We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too hot and smelly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
United Backpackers Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Too hot and smelly”
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

I booked a 12 person room. With no aircon and no possibilities for opening up windows, it was unbearably hot and smelly. I could only stand one night in the room, before upgrading to a 8 person with aircon. If you have the money to be on third floor (where there's aircon), this is a really good hostel, very central, nice staff etc. However, I would not recommend a room without aircon. Several of the people I met there, ended up upgrading.

Stayed March 2017, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Silje B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, Front Office Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 17 March 2017
Hi Silje B,

Thank you for taking your time to leave us a review.

We are aware of the hotness and smell in most of our rooms in level 1 and 2. Unfortunately, there is not much we can do about the window. As we are right next to Degrave st, our window can only open up certain. We have provide extra fans in the room this summer. We know this is not a big help and we are seeking a better and economic solution. Also, during housekeeping hours, we do try to keep the doors open for more fresh air to the room.

Happy Travel,
United Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    201
    65
    13
    9
See reviews for
3
42
372
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

The staff were friendly and fun, and the hostel was clean and spacious. The showers and bathrooms were modern and always clean. Its a great place to meet new people with the basement bar and close to many of Melbourne's hipster clubs. I stayed there for a week and met friends for a lifetime. Would definitely stay at United Backpackers again!

Stayed March 2017, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Tali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 10 March 2017
Thank you so much for leaving us a positive review, we are delighted that you had a great time here with us.

Enjoy the rest of your travels,

The United Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Good location, easy to navigate around the city. Great backpackers to stay at! Don't worry if you've not booked a tour, there's a tour company in the backpackers that can sort it.
Rooms where clean and comfortable too.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with statravel.com

Helpful?
Thank Walkingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 2 March 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a positive review.

We hope that you are still enjoying your travels.

The United Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

The location is perfect, next to Fed square. The hostel is really new and clean, with huge common areas (netflix cinema, bar, kitchen). Internet do not work and the hot water ends arround 10am. I recomene it.

Stayed February 2017, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Roy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 21 February 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed.

Hope you are enjoying the rest of your travels, come back and visit us soon.

The United Crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Central location of this hostel is what makes it so great, just seconds from tram stops and Federation Square. Kitchen facilities are great, one of the few hostels I've stayed in where ovens are provided and never had to wait to cook. Appeared to be quite cliquey though, although the staff where friendly on reception, many long termers seemed unwilling to talk to short term guests. Only disadvantage in the rooms was no shelf to store your belongs which resulted in a lot of things scattered on the floor.

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophiemidds94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 20 February 2017
Hello Sophie,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on us, especially one that is so awesome.

So many positive points highlighted. Really sorry that you found the long termers cliquey. I find it hard to comment on this one as they don't work for our company. But as always when traveling, we encourage people to chat and interact with one another that's why we have lots of chill out areas. Hopefully this was an isolated incident.

We hope that you are still enjoying your travels, and that you might pop back for a visit.

Cheers,

The United Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,553 reviews
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#68 of 160 in Melbourne
4,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
1,066 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#8 of 160 in Melbourne
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to United Backpackers Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about United Backpackers Melbourne

Property: United Backpackers Melbourne
Address: 250 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Elephant Backpackers)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 142 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price range (per night): $27 - $154
Hotel Class:2 star — United Backpackers Melbourne 2*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and find out why travellers voted United Backpackers Australia's best hostel at the Adventure Travel Awards in 2014! It's no secret we have the best location in town right opposite Flinders Street Station and only opening in 2013 we offer you brand new facilities, heaps of sweet spaces including our funky basement bar and most importantly great value for money. Our hostel is full of personality with Melbourne's laneway culture, funky decor and quirky art throughout. All this is served up with a great atmosphere, amazing staff, cool events, top notch security and the best pillows in town! Us in a nutshell: • Accommodation for 290 travellers over 3 levels • FREE Wi-Fi in common areas • Every bed has its own power-point, reading light and locker • Sparking clean bathrooms cleaned around the clock • Designer kitchen & dining room overlooking Flinders Station with ovens and heaps of equipment, hot plates and storage • Underground Chill Lounge open 24 hours • Lost & Found our cool as, Melbourne style basement bar open 7 days • Funky TV Lounge filled with beanbags & free DVD hire • 24 Reception manned with a rock star reception team of Melbourne locals • Top class security with swipe card access, lockers in all rooms & CCTV • Cool free events to show you the real Melbourne experience • Guest laundry open 24/7 • Free luggage storage We have a variety of accommodation options to choose from so whether you are looking to share a dorm from 4 to 12 beds filled with your newest friends, or to splash out on one of our private ensuite rooms, you will find it at United Backpackers! All rooms have: • Lockers • Bedside light and power point for your charging pleasure • Lots of space • High quality, comfy beds and linen • Choose between shared or ensuite bathrooms • Swipe card access • Heating & fans (private ensuite rooms have AC) • Cleaning servicing the rooms daily ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your United Backpackers Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Backpackers Hotel Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing