We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
United Backpackers Melbourne
Nearby Hotels
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 157
USD 106
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 138
USD 112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 129/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 178
USD 170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Langham, Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Best Western Melbourne City(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 167
USD 108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 122/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Crown Metropol Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 231
USD 184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Oaks On William(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 158
USD 114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
USD 252
USD 226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (743)
Filter reviews
743 results
Traveller rating
375
254
81
21
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
375
254
81
21
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon areasfree pancakesbar downstairsbed female dormfree wifibig kitchengreat locationopposite flinders street stationtop bunkcommon roomevery morningfirst floorrooms are cleanfed squaregreat facilitiesair conditioningcentral location
Filter
Updating list...
249 - 254 of 743 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Good location, easy to navigate around the city. Great backpackers to stay at! Don't worry if you've not booked a tour, there's a tour company in the backpackers that can sort it.
Rooms where clean and comfortable too.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with statravel.com
Thank Walkingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a positive review.

We hope that you are still enjoying your travels.

The United Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

The location is perfect, next to Fed square. The hostel is really new and clean, with huge common areas (netflix cinema, bar, kitchen). Internet do not work and the hot water ends arround 10am. I recomene it.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
Thank Roy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed.

Hope you are enjoying the rest of your travels, come back and visit us soon.

The United Crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Central location of this hostel is what makes it so great, just seconds from tram stops and Federation Square. Kitchen facilities are great, one of the few hostels I've stayed in where ovens are provided and never had to wait to cook. Appeared to be quite cliquey though, although the staff where friendly on reception, many long termers seemed unwilling to talk to short term guests. Only disadvantage in the rooms was no shelf to store your belongs which resulted in a lot of things scattered on the floor.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sophiemidds94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2017

Hello Sophie,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on us, especially one that is so awesome.

So many positive points highlighted. Really sorry that you found the long termers cliquey. I find it hard to comment on this one as they don't work for our company. But as always when traveling, we encourage people to chat and interact with one another that's why we have lots of chill out areas. Hopefully this was an isolated incident.

We hope that you are still enjoying your travels, and that you might pop back for a visit.

Cheers,

The United Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

The rooms, common areas, kitchen, bathrooms and all were very clean and inviting! The staff was very helpful with directions and suggestions. A locked storage area was available while waiting for check-in. The laundry facilities were a great bonus!
The beds each had their own lockable underbed storage area and electrical outlet.
The location was right across the street from the train, tram, and city trolley to see the sites.


I would definitely 100% stay here again!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank LinduhC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2017

We are over the moon that you had such a positive experience here with us. Thanks for the awesome write up. Hope you are still enjoying your travels.

Thank you so much.

The United Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

Great location close to everything. Good quality for a backpacker, big kitchen and cozy bar downstairs. Bathrooms a bit dirty and AC got super cold at night. Late check in at 2 pm..! The reception was always super busy with long queues,but the staff is as friendly as you can expect in a big busy hostel as this one.

Stayed: February 2017
2  Thank Noora L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2017

Hello Noora,

Thanks for leaving us this review. We don't often get negative comments about the cleanliness of our hostel, but that's not to say that we don't take it seriously, because we.

I can assure you we have just had a housekeeping meeting last Friday to remind and retrain on what our high standards are here.

We hope very much that you might come back one day and see an improvement on your experience.

We hope you are having a smashing time traveling still.

Cheers
The United Crew.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews