We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
United Backpackers Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing hostel”
Reviewed 23 November 2016

I stayed in a dorm room with a few other people, this place is great, the beds and room
are clean and the downstairs lounge is awesome. I loved the bar and spent a little too
much money there. The kitchen is huge, spacious and you could eat off the floor. I will be staying here again!

Room Tip: make sure to get in early as it books out fast!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaselorimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 28 November 2016
Hey Jase!
Thanks a lot for the great review mate. Stoked that you had such a great stay with us and got to experience it ALL.
Hope that we can see you again soon.
Safe Travels,
United Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    201
    64
    13
    9
See reviews for
3
42
372
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2016

The inside of the hostel looks very nice and has a nice atmosphere. The dorm was clean and spacious. The bathrooms were very clean with a separate room for the shower. The shower was spacious and the water pressure was good.

There is a bar downstairs which was pretty cool.

I would say the only downside was that there was no free breakfast but still very high value.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramiro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 28 November 2016
Hey Ramiro!
Thanks very much for the great review!
So happy that you had a great time here at United!
Hope that you enjoyed your trip to Melbourne. We will see you next time you come back.

Cheers!

United Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

I stayed at United Backpackers for 3 nights. I arrived in Melbourne at 12am and after quite a long walk (through the heart of the city at 12:30am on a Saturday night) I arrived at United Backpackers on Flinders Street. I was greeted with a warm smile and a friendly chat about my trip in Australia so far. The staff are super friendly and always made an extra effort to answer any questions I had and often with suggestions which really helped me plan my short stay in Melbourne and see as much of the city as I could. The bar downstairs is also a cool spot to grab a beer/cocktail and mingle with other people staying in the hostel. My room was clean and the overall feel of the hostel was a great one! Would definitely go back!!

Stayed November 2016
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 28 November 2016
Hey Tim!
Thanks very much for the great review mate. Much appreciated!
Really glad that you enjoyed your stay here and got to experience our home in Melbourne.
Safe travels and see you again soon!

United Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

After such good reviews I thought I was onto a winner... nope!

Staff are very friendly and helpful and the location is great. The room is clean but that's where it ends.

The room is ridiculously hot and stuffy. No air con and the ceiling fans do nothing. We resorted to proping the door open with a rubbish bin to get some fresh air in.

The doors all have automatic closers on them- these are not soft close so you are kept awake by loud slamming.

Hair all through the shower. Very noisy. No WiFi in rooms. No towels and very limited toilets.

For the price paid I have stayed at far nicer hostels.

Stayed November 2016, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Erskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 24 November 2016
Hey Erskie,
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review.
It's unfortunate you didn't get the experience you were after here at United. Really glad the staff were helpful and you got to enjoy the amazing location. You must have been here on that crazy 38 Degree day out of now where!? We do have A/C rooms on level 3. Did you see reception and asked to be moved at all? I'm sure we could have helped you out.
As for the doors, yes they are self closers for security purposes. It really is on the person to make sure it doesn't slam to hard. I have looked up what room you were in and we'll check that one out, because most of the doors are fine.
As for hair in the showers. The bathrooms are cleaned 3 times a day and with upto 280 backpackers in house we do expect them to clean up after themselves as they should but obvioulsy we can't get everyone. But generally our bathrooms are spotless. Again if you notified reception, we could have had it fixed up straight away for you.
Best of luck on your travels.

United Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2016

I stayed in 3 hostels during my time in Melbourne and this one takes the cake. I can't think of anything bad to say, so I'll get right to the good stuff.

Hostel is very clean, bathrooms are big and individual, the kitchen is nicely stocked (sharp knives!), the bar has fun communal events, big TV room, outlets at every bed, amazing location.

I'm very happy I stayed at this place. I met a ton of people and the location doesn't get any better. I absolutely recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taace1i1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 22 November 2016
Hey!
Thanks so much for the awesome review, we really appreciate it. So happy that you had such a great experience here. That's what we want so it's great to see that you loved it.
Hope that we can see you and your friends here again soon.
Much Love,
United Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,553 reviews
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#67 of 160 in Melbourne
4,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
1,066 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#8 of 160 in Melbourne
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to United Backpackers Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about United Backpackers Melbourne

Property: United Backpackers Melbourne
Address: 250 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Elephant Backpackers)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 142 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price range (per night): $27 - $154
Hotel Class:2 star — United Backpackers Melbourne 2*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and find out why travellers voted United Backpackers Australia's best hostel at the Adventure Travel Awards in 2014! It's no secret we have the best location in town right opposite Flinders Street Station and only opening in 2013 we offer you brand new facilities, heaps of sweet spaces including our funky basement bar and most importantly great value for money. Our hostel is full of personality with Melbourne's laneway culture, funky decor and quirky art throughout. All this is served up with a great atmosphere, amazing staff, cool events, top notch security and the best pillows in town! Us in a nutshell: • Accommodation for 290 travellers over 3 levels • FREE Wi-Fi in common areas • Every bed has its own power-point, reading light and locker • Sparking clean bathrooms cleaned around the clock • Designer kitchen & dining room overlooking Flinders Station with ovens and heaps of equipment, hot plates and storage • Underground Chill Lounge open 24 hours • Lost & Found our cool as, Melbourne style basement bar open 7 days • Funky TV Lounge filled with beanbags & free DVD hire • 24 Reception manned with a rock star reception team of Melbourne locals • Top class security with swipe card access, lockers in all rooms & CCTV • Cool free events to show you the real Melbourne experience • Guest laundry open 24/7 • Free luggage storage We have a variety of accommodation options to choose from so whether you are looking to share a dorm from 4 to 12 beds filled with your newest friends, or to splash out on one of our private ensuite rooms, you will find it at United Backpackers! All rooms have: • Lockers • Bedside light and power point for your charging pleasure • Lots of space • High quality, comfy beds and linen • Choose between shared or ensuite bathrooms • Swipe card access • Heating & fans (private ensuite rooms have AC) • Cleaning servicing the rooms daily ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your United Backpackers Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Backpackers Hotel Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing