We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel I have stayed at in Australia!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
United Backpackers Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Best hostel I have stayed at in Australia!”
Reviewed 21 September 2016

As a paying customer and previous staff member at this hostel, I can say that it's the cleanest, most spacious hostel I have stayed at during my year and a half in Australia. It's designed to accommodate lots of guests, so the kitchen area has lots of fridges, cupboard space and stove tops so that you don't have to wait long, if at all, to cook and clean. There are 3 main areas you can hang out in to guarantee comfort and space. Movie room with access to Netflix via Apple TV, "Chillax" Room with lots of space to lounge and charge your devices. Bar downstairs with great atmosphere, cheap drinks, and lots of fun events throughout the week - such as free wine and cheese night with live music on Tuesdays or Bingo night where you can win private rooms, bar tabs and more! Because of all the different spaces, this is a good hostel for any kind of backpacker - wether you're looking to party with your mates or have a chilled stay, you'll find what you're looking for. Great location, right next to the main train station and trams to get to other parts of the city. Right beside a laneway packed with amazing cafes and restaurants, and walking distance from the famous graffiti laneways. Amazing beds/pillows/duvet blankets. Filtered water tap in kitchen to refill your water bottle. All in all, cannot say anything bad, was sad to leave!

Room Tip: 1st floor is noiser but closer to kitchen and tv room, higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelsealopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 28 September 2016
Thanks!!!!!!
Much appreciated leaving a great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    201
    64
    13
    9
See reviews for
3
42
371
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

This hostel really has a great location. Just across the flinders train station and tram station, close to federation square and next to one of the famous lane in melb. Close to supermarket and mini market and easy to find food arou 2nd the hostel.
The kitchen is really spacious and had alot of kitchen facilities. Big refrigefator and big shelf for storing your food.

I will stay again for sure.

Stayed April 2016, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Muhammad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 20 September 2016
Hey,
Thanks so much for the great review!! Really glad you had an enjoyable stay here with us!
Amazing location hey!! Spread the word.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Safe Travels
UNited Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2016

You're paying hostel prices for hotel-like environments. Ridiculously clean, super modern, 24h staff, all the amenities you could possibly need, and a super cool bar downstairs that has themed nights and is an overall really pleasant place to hang out in. Special shoutout to Liam who was super friendly and helpful to me and my friend! :)

Oh and LOCATION - could you get any more central?! Answer is no.

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kellie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 20 September 2016
Hey Kellie!
Thanks so much for the review! So glad you had a great stay with us. Means a lot.
I'll be make sure to give Liam his props!
Hope to see you again
Safe Travels
United Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Great location in Melbourne! Near Town Hall station
Also it's located in the area of free tram zone.
The room was clean and staffs were very nice and friendly
Definitely worth the price.
However, you have to prepare your own towel.

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monpsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 20 September 2016
Hey there,
Thanks for the review! Really glad you had a great stay with us and got to enjoy our beautiful city.
Hope that we can see you here again sometime soon.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Location is perfect. It's very central, within the free tram zone, and it's not difficult to find. There are many shops and restaurants just a few meters away. You have a bunch of choices for food no matter what your budget is.

Rooms are big and clean for the most part. When I arrived there at night, the dorm room smelled like it really needed to be aired out. Thankfully, they did air it out the following day.

The showers are great-- I love the adjustable shower heads and the changing area. The toilets, however, really needed a bit more cleaning coz it was stinky all the time.

The kitchen was big, full of natural light, and there's a good view of Flinders Station down below. It was just frustrating that so many people leave their dishes unwashed despite all the posters there telling everyone to wash their dishes! (But that's not United's fault. Come on guys, if you're old enough to be backpacking, you're old enough to wash your dishes.)

The staff were friendly and very helpful. I reckon some of them are backpackers on working holidays but they're professional so it's not noticeable. The vibe of the hostel wasn't particularly cliquish either because there's a good mix of long-term and short-term guests.

Will certainly stay here again if I come back to Melbourne and will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonlight_xing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 20 September 2016
Hey thanks so much for the great review!
So glad that you had a good stay here and would recommend it to your friends..
Yeh we do our best to manage the guys with their dishes, but like you said, everyones grown ups and they should was and dry their own dishes, we're a backpackers not a daycare ;)
Anyway, thanks for the great words.
You're welcome back anytime you like.

Cheers!
United Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,552 reviews
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#67 of 160 in Melbourne
4,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
1,066 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#8 of 160 in Melbourne
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to United Backpackers Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about United Backpackers Melbourne

Property: United Backpackers Melbourne
Address: 250 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Elephant Backpackers)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 142 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price range (per night): $27 - $155
Hotel Class:2 star — United Backpackers Melbourne 2*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and find out why travellers voted United Backpackers Australia's best hostel at the Adventure Travel Awards in 2014! It's no secret we have the best location in town right opposite Flinders Street Station and only opening in 2013 we offer you brand new facilities, heaps of sweet spaces including our funky basement bar and most importantly great value for money. Our hostel is full of personality with Melbourne's laneway culture, funky decor and quirky art throughout. All this is served up with a great atmosphere, amazing staff, cool events, top notch security and the best pillows in town! Us in a nutshell: • Accommodation for 290 travellers over 3 levels • FREE Wi-Fi in common areas • Every bed has its own power-point, reading light and locker • Sparking clean bathrooms cleaned around the clock • Designer kitchen & dining room overlooking Flinders Station with ovens and heaps of equipment, hot plates and storage • Underground Chill Lounge open 24 hours • Lost & Found our cool as, Melbourne style basement bar open 7 days • Funky TV Lounge filled with beanbags & free DVD hire • 24 Reception manned with a rock star reception team of Melbourne locals • Top class security with swipe card access, lockers in all rooms & CCTV • Cool free events to show you the real Melbourne experience • Guest laundry open 24/7 • Free luggage storage We have a variety of accommodation options to choose from so whether you are looking to share a dorm from 4 to 12 beds filled with your newest friends, or to splash out on one of our private ensuite rooms, you will find it at United Backpackers! All rooms have: • Lockers • Bedside light and power point for your charging pleasure • Lots of space • High quality, comfy beds and linen • Choose between shared or ensuite bathrooms • Swipe card access • Heating & fans (private ensuite rooms have AC) • Cleaning servicing the rooms daily ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your United Backpackers Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Backpackers Hotel Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing