We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
United Backpackers Melbourne
Nearby Hotels
USD 172
USD 152
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 157
USD 107
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 180
USD 170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Best Western Melbourne City(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 199
USD 108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 283
USD 177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crown Metropol Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 280
USD 185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Oaks On William(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 149
USD 107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (743)
Filter reviews
743 results
Traveller rating
375
254
81
21
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
375
254
81
21
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon areasfree pancakesbar downstairsbed female dormfree wifibig kitchengreat locationopposite flinders street stationtop bunkcommon roomevery morningfirst floorrooms are cleanfed squaregreat facilitiesair conditioningcentral location
Filter
Updating list...
298 - 303 of 743 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

This hostel really has a great location. Just across the flinders train station and tram station, close to federation square and next to one of the famous lane in melb. Close to supermarket and mini market and easy to find food arou 2nd the hostel.
The kitchen is really spacious and had alot of kitchen facilities. Big refrigefator and big shelf for storing your food.

I will stay again for sure.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
Thank Muhammad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Hey,
Thanks so much for the great review!! Really glad you had an enjoyable stay here with us!
Amazing location hey!! Spread the word.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Safe Travels
UNited Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016

You're paying hostel prices for hotel-like environments. Ridiculously clean, super modern, 24h staff, all the amenities you could possibly need, and a super cool bar downstairs that has themed nights and is an overall really pleasant place to hang out in. Special shoutout to Liam who was super friendly and helpful to me and my friend! :)

Oh and LOCATION - could you get any more central?! Answer is no.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KellieM612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Hey Kellie!
Thanks so much for the review! So glad you had a great stay with us. Means a lot.
I'll be make sure to give Liam his props!
Hope to see you again
Safe Travels
United Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Great location in Melbourne! Near Town Hall station
Also it's located in the area of free tram zone.
The room was clean and staffs were very nice and friendly
Definitely worth the price.
However, you have to prepare your own towel.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank monpsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Hey there,
Thanks for the review! Really glad you had a great stay with us and got to enjoy our beautiful city.
Hope that we can see you here again sometime soon.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Location is perfect. It's very central, within the free tram zone, and it's not difficult to find. There are many shops and restaurants just a few meters away. You have a bunch of choices for food no matter what your budget is.

Rooms are big and clean for the most part. When I arrived there at night, the dorm room smelled like it really needed to be aired out. Thankfully, they did air it out the following day.

The showers are great-- I love the adjustable shower heads and the changing area. The toilets, however, really needed a bit more cleaning coz it was stinky all the time.

The kitchen was big, full of natural light, and there's a good view of Flinders Station down below. It was just frustrating that so many people leave their dishes unwashed despite all the posters there telling everyone to wash their dishes! (But that's not United's fault. Come on guys, if you're old enough to be backpacking, you're old enough to wash your dishes.)

The staff were friendly and very helpful. I reckon some of them are backpackers on working holidays but they're professional so it's not noticeable. The vibe of the hostel wasn't particularly cliquish either because there's a good mix of long-term and short-term guests.

Will certainly stay here again if I come back to Melbourne and will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank moonlight_xing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Hey thanks so much for the great review!
So glad that you had a good stay here and would recommend it to your friends..
Yeh we do our best to manage the guys with their dishes, but like you said, everyones grown ups and they should was and dry their own dishes, we're a backpackers not a daycare ;)
Anyway, thanks for the great words.
You're welcome back anytime you like.

Cheers!
United Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016

Many long-term stayers so if you're looking for a hostel to make friends, I wouldn't advise United Backpackers. Otherwise it's in a fantastic location, clean and friendly staff.

I must mention in my room specifically there's many people on night shifts... meaning the room is dark all day due to people sleeping.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnsgwegwegwegewgew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Hey,
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review.
Sorry to hear you had trouble in your room regarding people sleeping. Unfortunately we can't control when people work and when they sleep but if you came down to reception we could have swapped your room so you wouldn't have that.
Anyway, hope you enjoyed our city and are having some great travels.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews