Home at The Mansion
#52 of 153 in Melbourne
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to United Backpackers Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about United Backpackers Melbourne

Address: 250 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Elephant Backpackers)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 153 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: $36 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — United Backpackers Melbourne 2*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and find out why travellers voted United Backpackers Australia's best hostel at the Adventure Travel Awards in 2014! It's no secret we have the best location in town right opposite Flinders Street Station and only opening in 2013 we offer you brand new facilities, heaps of sweet spaces including our funky basement bar and most importantly great value for money. Our hostel is full of personality with Melbourne's laneway culture, funky decor and quirky art throughout. All this is served up with a great atmosphere, amazing staff, cool events, top notch security and the best pillows in town! Us in a nutshell: • Accommodation for 290 travellers over 3 levels • FREE Wi-Fi in common areas • Every bed has its own power-point, reading light and locker • Sparking clean bathrooms cleaned around the clock • Designer kitchen & dining room overlooking Flinders Station with ovens and heaps of equipment, hot plates and storage • Underground Chill Lounge open 24 hours • Lost & Found our cool as, Melbourne style basement bar open 7 days • Funky TV Lounge filled with beanbags & free DVD hire • 24 Reception manned with a rock star reception team of Melbourne locals • Top class security with swipe card access, lockers in all rooms & CCTV • Cool free events to show you the real Melbourne experience • Guest laundry open 24/7 • Free luggage storage We have a variety of accommodation options to choose from so whether you are looking to share a dorm from 4 to 12 beds filled with your newest friends, or to splash out on one of our private ensuite rooms, you will find it at United Backpackers! All rooms have: • Lockers • Bedside light and power point for your charging pleasure • Lots of space • High quality, comfy beds and linen • Choose between shared or ensuite bathrooms • Swipe card access • Heating & fans (private ensuite rooms have AC) • Cleaning servicing the rooms daily ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Agoda, lastminute.com.au and Ctrip TA so you can book your United Backpackers Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Backpackers Hotel Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing